Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Safety/Security > Trusted Travelers
Reload this Page >

Global Entry - Non-Immigrant Visa to Green Card

Global Entry - Non-Immigrant Visa to Green Card

Old Dec 10, 19, 3:24 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 20
Global Entry - Non-Immigrant Visa to Green Card

Hi,

I was approved for GE 18 months ago while on an L1A visa. I now have a green card, and assume I need to update my details with GE as the document I'm using to enter the country has changed. I can't see any way to make this change online. Can I simply show up at an enrolement center and ask for this? Are there any documents I need beyond my green card and passport? I have access to the centers at EWR and JFK.

Thanks!
Daneel is offline  
Old Dec 10, 19, 7:37 pm
  #2  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 20
One other question. If I don't get a chance to update my documents with Global Entry prior to leaving the US, on re-entry do I have to go in the normal queue, or is there any way I can use the GE route?
Daneel is offline  
Old Dec 11, 19, 7:31 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 20
I don't think my question(s) are specific to the L1A, but any transition from visa to green card. Is there anyone with experience of this would can share please?
Daneel is offline  
Old Dec 11, 19, 7:36 pm
  #4  
Moderator: Travel Safety/Security, Travel Tools, California, Los Angeles; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VNY | BUR | LAX
Programs: AAdvantage | MileagePlus
Posts: 18,300
Granted, it is a different change of status, however, perhaps this thread may be of help:
TWA884 is offline  
Old Dec 12, 19, 12:12 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 20
Originally Posted by TWA884 View Post
Granted, it is a different change of status, however, perhaps this thread may be of help:

Thanks.
Daneel is offline  
Old Dec 30, 19, 4:26 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 20
So, I went through Global Entry without any issue, despite not having update my documents. The machine took my picture, then went straight to printing my ticket. I told the officer who checked my passport and green card that the last time I entered had been on an L1, and I now had a green card, but I had yet to update my details with Global Entry. He said it didn't matter and waved me on. I'm waiting to see what my I-94 says I entered on when it updates. I'm hopeful it says green card and not L1!
Daneel is offline  
Old Jan 2, 20, 8:53 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: RDU
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by Daneel View Post
So, I went through Global Entry without any issue, despite not having update my documents. The machine took my picture, then went straight to printing my ticket. I told the officer who checked my passport and green card that the last time I entered had been on an L1, and I now had a green card, but I had yet to update my details with Global Entry. He said it didn't matter and waved me on. I'm waiting to see what my I-94 says I entered on when it updates. I'm hopeful it says green card and not L1!
You won't have an I-94 if you were admitted as a green card holder. You can still find your record under Travel history.
thanhlqgt is offline  
Old Jan 2, 20, 8:57 am
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 20
Originally Posted by thanhlqgt View Post
You won't have an I-94 if you were admitted as a green card holder. You can still find your record under Travel history.
Thanks! I was getting a bit worried with the lack of update.

So this is interesting, it seems that to answer my original question, if you are on a visa (at least an L1), and get a green card, there's nothing for you to do when it comes to updating documents for global entry.
Daneel is offline  
Old Jan 2, 20, 9:23 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: RDU
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by Daneel View Post
Thanks! I was getting a bit worried with the lack of update.

So this is interesting, it seems that to answer my original question, if you are on a visa (at least an L1), and get a green card, there's nothing for you to do when it comes to updating documents for global entry.
My guess is that your L1 is linked to your Passport and your passport is linked to your green card. If you still have the same passport, when you scan it, it will correctly pull your LPR status. Not sure how that will work if you get a new passport with a new number. I'm not sure it will work if you try to scan your green card, instead of your passport. That's just my guess but it's good to know that it works seamlessly.
thanhlqgt is offline  
Old Jan 28, 22, 5:30 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 205
A bit of a specific question, but if anyone can answer, it will be FT.

I got my GE whilst I was in the US on a visa. I have since become a LPR.

How do I go about getting the information changed to show my GC and not my visa? Iíve looked on the TTP website and canít see anything about changing it.

Appreciate itís a relatively niche situation, but Iím sure Iím not the only person who has encountered it.
thedeeg is offline  
Old Jan 28, 22, 9:05 am
  #11  
Moderator: Travel Safety/Security, Travel Tools, California, Los Angeles; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VNY | BUR | LAX
Programs: AAdvantage | MileagePlus
Posts: 18,300
Hello thedeeg,

I moved your question to the relevant thread.

TWA884
Travel Safety/Security co-moderator
thedeeg likes this.
TWA884 is offline  
Old Jan 28, 22, 10:28 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 205
Originally Posted by TWA884 View Post
Hello thedeeg,

I moved your question to the relevant thread.

TWA884
Travel Safety/Security co-moderator
Much appreciated - thank you.

It looks like this seems to take care of itself from the comments above. I guess Iíll see next time Iím out of the country.

I do find it a bit odd how little information there seems to be easily accessible on GE changes.
thedeeg is offline  
Old Feb 2, 22, 7:09 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Programs: UA Platinum, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 151
Originally Posted by thedeeg View Post
Much appreciated - thank you.

It looks like this seems to take care of itself from the comments above. I guess Iíll see next time Iím out of the country.

I do find it a bit odd how little information there seems to be easily accessible on GE changes.
I canít speak for the poster above who said it sorted itself out, but I donít believe that to be true.

I called the GE office at IAH arrivals and they told me to come into the office to get it sorted. You canít make an appointment for this kind of thing so I had to sit and wait.

fortunately it was quiet and the officer came out within 10 mins and asked if I had an appointment. I said I needed to add my Green Card and he took the card and my passport away, having written down my pass ID number. 2 mins later he returned and it was done.

When I got home I could see the Green Card in my profile on the TTP website.
thedeeg, TWA884 and ABZSimy like this.
mattg85 is offline  
Old Feb 2, 22, 7:34 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 205
Originally Posted by mattg85 View Post
I canít speak for the poster above who said it sorted itself out, but I donít believe that to be true.

I called the GE office at IAH arrivals and they told me to come into the office to get it sorted. You canít make an appointment for this kind of thing so I had to sit and wait.

fortunately it was quiet and the officer came out within 10 mins and asked if I had an appointment. I said I needed to add my Green Card and he took the card and my passport away, having written down my pass ID number. 2 mins later he returned and it was done.

When I got home I could see the Green Card in my profile on the TTP website.
Thats fantastic info - thank you.

Iíll give the CLT office a call and see if they can help me out.
thedeeg is offline  
Old Feb 2, 22, 10:42 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Orleans, LA
Programs: Air Canada Aeroplan
Posts: 7
It was quite straightforward for me to get my Green card included on my TTP profile.
However, I have not received a Global Entry Card. Does anyone know how to receive a Global Entry Card as a recent permanent resident?
huginnmuninn is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread