Wiki Posts
Search

Status Miles on Partner Airlines

Search this Thread

Old Nov 10, 2021, 9:12 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Miles and Smiles Elite, EY Silver, VS Silver
Status Miles on Partner Airlines

Hi all. Apologies if this question has been asked and answered before, but I am fairly new to Miles&Smiles as I recently status matched to Elite.

I am planning a trip US -> India and am looking at Star Alliance partners because Turkish is showing flights as not available. I found a Lufthansa fare that is premium economy on the outbound, economy on the inbound for about $150 more than the cheapest fare on a non *A carrier. I don't mind paying the extra $150 since I'll be getting premium economy and other benefits with *G status, but was wondering if you earn any status miles on M&S with partner airlines or if you just earn redeemable miles?
Old Nov 11, 2021, 2:50 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: BA Silver, TK E+, AA PP, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott LT Plat, Hilton Diamond
You have to be very, very careful with the fare classes on the partner airlines, to make sure that you can earn miles with TK. LH, Swiss and Ethiopian are notorious for having fare classes that earn nothing with partners.

You can check wheretocredit.com or the TK website.

But, yes, you would earn status miles as well as redeemable miles.
DaveS likes this.
Old Nov 11, 2021, 5:36 am

LH P class (deeply discounted business) is a good example of that. It earns 0 with TK M&S but 100% with AC Aeroplan for international flights.

So follow craigthemif good advice and make wheretocredit.com your friend
ccraigthemifraigthemif
Old Nov 11, 2021, 6:56 am
Original Poster

Programs: Miles and Smiles Elite, EY Silver, VS Silver
Thank you both. Will check to see if it is worth it!
Old Apr 19, 2022, 3:45 pm