Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Despite linking my accounts back in January, CO doesn't recognize my 1K status.

Despite linking my accounts back in January, CO doesn't recognize my 1K status.

Old Feb 29, 12, 10:33 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1K, DL, AA, AS, HHonors, SPG, Kimpton, Hyatt, IC PC, Marriott Titanium, Hertz PC
Posts: 7,121
Despite linking my accounts back in January, CO doesn't recognize my 1K status.

While my transition from DL to UA has generally gone pretty smoothly, I have to say that I'm encountering one major road bump associated with the integration process... Despite linking my accounts back in January, CO doesn't recognize my 1K status.

I have a CO-operated flight this Sunday (3/4) -- the 1K desk confirmed for me that there are upgrade seats available but that there is nothing that they can do (short of asking for miles or certificates) to get me into those seats because "they don't know what my status is with CO". The message from that side seems to be wait out the 3/3 integration.

When I try to call CO directly, I get the regular phone number (and its ridiculous wait times). I waited for 30 minutes before giving up.

The CO website as well as the preview (pss.united.com) site, both show me as "non-elite" or "member" and nowhere indicate that I'm 1K.

Reading others stories here, it seems that I'm in the minority in this regard. Has anyone else encountered this specific problem? Any advice on getting both airlines on the same page?

Last edited by FlyinHawaiian; Mar 1, 12 at 3:52 am Reason: vague thread title
GBadger is offline  
Old Feb 29, 12, 10:36 pm
  #2  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 54,665
Originally Posted by GBadger View Post
.. Any advice on getting both airlines on the same page?
at this point -- probably just need to wait until Saturday 3/3.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Feb 29, 12, 11:04 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Programs: UA 1K, Hertz President's Circle, Hilton Platinum,
Posts: 661
Even though I'm 1K on United and Platinum on Continental, about the only time I get through to an agent in a reasonable amount of time is if I call the 1K line from my wife's cell phone. Apparently, they recognize her number as a 1K number and she gets right through. When I call from any other number, I can forget about getting through in a timely fashion.

Many of these issues should be resolved (or begin to be resolved) this weekend.
bsmnsr is offline  
Old Feb 29, 12, 11:04 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kansas City Metro | MCI
Programs: UA *G, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Plat., NEXUS, TSA Disparager Unobtanium
Posts: 20,281
Isn't your 1K # on the reservation? If so, you should still be considered for any seats released into the UDU chute.
FriendlySkies is offline  
Old Mar 1, 12, 6:30 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1K, DL, AA, AS, HHonors, SPG, Kimpton, Hyatt, IC PC, Marriott Titanium, Hertz PC
Posts: 7,121
Originally Posted by FriendlySkies View Post
Isn't your 1K # on the reservation? If so, you should still be considered for any seats released into the UDU chute.
It is, but that's the weird thing -- the 1K line called CO, and they (CO) said that they could not see at all that I had any status.
GBadger is offline  
Old Mar 1, 12, 7:11 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Yellow Springs
Programs: AS MVPG75K
Posts: 1,433
Originally Posted by GBadger View Post
It is, but that's the weird thing -- the 1K line called CO, and they (CO) said that they could not see at all that I had any status.
Try changing the ff# on that flight to your CO Onepass # (assuming that CO recognizes you as a CO Plat). IIRC, you can do it on-line using the CO website.
flymonthly is offline  
Old Mar 1, 12, 7:41 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1K, DL, AA, AS, HHonors, SPG, Kimpton, Hyatt, IC PC, Marriott Titanium, Hertz PC
Posts: 7,121
Originally Posted by flymonthly View Post
Try changing the ff# on that flight to your CO Onepass # (assuming that CO recognizes you as a CO Plat). IIRC, you can do it on-line using the CO website.
CO recognizes me as "non-elite" (on their website when logging in using OP).
GBadger is offline  
Old Mar 1, 12, 11:32 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Yellow Springs
Programs: AS MVPG75K
Posts: 1,433
Originally Posted by GBadger View Post
CO recognizes me as "non-elite" (on their website when logging in using OP).
Does it show your itinerary when you log into CO? I think it took about 2 weeks for CO to show me as a Plat once I linked my OP & M+ accounts. At this point, I think you're sol and WineCountryUA's advice is probably the best (wait until 3/3).
flymonthly is offline  
Old Mar 1, 12, 11:39 am
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1K, DL, AA, AS, HHonors, SPG, Kimpton, Hyatt, IC PC, Marriott Titanium, Hertz PC
Posts: 7,121
Originally Posted by flymonthly View Post
Does it show your itinerary when you log into CO? I think it took about 2 weeks for CO to show me as a Plat once I linked my OP & M+ accounts. At this point, I think you're sol and WineCountryUA's advice is probably the best (wait until 3/3).
Yup, itineraries are on CO.com (at least the ones that have CO-operated flights).

It hasn't quite been two weeks (that's tomorrow), so it sounds like the best option is to be patient, wait until 3/3 and hope that a) the system then does recognize the status, and b) there are still some seats left to upgrade into for my 3/4 travel!

Thanks for the tips and thoughts everyone.
GBadger is offline  
Old Mar 1, 12, 4:39 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
Could it be due to your status being matched by United that's why it's not seen by Continental until you complete the challenge (which by then, potentially, the systems will be integrated anyway)?
ironic23 is offline  
Old Mar 1, 12, 5:10 pm
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1K, DL, AA, AS, HHonors, SPG, Kimpton, Hyatt, IC PC, Marriott Titanium, Hertz PC
Posts: 7,121
Possible. I didn't know that the status had to be obtained a certain way for both systems to recognize it. Seems like post-3/3 it shouldn't matter.
GBadger is offline  
Old Mar 1, 12, 5:15 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Floating around
Programs: UA 1K (1MM), DL Silver (1MM), Marriott Amb (LT Titanium)
Posts: 8,650
BTW, it also needs to be stated again that even if "upgrade seats" (read: "R" bucket) is available it does NOT mean that the EUA system will upgrade you. This is covered in many different threads on the Continental sub-forum. It's a misleading indicator, unfortunately.

I haven't heard stories of CO not recognizing UA status. As long as your MileagePlus number is in the reservation CO will upgrade you as a 1K. I'd recommend you remove the number and re-add it to your reservation. That will force CO to go 'search' for your status again.

-RM
RobOnLI is offline  
Old Mar 1, 12, 5:24 pm
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1K, DL, AA, AS, HHonors, SPG, Kimpton, Hyatt, IC PC, Marriott Titanium, Hertz PC
Posts: 7,121
Originally Posted by RobOnLI View Post
BTW, it also needs to be stated again that even if "upgrade seats" (read: "R" bucket) is available it does NOT mean that the EUA system will upgrade you. This is covered in many different threads on the Continental sub-forum. It's a misleading indicator, unfortunately.
Good to know -- thanks. The lack of upgrade is less concerning to me than the lack of status on COs website and the puzzled sounding CO agents that I've talked to that can not see that I am 1k and therefore have to call UA to confirm that this is the case (this was when trying to get into exit row/extra legroom seats).

Originally Posted by RobOnLI View Post
I haven't heard stories of CO not recognizing UA status. As long as your MileagePlus number is in the reservation CO will upgrade you as a 1K. I'd recommend you remove the number and re-add it to your reservation. That will force CO to go 'search' for your status again.

-RM
I'll give it a shot -- thanks.
GBadger is offline  
Old Mar 1, 12, 5:30 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: BWI, MD
Programs: AA Gold, UA Silver, HH Lifetime Diamond, Marr Lifetime Titanium, Avis Presidents
Posts: 337
Had the same issue this past week, made three sets of travel reservations for 3/26 4/2 4/9. They were mixed metal tickets, I had my OP# in and once they were ticketed I went into pick seats and they had me behind Economy Plus seats, called the 1K desk and they couldn't move me or find me exit row seats. They finally had to remove the OP# and put my MP# back in and then they could find the seats & the Res's turned up on my CO & UA Res page.

Co-worker had the same issue this week. 1k desk wasn't sure what was going on, but its happening to more than just a few it looks like.
ontherun is offline  
Old Mar 1, 12, 5:49 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Yellow Springs
Programs: AS MVPG75K
Posts: 1,433
Originally Posted by ironic23 View Post
Could it be due to your status being matched by United that's why it's not seen by Continental until you complete the challenge (which by then, potentially, the systems will be integrated anyway)?
Didn't matter in my case. I did a status match/challenge and CO eventually recognized my status when I was in the first month (didn't finish the challenge until a little past the 2nd month). I agree that it *shouldn't* matter after 3/2, but who knows?
flymonthly is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: