TK Narrow Body Business Class

Old Jul 17, 17, 2:35 pm
  #1  
formerly FrequentFlyKid
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Programs: United Global Services, Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador, National Executive Elite
Posts: 970
TK Narrow Body Business Class

How can I tell whether or not my TK operated flight will have true 2 x 2 business class seating or 3. x 3 with middle seat blocked business class? When I go to book on TK's website the seatmap shows three seats across and allows me to select A, E or F. It's very strange.

In The 216 is offline  
Old Jul 17, 17, 3:00 pm
  #2  
TPJ
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Programs: TK*G (E+), AA OWS (Plat Pro), EY Silver (compted), IHG Plat
Posts: 6,789
You cannot. Even when 2+2 is more consistently used on some routes vs. others change of equipment happes even on the day of departure.
TPJ is offline  
Old Jul 17, 17, 5:38 pm
  #3  
formerly FrequentFlyKid
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Programs: United Global Services, Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador, National Executive Elite
Posts: 970
Thank you for the info.

Are there any TK narrow body aircraft that only have 2 x 2 configurations?
In The 216 is offline  
Old Jul 18, 17, 4:30 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: RIX
Programs: SAS Lifetime Gold, TK*G Elite+, HHonors Diamond, Club Carslon Silver, Sixt Plat, Hertz Gold,
Posts: 1,060
Originally Posted by in the 216 View Post
thank you for the info.

Are there any tk narrow body aircraft that only have 2 x 2 configurations?
737-900 aka 739.
dabee69 is offline  
Old Jul 18, 17, 8:32 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London
Programs: *A G, OW S, ST Elite.
Posts: 868
Originally Posted by In The 216 View Post
Thank you for the info.

Are there any TK narrow body aircraft that only have 2 x 2 configurations?
The A321s that are registered TC-JM*, TC-JS* and TC-JT* have 2x2 business class - it's only the TC-JR*s that don't.
Dover2Golf is offline  
Old Jun 13, 19, 4:42 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SIN
Programs: TK-G | Accor G | Marriott P | SPG P| Hilton S
Posts: 3,745
Hi, if I can choose A321/neo and B737-900 for short haul, will that make any difference in C?

Last edited by lingua101; Jun 13, 19 at 9:38 pm
lingua101 is offline  
Old Jun 13, 19, 5:43 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: SFO, DUS
Programs: BA Gold (OW Emer), TK ELPL (*G), Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, IHG Gold
Posts: 483
Originally Posted by lingua101 View Post
Hi, if I can choose A321/neo and B787-900 for short haul, will that make any difference in C?
Do you mean 737 or indeed 787?
If you mean 737, the differences would be marginal. The A321N would have the slightly newer regional J product.
See the wiki in this thread.
SFOTraveler1984 is online now  
Old Jun 13, 19, 6:28 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Germany
Programs: TK elite+ = *gold, MarriWood Titanium + Lifetime Platinum, HH Diamond, Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 203
The Problem with TK shorthauls and "real C" / "new C" is less about which Aircraft they Show when you book the flight, but more about last minute swaps of that aircraft. I had it happen to me in December (2018), all was fine until 60 minutes before Departure (seatmaps in KVS and expertflyer) and during the last half hour I relaxed in the IST domestic lounge, they must have swaped the plane so when the bus took us there; I had the old seats….

It happened more often until 2015 + 2016 even for medium haul (Turkey to Germany / vice versa), but to me it seems that they are in the process of reconfiguring (or retireing) the older planes. I had no short/medium hauls with TK in 2017, and since then I just choose any plane that Shows A+B during booking (A+C available means old seats) and was lucky to have only that one swap mentioned above during my short/medium hauls since then (15 or 16 flights).

If you absolutely want to avoid old C, you could try getting a widebody. On many routes that are a little more busy, there will be some of the flights operated by A330 or a 777 or even the first flights of the newly introduced TK 787-900 you mentioned above, e.g. DUS-IST, FRA-IST, TXL-IST (all A330), IST-ADB (777), IST-AYT (777 / 789) and more. I assume they are less likely to switch a widebody for a narrowbody, and all their widebodys have large C seats with only 2 wide seats at the window (or even just 1 single window seat in case of 787) .

If you can score a 787, you'll get a brand new longhaul config with the latest TK seats that are just being installed right now and will be tested on some short hauls during the coming months.
zap7 is offline  
Old Jun 13, 19, 9:39 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SIN
Programs: TK-G | Accor G | Marriott P | SPG P| Hilton S
Posts: 3,745
Originally Posted by SFOTraveler1984 View Post

Do you mean 737 or indeed 787?
If you mean 737, the differences would be marginal. The A321N would have the slightly newer regional J product.
See the wiki in this thread.
Ah yeah... I mean 737-900..... ok... so if I can choose A321N, then better choose this over B737-900?
lingua101 is offline  
Old Jun 14, 19, 2:03 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: SFO, DUS
Programs: BA Gold (OW Emer), TK ELPL (*G), Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, IHG Gold
Posts: 483
Originally Posted by lingua101 View Post
Ah yeah... I mean 737-900..... ok... so if I can choose A321N, then better choose this over B737-900?
It is of course personal preference - but I would go for the A321N.
But as @zap7 mentioned, airplane swaps are frequent...
SFOTraveler1984 is online now  
Old Jun 14, 19, 2:52 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SIN
Programs: TK-G | Accor G | Marriott P | SPG P| Hilton S
Posts: 3,745
Originally Posted by SFOTraveler1984 View Post

It is of course personal preference - but I would go for the A321N.
But as @zap7 mentioned, airplane swaps are frequent...
any idea which route is served by A321N?



Does the config still exist?
321: 3-3 configuration in all the cabin, middle blocked Euro-J seats, no wifi, no AVOD, CY194, TC-JRA,B,C,D,E,F,G,H,I,J,K,L
If yes, how can I tell the different between the one with proper biz class and not?
lingua101 is offline  
Old Jun 14, 19, 2:58 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SIN
Programs: TK-G | Accor G | Marriott P | SPG P| Hilton S
Posts: 3,745
Originally Posted by zap7 View Post
If you can score a 787, you'll get a brand new longhaul config with the latest TK seats that are just being installed right now and will be tested on some short hauls during the coming months.
do you know which intra Europe route using this?
lingua101 is offline  
Old Jun 14, 19, 3:21 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: SFO, DUS
Programs: BA Gold (OW Emer), TK ELPL (*G), Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, IHG Gold
Posts: 483
AFAIK the A321N are scheduled to routes just like the other A321's. There is no route exclusively served by A321N. The fact that you see a Neo for your flight does not guarantee that you will get one.

Yes, the A321 with 3-3 business class still exist - tend to be used on shorter/domestic routes though...

787 will fly domestically to AYT and at some point to ADB for familiarization flights before taking on regular international long-haul flights (not to EU). Check the wiki in this thread
SFOTraveler1984 is online now  
Old Jun 14, 19, 4:07 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SIN
Programs: TK-G | Accor G | Marriott P | SPG P| Hilton S
Posts: 3,745
Originally Posted by SFOTraveler1984 View Post
AFAIK the A321N are scheduled to routes just like the other A321's. There is no route exclusively served by A321N. The fact that you see a Neo for your flight does not guarantee that you will get one.

Yes, the A321 with 3-3 business class still exist - tend to be used on shorter/domestic routes though...

787 will fly domestically to AYT and at some point to ADB for familiarization flights before taking on regular international long-haul flights (not to EU). Check the wiki in this thread
I was thinking to do IST-BUD. It showed asA321. I am very worry as this will turn out to be 3-3 business class........

Put aside the last minute swap, how can I tell the different which aircraft is being used? I do not want to fly biz class and end up with 3-3 plane
lingua101 is offline  
Old Jun 14, 19, 4:16 am
  #15  
Moderator, Turkish Airlines Miles&Smiles & Le Club Accorhotels
Accor 25+ Badge
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: BRU
Programs: TK*G, Le Club Accorhotels Platinum
Posts: 6,930
Originally Posted by lingua101 View Post

Put aside the last minute swap, how can I tell the different which aircraft is being used? I do not want to fly biz class and end up with 3-3 plane
If the seat map shows A-C D-F in business it is a 3-3 seat configuration.
starflyergold is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: