Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

How long should it take for RPU or GPU to redeposit?

How long should it take for RPU or GPU to redeposit?

Old Apr 16, 12, 9:39 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Programs: CO (now UA) 1K / Hyatt Platinum / UMPPPC / SLH Honoured
Posts: 107
How long should it take for RPU or GPU to redeposit?

Mods--I am reposting this. You combined it into the thread "When do RPUs Post in Integrated PSS", but that is a completely different question. That person was asking when RPUs post to their account after achieving mileage levels of every 25k miles. My question is about a _redeposit_ of an RPU after it has not cleared on a flight.

Here's the post again:

You would think that if the computer system is smart enough to send you an email at T-24 to say that the RPU has not cleared and now you are at the mercy of the normal non-certificate-based upgrade list post-merger randomness, that the computer system would be smart enough to re-deposit the RPU at that same time.

Nope.

T+9 days and no redeposit. Is this one of those "wait 2 to 3 weeks and it will sort itself out" things or is it one of the "yeah, you should go ahead and call the elite phone line, because emailing 1kvoice sure as heck isn't going to do any good" things?
electroflyer is offline  
Old Apr 16, 12, 9:55 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Laguna Beach CA
Programs: AA EXP/3MM UA 1MM, HY Globalist, MR Titanium, HH Gld
Posts: 697
Your question may have no answer. It seems that Mileage Plus does not have that functionality at present. It may be a matter of waiting 2-3 months.

There don't appear to be any reports of people successfully redepositing RPUs, and GPUs after failing an upgrade. In fact, there have been no reports of people successfully redepositing miles and money after failing at the upgrade.

It may be possible to get it done with agent intervention, but then only if you need them immediately.
dlflyer2 is offline  
Old Apr 16, 12, 9:57 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New England
Programs: Delta Platinum, United Silver, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Titanium, Radisson Gold
Posts: 6,272
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9B176 Safari/7534.48.3)

I've never had to not call. Sadly.
demkr is offline  
Old Apr 16, 12, 10:02 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 212
I've been waiting for 15 days for two GPUs, 12 days for a RPU, to be redeposited after changing 2 itineraries. I feel your pain.
FCO_SFO is offline  
Old Apr 16, 12, 10:05 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Illinois-downstate
Programs: UA 1K, UA MM, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 955
I also had to call in to get 2 GPUs reinstated in my account. They do not seem to get redeposited automatically anymore. I seem to recall not having to worry about it in the past (pre 3-12). Hopefully they get the glitch fixed.
sim510 is offline  
Old Apr 16, 12, 10:23 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Programs: UA 1K (2MM), Marriott Lifetime Titanium (UGH), Uber Diamond
Posts: 742
I have been waiting over a month (RPU pulled incorrectly on March 11). I have sent 2 emails to the 1K email. NOTHING!!!

I am beginning to really dislike the new United!
SFO_Chad is offline  
Old Apr 16, 12, 10:29 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: BOS, PVG
Programs: United Global Services, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 8,585
Thumbs down

My RPU (exp 4/30) was applied to 3/19 PNR.

The flight was canceled. RPU was never returned.

I am going to call UA on 5/1 and see what happens.

Can they give me an expired RPU?
kb1992 is offline  
Old Apr 16, 12, 10:46 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: MEL
Programs: QR platinum
Posts: 601
I have just called to get back an RPU that failed to clear and was not redeposited after 10 days. Procedure was overall painless, although it would be great if the instruments were redeposited automatically:

I started from the 1k reservation line (no wait using AT&T toll free from the UK), asked to be transferred to 1k mileage plus desk. I briefly explained the issue and the reservation agent apologized for the inconvenience, then transferred me (waiting with me for the mileage plus representative for an hold of a couple of minutes).

The mileage plus representative asked for my pin (mileage plus number and PNR were transferred from the 1k desk), looked at the PNR, typed for a few minutes and redeposited the RPU with original expiration. I was thanked for being 1k and flying UA.

Overall great customer service experience, apart from the fact that I should not have had to call in the first place.
CASAFlyer is offline  
Old Apr 16, 12, 10:53 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,933
The answer is "CAll"!
Waiting for it to happen automatically, won't happen!
I've had 3 of them redeposited for cancelled flights since 3/3, but they all required an emotionless phone call to 1k first.
Have your confirm # and pin # handy!!!
LilAbner is offline  
Old Apr 16, 12, 11:23 am
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston
Programs: UA Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 11,205
I don't think "how long" is the relevant question... there appears to be no automatic redeposit. Call OPSC, wait a few hours for them to answer, and beg/plead.
mduell is offline  
Old Apr 16, 12, 12:27 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vancouver, WA
Programs: Alaska MVP Gold, United 1K, MM, Marriott Gold, IHG Spire
Posts: 241
I had to call. Only took about 5 minutes.
pdxtraveller is offline  
Old Apr 16, 12, 1:17 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Virginia
Programs: UA 2MM
Posts: 1,231
Just hung up the phone and it took about 10 minutes to get the RPU redeposited. The flight was 6 days ago.
Doug 1029 is offline  
Old Apr 16, 12, 3:03 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SAN
Posts: 101
I called 1K line to change my RPU from one itinerary to another. The agent cancelled the original RPU request on the spot and called MP line to request redepositing RPU into my account for me. It took about 30 minutes for the whole process.

The agent told me that it would normally take 14 days before RPU being redepositing back to the account.
RandD is offline  
Old Apr 16, 12, 3:32 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1K, once-upon-a-time NW Gold, BMI Gold, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Gold
Posts: 6,246
Infinity + Epsilon
hobo13 is offline  
Old Apr 16, 12, 4:12 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: ATL
Programs: UA:MM 1K HH:Diamond IHG:Plat Marriott:Plat
Posts: 631
It took more than 6 weeks and calling to get an RPU back.
expressboy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: