IAD-EZE being switched to EWR-EZE?

Old Nov 8, 11, 9:25 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Signed off FT for good...
Posts: 1,674
IAD-EZE being switched to EWR-EZE?

From airliners.net:

*UA EWR-EZE APR 0>0.8 MAY 0>1.0 JUN 0>1.0 JUL 0>1.0
*UA IAD-EZE APR 1.0>0.2 MAY 1.0>0 JUN 1.0>0 JUL 1.0>0
Disappointing. Hopefully it stays on the UA 763 so it is a 3 class option to EZE.

It's official:
http://ir.unitedcontinentalholdings....749&highlight=

Last edited by SFOtoORD; Nov 8, 11 at 11:05 am
SFOtoORD is offline  
Old Nov 8, 11, 9:27 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York, London, Sydney
Programs: United GS/2MM, DL*P, VS*G, AA*EXP, Avis CHM, Hertz Platinum, Sixt*D, HH*D, HGP*P, Starwood*P
Posts: 9,735
Originally Posted by SFOtoORD View Post
From airliners.net:



Disappointing. Hopefully it stays on the UA 763 so it is a 3 class option to EZE.
Wonderful.
stevenshev is offline  
Old Nov 8, 11, 9:47 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New England
Programs: United 1K, Delta PM, Marriott Titanium, HH Gold, Club Carlson Gold
Posts: 6,259
Maybe the competition in NYC on that route will help bring fares down.
demkr is offline  
Old Nov 8, 11, 9:54 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: wandering expat
Posts: 39,915
Ah yes, another "benefit" from COdbaUA bestowed upon IAD flyers.

There is no way I'm flying north to EWR to catch a flight to anywhere in South America. Looks like my AA and DL mileage is going to increase next year.
halls120 is offline  
Old Nov 8, 11, 9:56 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: A menace to everything in the sky. Yes. Even birds.
Programs: Eh+ Rapid Rolleyes
Posts: 14,507
Originally Posted by demkr View Post
Maybe the competition in NYC on that route will help bring fares down.
Wishful thinking but I'm sure they've crunched the numbers and figured they could get higher profitability by flying the load out of EWR than IAD.

Last edited by belynch; Nov 8, 11 at 10:21 am Reason: typo
belynch is offline  
Old Nov 8, 11, 10:06 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: wandering expat
Posts: 39,915
Originally Posted by belynch View Post
Wishful thinking but I'm sure they've crunched the numbers and figured they could get higher profitability by flying the road out of EWR than IAD.
No, it's really all about screwing over PMUA customers who don't fly out of EWR or IAH.
halls120 is offline  
Old Nov 8, 11, 10:08 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Signed off FT for good...
Posts: 1,674
Originally Posted by halls120 View Post
There is no way I'm flying north to EWR to catch a flight to anywhere in South America. Looks like my AA and DL mileage is going to increase next year.
That's ok, you can fly South to IAH.
SFOtoORD is offline  
Old Nov 8, 11, 10:13 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Los Angeles / Basel
Posts: 24,768
Originally Posted by SFOtoORD View Post
That's ok, you can fly South to IAH.
or west to ORD.
MatthewLAX is offline  
Old Nov 8, 11, 10:24 am
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Signed off FT for good...
Posts: 1,674
Originally Posted by MatthewLAX View Post
or west to ORD.
Unfortunately, ORD-EZE has been gone for a while.
SFOtoORD is offline  
Old Nov 8, 11, 10:32 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Programs: UA 1K MM, HH Gold
Posts: 1,447
In the past I have taken many times connecting flight from PHL or EWR to IAD to catch FLT 847. And the price were usually cheaper than just taking the direct flight from IAD.

I just did a random dummy booking for May 2012. EWR-EZE direct is $1181 and IAD-EWR-EZE for the same date is $1030. I am not happy about having to pay extra $150 and getting less RDM/EQM in the future.
CAPT Tee is offline  
Old Nov 8, 11, 10:32 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: wandering expat
Posts: 39,915
Originally Posted by MatthewLAX View Post
or west to ORD.
Originally Posted by SFOtoORD View Post
That's ok, you can fly South to IAH.
Sorry, but if I have to connect, I'll just fly AA out of DCA through DFW or MIA. All three of those airports are head and shoulders above the cesspool of IAD's C/D terminal.
halls120 is offline  
Old Nov 8, 11, 10:37 am
  #12  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto YYZ UA-1K 1MM,QFgold
Programs: Royal Ambassador/ SPG Platinum 75/Marriott gold
Posts: 14,285
EWR is a nightmare airport with so many delays.... UGH stop sending flights there.
why fly is offline  
Old Nov 8, 11, 10:47 am
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: PDX
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Plat
Posts: 11,475
Originally Posted by SFOtoORD View Post
Disappointing. Hopefully it stays on the UA 763 so it is a 3 class option to EZE.
From the schedule you posted, it looks like it will be a UA aircraft so either a 763 or a 777.
Hartmann is offline  
Old Nov 8, 11, 11:00 am
  #14  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ORD / DUB / LHR
Programs: UA 1K MM; BA Silver; Marriott Plat
Posts: 8,243
Originally Posted by halls120 View Post
Sorry, but if I have to connect, I'll just fly AA out of DCA through DFW or MIA. All three of those airports are head and shoulders above the cesspool of IAD's C/D terminal.
So the problem is IAD?

If you're flying to EZE, routing through DFW is a huge detour by the way. MIA is much better but that involves transiting MIA
star_world is offline  
Old Nov 8, 11, 11:01 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Programs: Premier Executive, Continental Platinum, SPG Gold, IHG Platinum, Velocity Gold, Alaskan MPV Gold.
Posts: 461
Feb EZE to IAD

Glad they're not doing this until April, that would have messed up my return trip from EZE to IAD big time.
ckc123 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread