Transit in LHR

Old Jan 15, 20, 3:43 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Programs: UA 1K, Delta PM, AA EXP, Marriott AMB, IHG Gold
Posts: 381
Transit in LHR

I have a revenue trip to BOM with significant schedule changes because VS changed their flight times which now has my connecting flight from LHR leaving before I arrive in LHR (VS flights as DL codeshares). Called up and tried to change to fly through JFK-BOM but was told by agent (after checking with supervisor) that was not an option because VS Upper Class is a different class of service from Delta One Suites. Has any one encountered that before?
Melodsal is offline  
Old Jan 15, 20, 4:07 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Falkirk, Scotland,VS Red, BA Gold, HH Diamond,UK Amex Plat
Programs: Master of the Privy Purse des Muccis
Posts: 13,784
Originally Posted by Melodsal View Post
I have a revenue trip to BOM with significant schedule changes because VS changed their flight times which now has my connecting flight from LHR leaving before I arrive in LHR (VS flights as DL codeshares). Called up and tried to change to fly through JFK-BOM but was told by agent (after checking with supervisor) that was not an option because VS Upper Class is a different class of service from Delta One Suites. Has any one encountered that before?
Hi,

Are you sure you have posted in the right forum as this is transfers in Japan forum ( and you appear to be transferring in LHR and on VS which no longer flies to Japan)?. I have alerted the moderators so that they may move this to the correct forum.


Regards

TBS
The _Banking_Scot is online now  
Old Jan 15, 20, 4:36 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brighton. UK
Programs: BA Silver / VS /IHG Spire & Ambassador
Posts: 12,024
What is your actual question?

Schedules get changed all the time.

Are you asking how connections at LHR work or how the airline - not clear if you booked via Virgin or Delta - can help you?
UKtravelbear is offline  
Old Jan 15, 20, 4:38 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Programs: UA 1K, Delta PM, AA EXP, Marriott AMB, IHG Gold
Posts: 381
Apologies all - I rather embarrassingly posted to the wrong forum! I had meant to post this to the Delta schedule change forum can one of the mods please help me move it there? Thanks!
Melodsal is offline  
Old Jan 15, 20, 5:52 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brighton. UK
Programs: BA Silver / VS /IHG Spire & Ambassador
Posts: 12,024
Originally Posted by Melodsal View Post
Apologies all - I rather embarrassingly posted to the wrong forum! I had meant to post this to the Delta schedule change forum can one of the mods please help me move it there? Thanks!
Use he red triangle to alert the modS.

but please make your thread title and post more specific to your issue so you get specific advice related to your problem. You really issue is about a schedule change not how to connect at LHR.
UKtravelbear is offline  
Old Jan 16, 20, 2:09 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: YVR
Programs: WS Plat., AS Gold, Winner "Misanthropes to Watch" (1984)
Posts: 804
New Question

I have an itinerary next month on BA in F, MAD-LHR-YVR

MAD-LHR arrives in T5
LHR-YVR departs T3.

As an F passenger, what can I expect in terms of getting between T5 and T3? Am I on the Piccadilly line as usual or are other arrangements made for F PAX?

Thanks
Frequentlander is offline  
Old Jan 16, 20, 5:53 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brighton. UK
Programs: BA Silver / VS /IHG Spire & Ambassador
Posts: 12,024
No BA special treatment for F.

Just follow the purple flight connections route and stay airside.
The _Banking_Scot likes this.
UKtravelbear is offline  
Old Jan 18, 20, 9:18 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Krakow
Programs: BAEC Silver, Miles and More(FTL), IHG(Platinum), Accor, HHonors(Diamond), SPG, Hertz Five Star
Posts: 3,044
Originally Posted by Frequentlander View Post
New Question

I have an itinerary next month on BA in F, MAD-LHR-YVR

MAD-LHR arrives in T5
LHR-YVR departs T3.

As an F passenger, what can I expect in terms of getting between T5 and T3? Am I on the Piccadilly line as usual or are other arrangements made for F PAX?

Thanks
Assuming you are on a through ticket so your lugfage is checked through then no need to go landside and take the tube. Use the airside bus transfer.

Unlikely ba will do anything special for you
scottishpoet is offline  
Old Jan 18, 20, 10:49 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: YVR
Programs: WS Plat., AS Gold, Winner "Misanthropes to Watch" (1984)
Posts: 804
Originally Posted by scottishpoet View Post
Unlikely ba will do anything special for you
Testify!
Frequentlander is offline  
Old Jan 18, 20, 3:54 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Juneau, Alaska.
Programs: AS 75K; BA Gold
Posts: 13,255
Originally Posted by Frequentlander View Post
New Question

I have an itinerary next month on BA in F, MAD-LHR-YVR

MAD-LHR arrives in T5
LHR-YVR departs T3.

As an F passenger, what can I expect in terms of getting between T5 and T3? Am I on the Piccadilly line as usual or are other arrangements made for F PAX?

Thanks
Also see this thread in the BA forum:
A Guide to Connecting at LHR T5
jerry a. laska is offline  
Old Jan 21, 20, 6:56 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Berlin, SW Florida, and Toronto
Programs: UA 1K, Hilton Diamond, Discovery Black, and assorted others
Posts: 27,564
Originally Posted by Melodsal View Post
I have a revenue trip to BOM with significant schedule changes because VS changed their flight times which now has my connecting flight from LHR leaving before I arrive in LHR (VS flights as DL codeshares). Called up and tried to change to fly through JFK-BOM but was told by agent (after checking with supervisor) that was not an option because VS Upper Class is a different class of service from Delta One Suites. Has any one encountered that before?
If you are on one ticket then call whoever issued the ticket to sort it out with different flights. If you are on two separate tickets, you are out of luck and may have to buy a new ticket. What exactly are the details?
LondonElite is online now  
Old Jan 21, 20, 5:01 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,634
Re transit ONEWORLD to STAR at LHR.

I plan to be arriving T5 LHR from Reykjavkat 1535 on BA and departing from T2 on Lufthansa leaving at 1655.

Then I realised that there were 2 separate tickets both business class and the transfer time would be inadequate.

I doubt that there would be an airside transfer desk to check in for LH so Im guessing that I will need to go thru immigration and check in at LH.

Could you advise me the minimum time that I would need to do this?
ozflier is offline  
Old Jan 21, 20, 10:42 pm
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MEL CHC
Posts: 16,048
Originally Posted by ozflier View Post
Re transit ONEWORLD to STAR at LHR.

I plan to be arriving T5 LHR from Reykjavkat 1535 on BA and departing from T2 on Lufthansa leaving at 1655.

Then I realised that there were 2 separate tickets both business class and the transfer time would be inadequate.

I doubt that there would be an airside transfer desk to check in for LH so Im guessing that I will need to go thru immigration and check in at LH.

Could you advise me the minimum time that I would need to do this?
Will you have any checked bags? Or only carry-on?
Mwenenzi is offline  
Old Jan 23, 20, 9:33 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,634
Unfortunately a checked bag each.
ozflier is offline  
Old Jan 23, 20, 10:35 pm
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Berlin, SW Florida, and Toronto
Programs: UA 1K, Hilton Diamond, Discovery Black, and assorted others
Posts: 27,564
Originally Posted by ozflier View Post
Re transit ONEWORLD to STAR at LHR.

I plan to be arriving T5 LHR from Reykjavkat 1535 on BA and departing from T2 on Lufthansa leaving at 1655.

Then I realised that there were 2 separate tickets both business class and the transfer time would be inadequate.

I doubt that there would be an airside transfer desk to check in for LH so Im guessing that I will need to go thru immigration and check in at LH.

Could you advise me the minimum time that I would need to do this?
A sensible time frame for this is about three to four hours. Youll need to collect your luggage, make your way to T2, and check in again. If you miss your LH flights check in deadline, expect to buy a new ticket.
LondonElite is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: