Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Consolidated Connection time/logistics-Domestic & International at FRA

Consolidated Connection time/logistics-Domestic & International at FRA

Old Feb 2, 18, 3:59 am
  #721  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Programs: UA (1K, MM), AA
Posts: 792
Improved gate screening process?

During the gate screening before my US-bound flight from FRA, the first one for me this year, I got my sticker with no questions asked. Previously there were half a dozen questions like where are you flying from, who packed your bag, etc. Some of the other passengers did have to answer such questions. Does this represent a policy change? Are the questions optional now, depending on what comes up after the passport scan? This would be a welcome procedure enhancement.
FreFly is offline  
Old Feb 2, 18, 6:31 am
  #722  
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SFO/SJC
Programs: UA 1K&1.88MM, MR lifetime Gold, HZ PC,
Posts: 1,699
Took me 45 minutes from arrival at A20 to getting to B56 today, and I managed to be the last person to board the bus to my flight (though as it turned out there were 4 stragglers who had to be brought on a later bus). My plan was to go from Z to A, and then use the tunnel across to B, but I was spaced out and ended up on the train to B. That wasn't bad - the delay was at security in B. I was sixth in line, and it took 19 minutes to get through.

That's actually the closest I've come to having a connection problem at FRA (that I can recall). Usually a breeze.
cricketer is offline  
Old Feb 3, 18, 1:10 pm
  #723  
Senior Moderator, Moderator: Community Buzz, and Ambassador: Miles & More (Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, and other partners)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 150km from MAN
Programs: LH SEN** HH Diamond
Posts: 27,333
Originally Posted by cricketer View Post
Took me 45 minutes from arrival at A20 to getting to B56 today, and I managed to be the last person to board the bus to my flight (though as it turned out there were 4 stragglers who had to be brought on a later bus). My plan was to go from Z to A, and then use the tunnel across to B, but I was spaced out and ended up on the train to B. That wasn't bad - the delay was at security in B. I was sixth in line, and it took 19 minutes to get through.

That's actually the closest I've come to having a connection problem at FRA (that I can recall). Usually a breeze.
If you arrived at A20 (a Schengen gate) rather than what United calls A20 which is actually Z20 (a non-Schengen gate upstairs), the obvious and quickest route would have been the tunnel and passport control into B. If you arrived at Z20 it’s either Skyline train to B and transfer security or passport control twice and the tunnel. There is no straightforward route.
NewbieRunner is offline  
Old Jun 29, 18, 9:09 am
  #724  
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Programs: united
Posts: 39
Will we be able to access a lounge in FRA?

If we fly IAH - FRA - FCO with the first leg in UA Polaris on a GPU with our second leg on LH in economy, will we be able to access a lounge on our over 4 hour layover in FRA? Any single use passes we can buy if our ticket doesn't get us in one?
bariww is offline  
Old Jun 29, 18, 9:21 am
  #725  
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ORD
Programs: United 1K, Hyatt Discoverist
Posts: 588
You can definitely get in the Arrivals Lounge in the baggage area - really recommend. Get a hot shower and big breakfast, just have to re-clear security to go to FCO. But 4 hours should be more than enough time for that
bariww likes this.
revigik is offline  
Old Jun 29, 18, 9:24 am
  #726  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Programs: UA 1K, Hilton ♦ , Hyatt Carbonado, Wyndham ♦, Marriott PE, "Stinking Bum" elsewhere.
Posts: 3,359
Originally Posted by bariww View Post
If we fly IAH - FRA - FCO with the first leg in UA Polaris on a GPU with our second leg on LH in economy, will we be able to access a lounge on our over 4 hour layover in FRA? Any single use passes we can buy if our ticket doesn't get us in one?
Yes, you will have access to the SEN lounge in A.
zombietooth is offline  
Old Jun 29, 18, 9:28 am
  #727  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: DCA
Programs: United 1K 2MM, Hilton Gold
Posts: 2,586
I believe it's the Biz lounge, unless the OP is *Gold.
bariww likes this.
Miles Ahead is offline  
Old Jun 29, 18, 9:39 am
  #728  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Programs: UA 1K, Hilton ♦ , Hyatt Carbonado, Wyndham ♦, Marriott PE, "Stinking Bum" elsewhere.
Posts: 3,359
Originally Posted by Miles Ahead View Post
I believe it's the Biz lounge, unless the OP is *Gold.
You're right. I just assumed they were *Gold, having GPUs. Since we don't know, your advice is the most accurate.
Dublin_rfk and bariww like this.
zombietooth is offline  
Old Jun 29, 18, 9:42 am
  #729  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ORD
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 16,144
Originally Posted by zombietooth View Post
You're right. I just assumed they were *Gold, having GPUs. Since we don't know, your advice is the most accurate.
Good call, and if they are indeed *Gold any questions related to the economy leg to FCO are moot. They will have access to the SEN lounges at FRA as *Gold. No need to go landside for this (the arrivals lounge is landside). The SEN lounges (or at least some of them) also have showers if so desired.
milepig is offline  
Old Jun 29, 18, 9:50 am
  #730  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AS MVP Gold 75K, UA Gold, Marriott LTT, Avis President's Club
Posts: 1,360
Just for my understanding. Assuming no status, you'd still get access to LH lounges with this itinerary? I know a UC would let you in (coming off a United Polaris flight), but I thought *A lounge access was always about your departing flight (economy in this case).
JHake10 is offline  
Old Jun 29, 18, 9:57 am
  #731  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1k
Posts: 250
I recently upgraded my brother on HKG-MUC from Economy to biz using a GPU, and they let him into the LH biz lounge even though he was flying economy on his onward leg out of MUC
JHake10 likes this.
mrt88 is offline  
Old Jun 29, 18, 10:30 am
  #732  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: CT/NY
Programs: UA Gold/MM, Marriott LT Titanium, Hyatt Discoverist
Posts: 4,444
Originally Posted by JHake10 View Post
Just for my understanding. Assuming no status, you'd still get access to LH lounges with this itinerary? I know a UC would let you in (coming off a United Polaris flight), but I thought *A lounge access was always about your departing flight (economy in this case).
In absence of *G status, arrival from UA business does not entitle OP to use the LH business lounge, since a departing business class BP is required for access. However, as @revigik had pointed out, OP can exit security and use the arrival lounge.

Originally Posted by mrt88 View Post
I recently upgraded my brother on HKG-MUC from Economy to biz using a GPU, and they let him into the LH biz lounge even though he was flying economy on his onward leg out of MUC
Were both segments on LH? I think that makes a difference. OP is arriving on a UA flight, with second segment in LH economy.
sbm12 and JHake10 like this.
PTahCha is offline  
Old Jun 29, 18, 10:50 am
  #733  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 49,302
To have access at LH departure lounges, the OP would need to be
- *G or
- UC member

Arrival on UA in Polaris Cabin would not provide access
Use of Chase UC lounge passes would not provide access

Access, if before noon, to FRA LH Arrivals Lounge would be allowed due to the UA Polaris cabin arrival
However given the scheduled arrival of the UA IAH-FRA of 11:15AM, this will be tough to clear entry and make it to the arrivals lounge before it closes.
sbm12 likes this.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Jun 29, 18, 11:07 am
  #734  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1k
Posts: 250
Originally Posted by PTahCha View Post
Were both segments on LH? I think that makes a difference. OP is arriving on a UA flight, with second segment in LH economy.
ah yeah in this case it was LH biz -> LH econ
mrt88 is offline  
Old Jun 29, 18, 11:49 am
  #735  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: AS MVP Gold 75K, UA Gold, Marriott LTT, Avis President's Club
Posts: 1,360
Originally Posted by PTahCha View Post
In absence of *G status, arrival from UA business does not entitle OP to use the LH business lounge, since a departing business class BP is required for access.
Thanks for the conformation. I knew I wasn't crazy!
JHake10 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: