Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Consolidated Connection time/logistics-Domestic & International at FRA

Consolidated Connection time/logistics-Domestic & International at FRA

Old Oct 2, 17, 6:26 am
  #691  
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: EWR
Programs: UA GS, 1MM
Posts: 88
Even if you have to take a bus from your incoming flight you should be fine with a 90 minute connection at FRA. As others said, I do this several times a year and have never had a problem.
Acastus is offline  
Old Oct 2, 17, 6:39 am
  #692  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: ORD
Programs: UA Silver, Marriott Platinum/LT Platinum, Hilton Gold
Posts: 4,913
Originally Posted by jumpingenes View Post
The A and the Z gates are, for the most part, the same gates at different levels. If youre coming in from an intra- Schengen flight youll have to clear passport control and then clear US special security theater by the US departure gates. Well doable within 30 minutes givng you enough time to relax before boarding time.
30 minutes? Sometimes it takes nearly that long to unload onto the bus and get to the terminal at FRA. But I agree 90 minutes will be fine. Bus or gate is always the big variable for connection times at FRA in my opinion.
JBord is offline  
Old Oct 2, 17, 6:59 am
  #693  
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,309
I've made crazy tight connections at FRA many many times, sometimes arriving on remote pads, dumped by bus at the farthest reaches of C Concourse, then having to get to the farthest reaches of A concourse, in less than an hour. 90 minutes is an eternity. you'll be totally fine. FRA knows how to handle tight connections. Safe flying
jasondc is offline  
Old Oct 2, 17, 7:57 am
  #694  
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 383
No problem, you don't have to go through security. Protip: If the main passport control around A13 is crowded, take the elevator near gate A..19 or so to the Z level. There's a smaller, but much less crowded, passport control there.
itsMoe is offline  
Old Oct 2, 17, 8:55 am
  #695  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: CLE, DCA, and 30k feet
Programs: Honors Diamond; United 1K; Hertz PC
Posts: 2,168
Originally Posted by JBord View Post
30 minutes? Sometimes it takes nearly that long to unload onto the bus and get to the terminal at FRA. But I agree 90 minutes will be fine. Bus or gate is always the big variable for connection times at FRA in my opinion.
Bus/gate yes, but the security queue seems like it can be nearly as volatile.

Maybe I was doing something wrong but CLE-ORD-FRA-DXB and DXB-FRA-ORD-CLE last week I wound up clearing security in FRA going both directions [first INTL-INTL connections in FRA, previously had gone INTL-EU or EU-INTL]. FRA-DXB security was "grab a tray, walk through the metal detector, never really stop moving" while FRA-ORD security was worse than sitting on an LA freeway at rush hour.

Either way, though, to concur 90 minutes should be plenty.
lincolnjkc is offline  
Old Oct 2, 17, 9:11 am
  #696  
Senior Moderator, Moderator: Coronavirus, Community Buzz, and Ambassador: Miles & More (Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, and other partners)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 150km from MAN
Programs: LH SEN** HH Diamond
Posts: 27,808
Originally Posted by lincolnjkc View Post
Bus/gate yes, but the security queue seems like it can be nearly as volatile.

Maybe I was doing something wrong but CLE-ORD-FRA-DXB and DXB-FRA-ORD-CLE last week I wound up clearing security in FRA going both directions [first INTL-INTL connections in FRA, previously had gone INTL-EU or EU-INTL]. FRA-DXB security was "grab a tray, walk through the metal detector, never really stop moving" while FRA-ORD security was worse than sitting on an LA freeway at rush hour.

Either way, though, to concur 90 minutes should be plenty.
It's where you arrive from and not where you are flying to (also sometimes which gate you depart from) that determines whether you need to clear transfer security in FRA. Usually arrivals from the US do not need to clear transfer security. Arrivals from DXB always do. If arriving from the US in Z and departing from A, you do not need to clear security. If departing from B or C you usually need to clear security.

Last edited by NewbieRunner; Oct 2, 17 at 9:56 am Reason: typo
NewbieRunner is offline  
Old Oct 2, 17, 10:59 pm
  #697  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 76
I'm arriving from France transferring at FRA to SFO

Originally Posted by NewbieRunner View Post
It's where you arrive from and not where you are flying to (also sometimes which gate you depart from) that determines whether you need to clear transfer security in FRA. Usually arrivals from the US do not need to clear transfer security. Arrivals from DXB always do. If arriving from the US in Z and departing from A, you do not need to clear security. If departing from B or C you usually need to clear security.
Thanks, but I'm going in the other direction.

So what are the steps assuming I (as planned) arrive in T1 Pier A and depart T1 Pier Z?

I got on these flights due to an equipment change, so I guess I can ask for them to be changed if the connection is too tight/risky?
PsuedoEuropeanGuy is offline  
Old Oct 2, 17, 11:11 pm
  #698  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: AA EXP; AS 75K; WN A List; UA 1K 1MM; Marriott Ambassador; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 44,641
Originally Posted by PsuedoEuropeanGuy View Post
I guess I can ask for them to be changed if the connection is too tight/risky?
As others have already noted, 90 minutes at FRA is not risky. I've made several 60 minute connections in the past year or so, even with inbound delays.
Kacee is offline  
Old Oct 3, 17, 5:49 am
  #699  
Senior Moderator, Moderator: Coronavirus, Community Buzz, and Ambassador: Miles & More (Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, and other partners)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 150km from MAN
Programs: LH SEN** HH Diamond
Posts: 27,808
Originally Posted by PsuedoEuropeanGuy View Post
Thanks, but I'm going in the other direction.

So what are the steps assuming I (as planned) arrive in T1 Pier A and depart T1 Pier Z?

I got on these flights due to an equipment change, so I guess I can ask for them to be changed if the connection is too tight/risky?
Just follow the signs for Z gates which will take you through exit passport control. The main checkpoints are near gate A13 but there may be alternative routes, e.g. up the elevator near gate A17. There's no need for security other than possible random checks by the gate.
NewbieRunner is offline  
Old Jan 9, 18, 6:42 pm
  #700  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Programs: Continental
Posts: 1,383
FRA UA to LH connection

Flying on UA 58 SFO to FRA then connecting to LH 334 to NAP. Supposed to arrive 9:55, then depart 11:15. Today UA flight arrives gate A 20's and LH flight departs gate A 60's...I fly next week.
What is the quickest way to get to the departure gate? I am 1k, is there a star gold customs line that will be quicker?
hockey7711 is offline  
Old Jan 9, 18, 7:12 pm
  #701  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Programs: United GS, Marriott Ambassador Elite
Posts: 239
No special lines for 1K/*A Gold that I'm aware of, but you shouldn't have any issues connecting A to A with that much time. Between A and Z can be done as well, but you may have to scramble depending on the lines.
supergabe is offline  
Old Jan 9, 18, 7:17 pm
  #702  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K, GlobalEntry, HHonors Diamond, Hyatt Plat, Hertz Presidents Circle, Avis Presidents Club
Posts: 99
Yes, there will be a Star Gold line for ticket/passport checks...but not in actual customs. Its a bit of a walk, but should be ok. You may have to go Z<->A or vice versa.
Cybertronic is offline  
Old Jan 9, 18, 7:26 pm
  #703  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Catania, Sicily/South Jersey (PHL)/Houston, Texas/airborne in-between
Programs: United Global Svcs, AA ExecPlat, WN RR, AZ Freccia Alata+, Hilton gold, SPG/Marriot Gold, Hertz Prez
Posts: 3,196
You will not have time to lounge or hangout in my opinion. The all-passports lines at FRA have been long from what I could see on my three trips through over the last month (I have a European passport but stood next to the visitor lines).

You actually will not clear customs until NAP presuming you are on one PNR/ticket with bags checked through. You will choose the green or red channel upon exiting NAP and they could stop you to check your bags randomly there. You will do immigration for Schengen at FRA.
FlyingHoustonian is offline  
Old Jan 9, 18, 7:54 pm
  #704  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, UA Gold, WN, Global Entry; +others wherever miles/points are found
Posts: 11,330
Follow the signs, and you'll clear Schengen immigration at FRA. 1h20 doesn't leave a lot of time for wandering around, but you should be ok. There isn't a *G line for immigration but it's usually pretty quick.
findark is offline  
Old Jan 9, 18, 8:44 pm
  #705  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston
Programs: UA GS 2MM, QFF Platinum, HH Diamond, HawaiianMiles
Posts: 6,653
Common itinerary, easily done, especially if you get a real gate on arrival (vs bus gate)
kirkwoodj is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: