Lack of backup crews in IAH

Old Mar 12, 12, 11:26 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: IAH, HOU
Programs: UA Silver, AA Plat, SPG Platinum, Hyatt Plat, HH Gold, Former CO Presidential Plat (for a day!)
Posts: 217
Lack of backup crews in IAH

Not sure if there's been a change in policy, but since the system change (might be fully unrelated, but by now I'm scared it might actually be related). I've had 3 2+ hour delays that have made me lose connections when traveling through IAH, over the past couple of weeks.

It used to be that having 2 or 3 hours to connect was really padding it, today it looks like it won't be nearly close to enough thanks to UA delaying a flight for 2+ hours while waiting on the original crew.

(To add insult to injury I even got rebooked to add an extra leg to MIA and then on to my final destination on AA... If I wanted to fly AA, i'd book AA in the first place).
mdt76 is offline  
Old Mar 12, 12, 11:34 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jersey Shore/YYZ
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Gold, National Exec, Hertz PC
Posts: 12,361
I see it as more of an isolated incident.

And since you were flown on AA, you can credit that flight to your AA Gold account, and get ORC on United.
aacharya is offline  
Old Mar 12, 12, 11:43 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NYC
Programs: AA EXP, UA Platinum, Alaksa MVP 75K, Air Berlin Gold, HHonors Diamond, Marriott Gold, Hertz PC
Posts: 2,388
It is believable though. CO had fewer bases (IAH, EWR, CLE, GUM) than PMUA (LAS, BOS, JFK, LAX, SFO, ORD, DEN, LHR, etc.) I also believe that CO crews are allowed to work more flight hours per day due to their contract versus UA so if they go over their duty day, it's probably harder to replace them.
weirdlyndon is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread