Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Strange/Impossible Aircraft Assignments After UA's Weekend Schedule Update

Strange/Impossible Aircraft Assignments After UA's Weekend Schedule Update

Old Nov 16, 12, 4:19 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Honolulu
Programs: United 1k, Hawaiian Premier
Posts: 90
Strange/Impossible Aircraft Assignments After UA's Weekend Schedule Update

Received notice today that there was a modification to an itin I have from HNL-FCO...the leg from IAD-FCO listed a change in equipment type from a 777 to a Bombardier Q200?! Good luck crossing the Atlantic in that.

Debating whether I should call or just let UA figure it out. I'm a little concerned about losing our seats (1C & 1H) when they make the correction.

Matt
mdtakamine is offline  
Old Nov 16, 12, 4:37 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15,705
Is the pilot's name Earhart?
kale73 is offline  
Old Nov 16, 12, 4:39 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Between SFO and SJC
Programs: UA 1K-MM
Posts: 1,406
Its been reported in other threads - I wouldn't worry about it as it is obviously incorrect.
Lightman7 is offline  
Old Dec 28, 12, 10:04 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tempe AZ USA
Posts: 13
Reservation change to Bombardier Q200 to Europe!!??

I Just checked our reservation for May 12, 2013 IAD to FCO and in red it states there has been a schedule change and the change shows we are now on Bombadier Q200. Our friends are also booked on that flight and their reservations now show that also. How can they fly that from IAD to FCO? I am on hold with United (says it will be 20 minutes) can anyone give me info on this?
lovesmaui is offline  
Old Dec 28, 12, 10:10 pm
  #5  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,210
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (BlackBerry; U; BlackBerry 9930; en-US) AppleWebKit/534.11+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/7.1.0.755 Mobile Safari/534.11+)

Hang up the phone; don't waste their time nor yours. This happens every weekend with the schedule changes being loaded in. It will clear up by the end of the weekend.
sbm12 is offline  
Old Dec 28, 12, 10:10 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Programs: DL Diamond, UA 1K MM, SPG Plat For Life, Marriott Plat, Nexus/GlobalEntry
Posts: 9,198
Don't bother calling yet.. clearly it's not correct. Wait a couple days.. I'm going through similar worries about my 787 flight DEN-NRT-DEN in April..a schedule change is causing glitches. Wait a couple days before you call. It's unlikely the agents will even be able to help you at this point..they'll be able to see the same thing you do.
SEA1K4EVR is offline  
Old Dec 28, 12, 10:17 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tempe AZ USA
Posts: 13
Thank you!
lovesmaui is offline  
Old Dec 29, 12, 12:05 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SJC, SFO, YYC
Programs: AA-EXP, AA-0.41MM, UA-Gold, Ex UA-1K (2006 thru 2015), PMUA-0.95MM, COUA-1.5MM-lite, AF-Silver
Posts: 13,436
Lol, Bombardier has to get those planes to Europe some how. Maybe UA is providing a service to Bombardier.
mre5765 is offline  
Old Dec 29, 12, 12:36 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Redwood City, CA USA (SFO/SJC)
Programs: Last 1K flight 1/21/11; fun while it lasted, 1P in 2011, Plat for 2012,13,14,15 & 2016. Gold in 17 &
Posts: 8,700
I go out of my way to avoid the 757 service to Europe, but for a Q200, wow, you'd have to try that just to say you did it.
Mike Jacoubowsky is offline  
Old Dec 29, 12, 1:17 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,811
You didn't hear that UA built a revolutionary floating water fuel station ships? These 5 ships are placed at 750 miles between each other so that Q200s can replace all the existing aircraft.

These will also be outfitted with slightly larger overhead bins, sonar Wifi and 2 seats will be converted to United BusinessFirst.

In addition, as a test product, UA will convert their remaining economy class seats to the new S+ seats. These seats will be exactly like the existing United Economy product except each seat now will be sold to two passengers so passengers can get to know their seat-mates extremely well. Research by the MTA in New York City supports that compacting humans into a enclosed environment encourages a lively atmosphere. If you cannot fit in the single seat together, you will both be required to purchase an additional seat.


Last edited by edcho; Dec 29, 12 at 1:31 am
edcho is offline  
Old Dec 29, 12, 1:43 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northeast Kansas | Colorado Native
Programs: UA *G, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott LT Gold, NEXUS, TSA Disparager Unobtanium
Posts: 20,521
Originally Posted by Mike Jacoubowsky View Post
I go out of my way to avoid the 757 service to Europe, but for a Q200, wow, you'd have to try that just to say you did it.
Better pack a parachute
FriendlySkies is offline  
Old Dec 29, 12, 2:15 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Francisco/Sydney
Programs: UA 1K/MM, TK Elite, DL Gold, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum, IHG Gold, Hertz PC, Avis First
Posts: 7,545
Book a seat in the first few rows, and hope it sticks when they switch back to something bigger!
docbert is offline  
Old Dec 29, 12, 6:07 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The World.
Programs: UA MP/UC - "RIP Tulip Plat"
Posts: 1,214
Just a matter of time I suppose!
UAL4life is offline  
Old Dec 29, 12, 6:16 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: DFW
Posts: 268
This is a little known product that United will start testing.

The "United Experience" will consist of how it felt for US bomber crews to fly over and attack Germany. There will be spotlights, fake flak and some ME 190's buzzing your plane. Also, if you get picked at the "lottery" you get to experience the POW camp as a "shot down" crew.

I really envy you!!!
shaddie is offline  
Old Dec 29, 12, 6:23 am
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15,705
Originally Posted by lovesmaui View Post
How can they fly that from IAD to FCO?
Simple. They just load extra barf bags so you can enjoy the three aerial refuelings en route. Beats Channel 9 as IFE by a mile!
kale73 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread