Far East Upgrade Awards

Old Aug 9, 2012, 3:20 pm
Original Poster

Programs: United
Far East Upgrade Awards

I am a regular Mileage Plus member (not Premier) trying to find flights from US to Far East (Tokyo, Hong Kong, etc.) that I might be able to upgrade to Business Class using miles (& cash fees)(sorry, I don't know what the terminology is for this type of upgrade). I am out of ORD (tho willing to travel elsewhere in US for better chance). Have to be in Asia all/most of November, so looking to depart end of October, come back beginning of Dec.

Every flight I look at ORD-HKG says "! Upgrade not available on UAxxx." Am I out of luck or am I doing something wrong or misunderstanding? Admittedly I've never tried this before. Can anyone suggest better city pairs to check or days of week?

Also, is the "expert" mode on UA that I've read about here & elsewhere gone with the new system?

Thanks for any help, advice or direction offered.
Old Aug 9, 2012, 3:25 pm

Programs: UA 1K, Hilton Gold, Marriott Silver
Welcome to FT!!!
No, the expert mode is still here, just a little different. When you search for a flight, after it displays, click on the 'fare class' and a box will open showing all the different fares.
With regard to the upgrade, you will probably need to wait list for the upgrade. They are few and far between on most routes to have availability show at the time of booking. To list, you can do this after your reservation has been ticketed directly on the web site, or by calling reservations and asking to be wait listed.
Old Aug 9, 2012, 4:40 pm

Programs: UA GS 1MM
if you routinely monitor, you will find the space.... I've never not been able to get it as long as I am *slightly* flexible.
Old Aug 15, 2012, 8:22 pm
Original Poster

Thanks to both of you for the info. very appreciated!
Old Aug 15, 2012, 8:44 pm

Programs: AA EXP, UA Plat
Originally Posted by archymcn
Thanks to both of you for the info. very appreciated!