Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

out of GRR. Skymiles or Mileage Plus? Goal is redeem miles for vacations

Old Nov 16, 11, 1:46 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Delta Skymiles

I am a recent grad at a new job where I will be flying around 70,000 mi/yr domestic for work. Goal is to redeem reward miles for international and dom. vacations. Delta and United/Continental seem to have the best selection for flights out of GRR. Which airline/reward program should I go with? Thanks

Last edited by DVnGRR; Nov 16, 11 at 9:50 pm
Old Nov 16, 11, 1:55 pm

Programs: AA EXP (0.425MM), AS MVP 75K, National Executive Elite, Marriott PPE, UA Silver, DL Gold
Get A3 + UA

my experience as a *A FO and DL (long time) dirt is that the award availability/value of *A miles is superior to DL Skypesos. What you should do, IMO, is fly United/*A, and get both an Aegean Airlines (A3) and United FF account. b/c A3 gives you * gold status at only 24,000 miles, and it lasts for 3 years (or so the theory goes, not entirely sure based on T&C). Credit the first 24,000 miles to A3, and then credit the remaining miles to United. With the A3 *G, you get access to all *A lounges in the US, and don't need to be flying internationally, plus you get the other benefits of being *G w/ United. Congrats on the job, BTW.
Old Nov 16, 11, 4:11 pm

Programs: UA - 1K, DL - Plat
Tough Call

I'm a GRR based CO Plat.

Here's my thoughts...

DL:
Flys direct to more destinations out of GRR.
ATL/CVG/DTW/JAX/MEM/MSP/LGA/OKC/DCA.
Most of the flights to their large hubs are on mainline gear or E175/CR9's.
The DL staff at GRR are very nice.
The security line for the A concourse is FAR worse than for the B concourse.
SkyPesos are worthless.
SWU's are worthless.
If you're a fan of AMEX cool, if not, well you're stuck for CC mileage.

UA:
Flies direct to many of the UA/CO Hubs.
ORD/CLE/DEN/IAH/EWR