Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Consolidated "UA 757-300 Seating, IFE, etc." Thread

Consolidated "UA 757-300 Seating, IFE, etc." Thread

    Hide Wikipost
Old Aug 17, 19, 7:19 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: WineCountryUA
Wiki Link
Boeing 757-300 (753)
Seat map (24Domestic F seats/55E+/134E configuration)



Entertainment -- now 100% personal device entertainment (DirecTV has been removed)

WiFi (Internet access for a fee)
Power -- F & E+ , none in regular economy

1A/B has a great cutout for extra foot space, 1E/F has no cutout and may be tight for taller passengers.

New Slimline 753s



This link Interim 757-300 seat map shows a strange interim seat map that you might want to consult if the one(s) above do not match what you are seeing on United.bomb.
See the bottom of the Wiki there for warnings about seat selection.
Print Wikipost

Old Jan 21, 14, 12:04 am
  #106  
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hoboken, NJ; Pembroke Pines, FL
Programs: CO Gold, SPG Gold
Posts: 2,939
Originally Posted by iquitos View Post
Day, Date Flight Class Departure City and Time Arrival City and Time Aircraft Meal
Wed, 22JAN14 UA1298 G WASHINGTON, DC
(IAD - DULLES) 8:40 AM LOS ANGELES, CA
(LAX) 11:22 AM 757-300

One miserable acft. No e+ No AVOD, miserable CO crew. AVOID at all cost. They dump the early arriving Middle East and Brazil flight pax on this one to LAX. Poor people. I just got rebooked on it due to WX at IAD on the 22nd. If this is an example of their pre merger product CO was one miserable airline.
I'm not sure where you're seeing that there's no E+. From the flight status its:
Aircraft: Boeing 757-300 aircraft #3862

There's currently only one non-exit-row E+ seat available and it's seat 11E. 3862 is one of the old TZ 757-300s with overhead video and no power.

BTW, how is this aircraft that much different in E+ from the well-loved pmUA domestic 752?
lensman is offline  
Old Jan 21, 14, 12:10 am
  #107  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston
Programs: UA Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 11,319
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post

No UA 757-300 is recorded with less than 57 E+ seats
9 with AVOD and 12 with overhead cabin displays
DTV ain't AVOD.
mduell is offline  
Old Aug 3, 14, 7:25 pm
  #108  
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1.4MM, HH Diamond
Posts: 204
I've never flown a 753 before, Does 8DEF have a foot cutout? thanks
BlackBear05 is offline  
Old Aug 6, 14, 2:28 am
  #109  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Programs: TK Elite
Posts: 9
I didn't see anything about this earlier so sorry if it was posted earlier, but do the seats in rows 16-19 have power, and are they the only E- seats that do? (i.e. do rows 22-41 not have power?)
SevenandForty is offline  
Old Oct 5, 14, 8:55 pm
  #110  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 52,098
Originally Posted by BlackBear05 View Post
I've never flown a 753 before, Does 8DEF have a foot cutout? thanks
bump - also curious
7ABC, 8DEF vs Row 21? comments?
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Oct 5, 14, 9:09 pm
  #111  
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: BDL/NYC/BOS
Programs: UA/*A Gold, Global Entry, Marriott Plat, Hilton+IHG Gold, Hertz PC, DL
Posts: 1,670
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
bump - also curious
7ABC, 8DEF vs Row 21? comments?
i avoid row 21 because the seat padding is incredibly thin.

i don't usually notice exit row padding being thinner, but it's miserable in the 753.

i usually pick row 10 in the 752 because it's far enough away from the lav and you get two full windows. not sure if that's the case with the 753, but if i had to pick a 753 E+ seat it would be in row 9 or 10.

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/trave...avy-folks.html
riphamilton is offline  
Old Oct 6, 14, 11:27 pm
  #112  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 52,098
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
bump - also curious
7ABC, 8DEF ....
Answering my question

7ABC -- main exit, lots of eg space, DirecTV in arm rests, galley close by
8DEF traditional bulkhead -- OK legspace but not too different from rest of E+, no cutouts -- galley (entrance) is to the side row 7 and not an issue for 8DEF

both have fixed arm rests and narrow seat width -- guessing just under 17 inches with fixed arm rests (and Row 21 is likely the same)
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Oct 16, 14, 6:07 pm
  #113  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: ORD, HKG
Programs: UA*G, AA PLT, HHonors Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 9,739
Anyone noticed the 757-300 that doesn't have PTV and still have the drop down LCD screen uses a two prong plug for headset ?

Last Saturday I flew on one and was quite surprised the headset in the seat back pocket is a one prong plug, but the seat itself use two prongs, fortunately I always carried a few of those PMCO earbuds as back up, and you know those PMCO earbuds always come with an adapter, while the headset provided with UA have no adapter whatsoever, so I see my neighbors plug in the UA headset into the two prong plugs of course it wouldn't work at all. If I remembered, some of those PMCO 738 that still have no DirecTV and use drop down LCD screens also use has the two prong plugs as well.

I wonder if UA even realize that at all, basically no adapters means no entertainment ! I did write it down in the comments when I sent in the survey that I received yesterday.
ORDnHKG is offline  
Old Oct 16, 14, 6:20 pm
  #114  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 8,634
Each plug in the two-prong setup is a single mono channel. So if the single plug headphones "wouldn't work at all," there was something more substantial wrong with the equipment.
mgcsinc is offline  
Old Oct 16, 14, 6:22 pm
  #115  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 52,098
Originally Posted by ORDnHKG View Post
Anyone noticed the 757-300 that doesn't have PTV and still have the drop down LCD screen uses a two prong plug for headset ?....
per https://sites.google.com/site/united...fleet-tracking

9 have DirecTV
3 have streaming sat Wifi
9 have overhead displays (and one of those has sat WiFi)

No need for the headset adapter, just plug your headset into either one when confronted with a dual plug outlet.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Oct 25, 14, 11:03 pm
  #116  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: ORD, HKG
Programs: UA*G, AA PLT, HHonors Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 9,739
Originally Posted by mgcsinc View Post
Each plug in the two-prong setup is a single mono channel. So if the single plug headphones "wouldn't work at all," there was something more substantial wrong with the equipment.
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
No need for the headset adapter, just plug your headset into either one when confronted with a dual plug outlet.
You sure about that ?

If a single plug headphone would work on a two prong seat, then PMCO wouldn't even bother to spend extra money to include an adapter inside those old earbuds bag.

I had tried this myself in the past, if my headset is one prong plug into a two prong plug, it just would be really loose and won't attach to the plug itself, not to mention no sound at all.

Last edited by ORDnHKG; Oct 25, 14 at 11:19 pm
ORDnHKG is offline  
Old Oct 25, 14, 11:28 pm
  #117  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 52,098
Originally Posted by ORDnHKG View Post
You sure about that ?

If a single plug headphone would work on a two prong seat, then PMCO wouldn't even bother to spend extra money to include an adapter inside those old earbuds bag.

I had tried this myself in the past, if my headset is one prong plug into a two prong plug, it just would be really loose and won't attach to the plug itself, not to mention no sound at all.
Ages ago some two prong systems had different plug sizes, but for awhile they have been identical sizes and definitely are in BF suites for sCO.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Dec 10, 14, 4:21 pm
  #118  
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Boston
Programs: B6 Mosaic
Posts: 260
pmCO 753 or old ATA 753?

Flying BOS-SFO-KOA, KOA-LAX, LAX-IAH-BOS on the 18th, 24th, and 27th respectively. UA1758 BOS-SFO and UA1205 KOA-LAX are operated by 753's. How to know if they're the newer pmCO ones or the really tired ATA birds? Just asking for flight logging purposes.
JetAirways77W is offline  
Old Dec 10, 14, 4:24 pm
  #119  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,202
Do you need to know in advance?

You can always cross-reference the ship number to the fleet list site: https://sites.google.com/site/united...fleet-tracking. I believe aircraft 60-71 are the ATA planes while 51-59 are the CO deliveries.
sbm12 is offline  
Old Dec 10, 14, 4:30 pm
  #120  
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Boston
Programs: B6 Mosaic
Posts: 260
Originally Posted by sbm12 View Post
Do you need to know in advance?

You can always cross-reference the ship number to the fleet list site: https://sites.google.com/site/united...fleet-tracking. I believe aircraft 60-71 are the ATA planes while 51-59 are the CO deliveries.
No, I don't need to know in advance. I already had that page bookmarked. I just wanted to see if someone knew if what planes are used on BOS-SFO and KOA-LAX.
JetAirways77W is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: