Wifi password at IST lounge?

Reply

Old Feb 15, 13, 10:43 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: LHR GVA HKG TLV PVG JFK
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 3,242
Wifi password at IST lounge?

Sorry for this mundane question
seaskybound is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 13, 11:26 am
  #2  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DCA or IAD (originally DUB)
Programs: UA 1K 1.8MM, Hertz PC, Marriott Platinum/Lifetime Gold
Posts: 7,659
Originally Posted by seaskybound View Post
Sorry for this mundane question
It is printed on the menus on the tables/desks ...
Or ask the concierge ...

Last edited by UAPremExecflyer; Feb 15, 13 at 11:26 am Reason: fixed grammar
UAPremExecflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 13, 12:33 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: LHR GVA HKG TLV PVG JFK
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 3,242
Wifi password at IST lounge?

I need it for outside the lounge
seaskybound is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 13, 1:58 pm
  #4  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Programs: TK Gold, M&M FTL, QR Gold, HH Diamond, PCR Platinum
Posts: 1,657
user - thy
pass - 2013thy
CAlex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 13, 2:33 am
  #5  
Moderator, Turkish Airlines Miles&Smiles & Le Club Accorhotels
Accor 10+ Badge
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: BRU
Programs: TK*G, Le Club Accorhotels Platinum
Posts: 6,428
Originally Posted by seaskybound View Post
I need it for outside the lounge
Leeching the lounge WiFi? tut tut tut

There is free WiFi in the terminal: http://www.ataturkairport.com/en-EN/...ernetWiFi.aspx
starflyergold is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 13, 2:54 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: TXL
Programs: BAEC GGL/CCR, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond, misc other stuff
Posts: 951
The right combo has already been posted.
In general a good technique to get the code is to walk up to the lounge desk (or the gates at IST) and just remember the code on the small snippets of paper spread across the check-in area. Often there's also a framed sign with the code.
Works well for lots of lounges. I won't recommend this technique and Boingo works just fine for most airports.
El_Duderito is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 13, 2:45 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: LHR GVA HKG TLV PVG JFK
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 3,242
Originally Posted by starflyergold View Post
Leeching the lounge WiFi? tut tut tut

There is free WiFi in the terminal: http://www.ataturkairport.com/en-EN/...ernetWiFi.aspx
Leeching the lounge period. TK have not yet received word from UA that I have been demoted.

Either way leeching is a FT rite of passage!
seaskybound is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 13, 8:59 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: EWR and KGL (with occasional home/work trips to NRT/ITM)
Programs: MP MM 1K, Sky Miles
Posts: 631
Originally Posted by seaskybound View Post
I need it for outside the lounge
Would wifi signal be strong enough to use Internet outside the lounge? I am not sure even the starbucks just outside the CIP lounge can pick up strong signal.
Atuchan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 13, 4:29 pm
  #9  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Programs: TK Gold, M&M FTL, QR Gold, HH Diamond, PCR Platinum
Posts: 1,657
I have seen people using it at the tables just outside, or literally sitting next to the Lounge entrance door with their Ipads...
IIRC signal works 5-10 meters outside the lounge.
CAlex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 13, 8:27 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Wifi password at IST lounge?

Works great at Starbucks two weeks ago.
SandCHouston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 14, 2:44 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bit of everywhere these days
Programs: TK Elite Plus
Posts: 92
u: thy
P: dalaman2014
Valid until 16 May 2014

Keep posting fellow FT!
potjernik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 14, 2:54 am
  #12  
formerly Wilko Pali Sedef
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: CDG
Programs: TK Elite+
Posts: 1,225
I've never managed to make the free wifi work at Ataturk which is a shame for such a big airport.
AirCanada881 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 14, 2:58 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: ARN
Programs: BAEC Gold, TK*Elite+, EBD, FBG, EKS, IHG Royal Ambassador
Posts: 768
There is free wifi at IST? When did they start with that?
johhenrik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 14, 7:43 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Programs: TK Elite+
Posts: 80
Originally Posted by johhenrik View Post
There is free wifi at IST? When did they start with that?
They are talking about the lounge password.
trello is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 14, 8:07 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 24
I tried the lounge passwords posted here when I transited through IST this past month, but they didn't work anymore. Tried to see if the password was listed anywhere around the desk too, but nothing. I later found that the Starbucks just across from the lounge offers "free WiFi". All you have to do is scan your boarding pass at this little machine they have at the counter, and it gives you a WiFi connection password. The WiFi there was slow since a lot of people were using it, but good enough to pass the time.
LP101 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread