Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Consolidated Connection time/logistics-Domestic & International at FRA

Consolidated Connection time/logistics-Domestic & International at FRA

Old Jan 9, 18, 9:28 pm
  #706  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Redwood City, CA USA (SFO/SJC)
Programs: Last 1K flight 1/21/11; fun while it lasted, 1P in 2011, Plat for 2012,13,14,15 & 2016. Gold in 17 &
Posts: 8,520
Worst-case scenario, you'll get rebooked via Munich on a flight that arrives Naples at 5:15pm. LH338 appears to be typically-German-punctual, while UA58 has at times been an hour late. But even an hour late you may still make the connection. I've lived in fear of tight connections at FRA but somehow it's always worked out. But, I always have a backup in mind, just in case.
Mike Jacoubowsky is offline  
Old Jan 9, 18, 9:37 pm
  #707  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: AA EXP; AS 75K; UA 1K 1MM; Marriott Ambassador; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 43,854
Originally Posted by Mike Jacoubowsky View Post
I've lived in fear of tight connections at FRA but somehow it's always worked out.
My experience as well, even when I was sure I was going to miss.
Kacee is offline  
Old Jan 10, 18, 8:23 am
  #708  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DUS
Programs: United-1K+1MM, Bonvoy-LifetimeGold, PriorityClub-Platin-Ambassador
Posts: 281
As the USA is treated as a "clean" country in the EU you just have to do the immigration, but no extra security. Not as Europeans in the USA. *smile*
Be sure to follow the signs to A-connections and after passportcontroll you are at the A-gates. Z and A are in the same terminal, but
Z is international upperfloor and A is shengen lower level. Even with a busgate I did it often under 20minutes.
zappa42m is offline  
Old Jan 10, 18, 8:31 am
  #709  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: AA EXP; AS 75K; UA 1K 1MM; Marriott Ambassador; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 43,854
Originally Posted by zappa42m View Post
Not as Europeans in the USA. *smile*
Perhaps you are unaware that (with limited exceptions at IAH and MIA) there are no international to international transits in the US. All arriving international passengers must clear immigration and customs and reclear security, regardless of their nationality. This applies to US citizens as well as citizens of other nations. It has nothing to do with whether the country from which they are arrivng is considered "clean" or not.
Kacee is offline  
Old Jan 10, 18, 8:34 am
  #710  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Programs: UA (1K, MM), AA
Posts: 792
Originally Posted by FlyingHoustonian View Post
You actually will not clear customs until NAP presuming you are on one PNR/ticket with bags checked through. You will choose the green or red channel upon exiting NAP and they could stop you to check your bags randomly there. You will do immigration for Schengen at FRA.
In fact, you do not even need to be on the same PNR, but you need to be able to interline your bags to your final destination, where you will need to clear customs.
FreFly is offline  
Old Jan 10, 18, 8:42 am
  #711  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1P-1MM, Marriott LT Titanium
Posts: 3,692
There is a very good FRA connection thread in the LH forum.
tods27 is offline  
Old Jan 10, 18, 7:40 pm
  #712  
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Mileage Plus
Posts: 213
If you are arriving at an "A" gate at FRA (from outside the EU, like on UA58 from SFO), you will actually be forced to walk upstairs (just after leaving the jet bridge) and will enter the terminal among the "Z" gates. From there, follow the signs to the "A" gates. This will involve both going down one level and clearing passport control to enter the EU.

If you arrive at a bus gate, just follow the signs to the "A" gates. This may involve a tunnel and long walkways, but just keep following the signs.

You have enough time if your first flight is mostly on-time and you keep moving once you get there! Good luck! Please let us know how it goes.

JK-SFO
JK-SFO is offline  
Old Jan 10, 18, 8:21 pm
  #713  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Programs: UA-1K MM, AA-Gold, DL-Silver, AS-MVP
Posts: 1,593
Originally Posted by Kacee View Post
Perhaps you are unaware that (with limited exceptions at IAH and MIA) there are no international to international transits in the US. All arriving international passengers must clear immigration and customs and reclear security, regardless of their nationality. This applies to US citizens as well as citizens of other nations. It has nothing to do with whether the country from which they are arrivng is considered "clean" or not.
I think he meant security "clean", as in certain countries arriving from non-Schengen countries don't have to re-clear security, which includes US, Canada, and the UK (as far as I know). You basically exit the plane in the sterile zone and allows easy transfer without the hassle of security check again. I know MUC and VIE have this setup as well.
hirohito888 is offline  
Old Jan 11, 18, 1:37 pm
  #714  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Programs: Continental
Posts: 1,373
Thanks for the replies...actually I meant a star gold line for passport control rather than customs.
Hopefully Flt #58 will be close to on time so I can make the original NAP flight.
hockey7711 is offline  
Old Jan 11, 18, 2:05 pm
  #715  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1P-1MM, Marriott LT Titanium
Posts: 3,692
Originally Posted by hockey7711 View Post
Thanks for the replies...actually I meant a star gold line for passport control rather than customs.
Hopefully Flt #58 will be close to on time so I can make the original NAP flight.
No special lines for passport control, but generally passport control isn't a problem at FRA for most times of the day. You should definitely go peruse the thread in the LH forum as this has been addressed many times in the thread.
tods27 is offline  
Old Jan 12, 18, 9:47 am
  #716  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DUS
Programs: United-1K+1MM, Bonvoy-LifetimeGold, PriorityClub-Platin-Ambassador
Posts: 281
Originally Posted by hirohito888 View Post
I think he meant security "clean", as in certain countries arriving from non-Schengen countries don't have to re-clear security, which includes US, Canada, and the UK (as far as I know). You basically exit the plane in the sterile zone and allows easy transfer without the hassle of security check again. I know MUC and VIE have this setup as well.
Thats exactly what I meant. Thank you hirohito888
zappa42m is offline  
Old Jan 25, 18, 3:14 pm
  #717  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Programs: Continental
Posts: 1,373
As it turned out, my flight from SFO arrived almost an hour early so there was no problem with the connection.
hockey7711 is offline  
Old Jan 25, 18, 6:20 pm
  #718  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Programs: UA Premier Silver
Posts: 311
Originally Posted by Kacee View Post
Perhaps you are unaware that (with limited exceptions at IAH and MIA) there are no international to international transits in the US. All arriving international passengers must clear immigration and customs and reclear security, regardless of their nationality. This applies to US citizens as well as citizens of other nations. It has nothing to do with whether the country from which they are arrivng is considered "clean" or not.
I am curious as to what flights are eligible at IAH. AFAIK, IAH cannot support airside transfers at all. They do have a connecting option right after immigration and customs that allows pax to teclear security in a special line. But other than that, I am unaware of this.
chermorg is offline  
Old Jan 25, 18, 6:43 pm
  #719  
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Mileage Plus
Posts: 213
Originally Posted by hockey7711 View Post
As it turned out, my flight from SFO arrived almost an hour early so there was no problem with the connection.
Glad it worked out so well and thanks for reporting back that you made it!

JK-SFO
JK-SFO is offline  
Old Jan 25, 18, 9:38 pm
  #720  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: AA EXP; AS 75K; UA 1K 1MM; Marriott Ambassador; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 43,854
Originally Posted by chermorg View Post
I am curious as to what flights are eligible at IAH. AFAIK, IAH cannot support airside transfers at all.
International to international has a special process at IAH. You clear immigration, but do not have to collect your bag, it is checked through.

No need to collect checked luggage while transiting through IAH. [OneStop]
Kacee is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: