Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Turkish Airlines | Miles&Smiles
Reload this Page >

M&S award upgrade table: does it make any sense?

Old Feb 18, 2018, 2:40 pm
Original Poster

Hi,
I am relatively new to TK's Miles&Smiles program so please bear with me. I have been reading through the numerous threads in this Forum, as well as TK's Miles&Smiles Awards website but haven't been able to make much sense of the following,
  • I have been looking at different itineraries across regions in the Upgrade table > Miles required for upgrade on Turkish Airlines flights and have noticed that the miles required for an upgrade from economy to business are the same that a Business Limited award seat would cost. (This is, assuming that the upgrade table refers to one-way flights). Why would anyone then bother buying an economy seat -and looking to upgrade later to business, when you can directly get an award Business Limited ticket directly, provided there are seats available? Are there any instances where it makes more sense to upgrade a ticket rather than just search for a Business Limited seat? Specially since J business fare seats seem to be quite limited in themselves. Which in turn leads to my next question,
  • According to the M&S Upgrade rules, In order to upgrade to the next flight class, you must hold a valid, paid Economy Class or Business Class ticket, which earns Miles and is for a confirmed reservation. In order to take advantage of this service on eligible scheduled flights, you must have a confirmed reservation and issued ticket in the fare classes given below, and a confirmed reservation for the class to which you are upgrading.