No SFO-LHR 747 this summer?

Old Feb 5, 12, 5:34 am
Original Poster

Programs: CO - Onepass Gold Elite--> UA - MileagePlus Gold Premier--> Silver --> AS - MileagePlan MVPGOLD!
Question No SFO-LHR 747 this summer?

Well, as the title says, I'm looking at routes to LHR this summer, and it seems that both the SFO flights are 777s.
Am I looking at the wrong dates, or is United simply not planning on sending the 747 to LHR this year?
I much prefer a 747 over a 777 (I know most of you IFE fanboys won't agree... but I was a 747 mechanic for a few years, and I'm VERY partial to the airplane, systemically...), and would like to get to London that way, if possible.
I'd take NZ, but they're doing the 77W now.
Anyone with insight?

Last edited by FlyinHawaiian; Feb 5, 12 at 6:24 am Reason: title was missing origin city
Old Feb 5, 12, 5:36 am

Programs: SPG Plat
I think you might want to try from ORD.
Old Feb 5, 12, 5:50 am

Programs: UA 1K
Are you willing to do SFO-FRA-LON instead? Might be a more enjoyable connection than ORD.
Old Feb 5, 12, 7:43 am

Programs: UA Plat 2.2MM, AA nobody, IHG Gold, HH Silver
They only switched the 747 back in this winter for the first time in ages when it went to a single flight a day. The summer schedule of 2x777s has been that way for a long time (it used to be the year round schedule, though recent winters have been reduced to 1x777).
Old Feb 5, 12, 9:42 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA Million Mile Nobody, Marriott Platinum Elite, SPG Gold
SFO service to Europe has gone downhill in the last 6 years or so. Used to have nonstop 777 to Paris, then they went to a 767, then seasonal, then gone. Plus they had 747 service year round to LHR and FRA.
Old Feb 5, 12, 10:25 am

Programs: DL DM
Anyone know which routes WILL be operated by 747 this summer? Seems my regular ORD-PEK has been downgauged as well. Never seems like there are that many 747 routes relative to the size of the fleet...
Old Feb 5, 12, 1:15 pm