Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Consolidated Connection time/logistics-Domestic & International at FRA

Consolidated Connection time/logistics-Domestic & International at FRA

Old Jan 12, 11, 10:37 am
  #106  
Senior Moderator, Moderator: Community Buzz, and Ambassador: Miles & More (Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, and other partners)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 150km from MAN
Programs: LH SEN** HH Diamond
Posts: 26,935
Originally Posted by Tiger_lily View Post
I have a flight booked on UA901 on the 24th in F.

The first sector is BHX-FRA in J on LH. The BHX flight almost always parks at the furthest remote stand possible @ FRA and the connection is 1:40.

I have been looking Flightstats looking at the reliability of the BHX-FRA flight is and it rarely leaves on time and often carries a delay of >30 min. This makes me very worried.

So my question is, given that UA901 leaves from the A pier, and the buses come into the B pier, how doable is my connection?

What's the quickest way to get to the A pier?
I often connect from MAN to a longhaul in FRA with the connecting time of 1 hr 35 mins and have never had any problem (except on Christmas day but that's another story). Even if your BHX flight arrives 30 mins late you should be ok.

Although it's a long time since I connected from a flight ex-UK to a longhaul departing from an A gate, I think the route to follow will be as follows: From the bus arrival gate in B you go up the escalator or the lift to level 3, follow the signs to A51-65 gates (the same direction as C gates) which should take you to the Skyline train platform, take the train to Pier A and walk to your departure gate. There may be security check as you get off the Skyline train in Pier A.

Although you are connecting from LH to UA, you may like to take a look at the following thread in the M&M forum.
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/miles...on-thread.html

I'm afraid I cannot answer your other questions.
NewbieRunner is offline  
Old Jan 12, 11, 11:33 am
  #107  
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 9,652
Originally Posted by Bob'sYourUncle View Post
If you're coming from within Schengen (and transfer "properly"), you will NOT have a security check, but you WILL have an outbound passport check.
IME, all U.S. bound flights require an extra security check. Would love, to learn about the contrary!
cesco.g is online now  
Old Jan 12, 11, 11:43 am
  #108  
Senior Moderator, Moderator: Community Buzz, and Ambassador: Miles & More (Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, and other partners)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 150km from MAN
Programs: LH SEN** HH Diamond
Posts: 26,935
Originally Posted by cesco.g View Post
IME, all U.S. bound flights require an extra security check. Would love, to learn about the contrary!
It varies from time to time depending on alert level.
NewbieRunner is offline  
Old Jan 12, 11, 12:24 pm
  #109  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 5 miles from EMA
Programs: BD, BAEC Bronze, Hertz 5*, Accor Plat, HHonors Diamond, Big White Season Pass
Posts: 5,208
Originally Posted by NewbieRunner View Post
I often connect from MAN to a longhaul in FRA with the connecting time of 1 hr 35 mins and have never had any problem (except on Christmas day but that's another story). Even if your BHX flight arrives 30 mins late you should be ok.

Although it's a long time since I connected from a flight ex-UK to a longhaul departing from an A gate, I think the route to follow will be as follows: From the bus arrival gate in B you go up the escalator or the lift to level 3, follow the signs to A51-65 gates (the same direction as C gates) which should take you to the Skyline train platform, take the train to Pier A and walk to your departure gate. There may be security check as you get off the Skyline train in Pier A.

Although you are connecting from LH to UA, you may like to take a look at the following thread in the M&M forum.
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/miles...on-thread.html

I'm afraid I cannot answer your other questions.
Thanks NewbieRunner
Tiger_lily is offline  
Old Jan 19, 11, 3:34 pm
  #110  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: OMA/DSM
Programs: UA Gold
Posts: 164
ORD-FRA-CPT Baggage retrieval in FRA

Flying On UA/ LH ORD-FRA-CPT with a 12hr layover in FRA. Was going to check my bags all the way through but wanted to be able to access a single bag in FRA. 2 questions.

1-any luck with a check in agent willing to check a bag only to a connection city with having a very long layover and sending rest of bags all the way to final destination?

2-In FRA, do you have to claim bags and go through customs like here in the US and may have an opportunity to grab a bag and not recheck it immediately?

Any other suggestions or insight on this would be appreciated.
joeljack is offline  
Old Jan 19, 11, 3:57 pm
  #111  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: MEL
Programs: QR platinum
Posts: 601
Originally Posted by joeljack View Post

2-In FRA, do you have to claim bags and go through customs like here in the US and may have an opportunity to grab a bag and not recheck it immediately?
When connecting in Europe there is no custom to go through, so you will not have access to bags tagged for your final destination.

I think that you may ask to short check a bag if you have an overnight connection, but not sure.
CASAFlyer is offline  
Old Jan 19, 11, 8:05 pm
  #112  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SFO South Bay
Programs: UA 2MM, B6 Mosaic
Posts: 2,939
I routinely short check bags flying through FRA. LH has always allowed this for me. However, I have never tried to short check 1 bag and have another go all the way through.

Why not just take a smaller bag on board with you?
blueman2 is offline  
Old Feb 11, 11, 7:54 am
  #113  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: DAY
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold, BA, DL, CO, UA, F9, AS, SPG, HHonors Gold, WN, Club Carlson Gold,
Posts: 1,375
Is a 45 min. connection at FRA to CPH doable? "DAY-IAD-FRA-CPH"

Looking over some award flight options from DAY to CPH. One option is DAY-IAD-FRA-CPH. However, the connection time at FRA is only 45 min. Wouldn't I have to go through immigration and customs, and therefore 45 min. not possible? Fortunately, there is another FRA-CPH flight that leaves about and hour and a half later that I should probably select vs. the 45 min. connection time, however, getting to CPH sooner would be better if a 45 min. connection time was doable. Any advice appreciated. Thanks.
swdke is offline  
Old Feb 11, 11, 8:14 am
  #114  
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: NorCal - 1K 2MM
Posts: 1,988
Originally Posted by swdke View Post
Looking over some award flight options from DAY to CPH. One option is DAY-IAD-FRA-CPH. However, the connection time at FRA is only 45 min. Wouldn't I have to go through immigration and customs, and therefore 45 min. not possible? Fortunately, there is another FRA-CPH flight that leaves about and hour and a half later that I should probably select vs. the 45 min. connection time, however, getting to CPH sooner would be better if a 45 min. connection time was doable. Any advice appreciated. Thanks.
That's an almost impossible connection at FRA. UA almost always arrives at a remote pad rather than a gate. You wait for all pax to deplane down stairs, 5 minute bus ride to the terminal. No C&I, but there is a slow security check. There can also then be a quite long walk to the LH gate. Save yourself the anguish and book the later one.
Starman is offline  
Old Feb 11, 11, 8:15 am
  #115  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: DCA
Programs: United 1K 2MM, Hilton Gold
Posts: 2,582
It's possible, but there is little margin. If you land at the A gates, and it's not busy, you go through immigration, security and customs on the way downstairs, and if the flight to CPH is right there, all is well.

On the other hand, if you arrive via the bus, you then have a longer line, farther away from the flight, and it's very questionable.
Miles Ahead is offline  
Old Feb 11, 11, 8:29 am
  #116  
Used to be 'g_leyser'
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Land of Lightfoot
Programs: AS MVP Gold 75K, AA PlatPro, HH Dia, Bonvoy Gold, IHG Gold, Reno Air MEGA Platinum
Posts: 9,700
Is it doable? Yes.
Is it advisable? Certainly not.
aisleorwindow is offline  
Old Feb 11, 11, 8:53 am
  #117  
Senior Moderator, Moderator: Community Buzz, and Ambassador: Miles & More (Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, and other partners)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 150km from MAN
Programs: LH SEN** HH Diamond
Posts: 26,935
I agree with other posters that it might be doable but not advisable. Arriving from the US and connecting to CPH, you will have to go through immigration since Denmark is in Schengen but not customs. All arrivals from outside Schengen will also have to go through security screening before connecting to another flight.

You may also like to check the FRA connection thread in the M&M forum.
NewbieRunner is offline  
Old Feb 11, 11, 8:53 am
  #118  
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Heading to Costco for more popcorn...
Programs: UA 1K MM Flier, SPG Plt, Hilton Dia
Posts: 8,368
Originally Posted by g_leyser
Is it doable? Yes.
Is it advisable? Certainly not. .
+1. Consider the likelihood of the remote gate, the need to clear immigration since you're going non-Schengen to Schengen (but not Customs until you reach CPH) and also needing to clear security again. I'd book the longer connection -- it's only a 90 minute delay getting to CPH.
cawhite is offline  
Old Feb 11, 11, 8:55 am
  #119  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SFO
Programs: UA MMGold, HH Diamond, Marriott Plat
Posts: 1,262
Originally Posted by cesco.g View Post
IME, all U.S. bound flights require an extra security check. Would love, to learn about the contrary!
I didn't need to go through another check from my last trip in January (CDG-FRA-SFO).

There is a stand at the entrance of terminal A, they only want to see my BP. There is no X-ray machine at the entrance but there are two people, one man the stand and another sit on a chair nearby, probably to perform manual check if necessary?
wendySFO is offline  
Old Feb 11, 11, 9:25 am
  #120  
Senior Moderator, Moderator: Community Buzz, and Ambassador: Miles & More (Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, and other partners)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 150km from MAN
Programs: LH SEN** HH Diamond
Posts: 26,935
Originally Posted by wendySFO View Post
I didn't need to go through another check from my last trip in January (CDG-FRA-SFO).
If connecting from a Schengen country (e.g. France) there's no additional security check. However, depending on the level of security alert additional screening is necessary for US bound flights only from time to time.
NewbieRunner is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread