Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

United getting creative in the China market

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 8, 2012, 11:31 pm
Original Poster

Programs: *A Gold, ST Gold; SPG Plat

I've been flying US-China several times a year for five years now so I would like to think i have a pretty good understanding of the market. Recently however i noticed United is getting very creative:

- My colleague recently flew from Chicago to Hangzhou and United sold him a ticket ORD-HKG-HGH. This amazed me for a couple reasons: the last segment was on Dragonair which is in a competing alliance in a market where United has a strong(?) Star Alliance partner in Air China; it involves significant backtracking to the tune of 1400 miles vs a regular routing via Beijing or non-stop to Shanghai

- I currently hold a United ticket that includes a segment on an Air China code share operated by ANA(!?). Anyone want to venture a guess on how many miles that flight is going to earn? Hehehe...

Just sharing some observations...

Caesar
Old Aug 8, 2012, 11:39 pm

Programs: AA Plat, CX Silver
Originally Posted by caesar04
I've been flying US-China several times a year for five years now so I would like to think i have a pretty good understanding of the market. Recently however i noticed United is getting very creative:

- My colleague recently flew from Chicago to Hangzhou and United sold him a ticket ORD-HKG-HGH. This amazed me for a couple reasons: the last segment was on Dragonair which is in a competing alliance in a market where United has a strong(?) Star Alliance partner in Air China; it involves significant backtracking to the tune of 1400 miles vs a regular routing via Beijing or non-stop to Shanghai