FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   United Airlines | MileagePlus (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/united-airlines-mileageplus-681/)
-   -   Fuel surcharge for Mileage Plus Award Tickets? (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/united-airlines-mileageplus/1273285-fuel-surcharge-mileage-plus-award-tickets.html)

frankyday Oct 26, 2011 9:35 pm

Fuel surcharge for Mileage Plus Award Tickets?

Hello everyone,

I have tried searching thru some of the previous posts here but seemed I cannot find a post which is explicitly related to this, therefore I open this post.

I have been using Cathay Pacific Marco Polo Club for long time and I am new to UA Mileage Plus.

I understand that for redemption ticket, UA does NOT charge fuel surcharge at all (while almost all other mileage programs do charge the fuel surcharge)

However, I am not sure whether this is still true when I use the Mileage Plus to redeem Star Alliance Airline ticket (e.g. ANA, Singapore airline or Turkish airline).

As you know, the fuel surcharge nowadays is so expensive that if this is waived for all airline using Mileage Plus, then I would say it saves quite a lot money especially for long-haul flight.

Hope someone can answer my question here.

Thanks a million
Franky

Joshua Oct 26, 2011 9:53 pm

A recent award redemption on NZ did not charge me any fuel surcharges. Just had to cough up US Sept. 11 fee, Australia "safety and security" charge, and Australia passenger service charge. $30.80 total bill for a one way business class ticket.

My paid return ticket had $250 in fuel surcharges.

Generally speaking, I find awards on MileagePlus/OnePass to be the best in the industry, and OnePass rewards are easy to book. The closest competition is probably US Airways, albeit only for partner flights.

mahasamatman Oct 26, 2011 9:54 pm

Currently, Mileage Plus does not charge YQ on any award ticket.

frubio2012 Oct 26, 2011 9:58 pm