ILE expired

Old Nov 30, 15, 4:16 pm
Original Poster

ILE expired

Hi guys, I have a quick question.

I hold a Nepalese passport which has Indefinite Leave to enter the UK. I came here with a Visa settlement accompanying parent about 8 years ago. My problem is due to me having some personal problems, wanted to leave the UK after I finished my studies (I graduated this year), and move back to Nepal. However, now I have changed my mind and applied for Naturalization to stay in the UK.

The main concern is because these things take about 6 months to complete and my visa and passport are due to expire next month, what does this mean for me?

I have been applying for jobs and 1 employer pointed out to me that since my passport and visa are going to expire that I may not have the right to work in the UK. Is that completely true?

If so, do I need to apply for a work permit to work in the UK while I wait for my red passport? Or is there an alternative as work permits take time as well and I need to convince my potential employers that I can sort this out as quick as possible.

Thanks,
Sankhar
Old Nov 30, 15, 5:14 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: BA Silver / VS /IHG Spire & Ambassador
I suggest you contact a properly regulated UK immigration practitioner who will be able to give you proper legal advice.
Old Dec 1, 15, 2:48 am
Original Poster

Hello

Thanks for the reply! Could you direct me to some links or phone numbers as to where I can contact one?

Thanks
Old Dec 2, 15, 2:31 pm

Programs: DL UA AS
If you have been outside the UK for less than 2 years your ILR is still valid. Carry your old passport with the ILR stamp, along with your new passport to present both to immigration.
Old Dec 2, 15, 4:08 pm

Programs: BA EC Gold
Originally Posted by Sankhar Limbu View Post
Hi guys, I have a quick question.