Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Safety/Security > Trusted Travelers
Reload this Page >

KTN Reset [from Frequent Flyer Auto Inclusion to Global Entry]

KTN Reset [from Frequent Flyer Auto Inclusion to Global Entry]

Old Dec 2, 19, 6:27 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Programs: United
Posts: 5
Question KTN Reset [from Frequent Flyer Auto Inclusion to Global Entry]

Has anyone else had TSA Pre since it originated? Both I and my wife were auto enrolled probably 12+ years ago and never required to do anything. Last 2 trips to Europe (stateside) no more PreCheck. We'll go get Global Entry next week but not sure if our original KTN will be required (seems to be expired)
Thanks for feedback
GG1273 is offline  
Old Dec 3, 19, 12:48 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Programs: AA EXP, DL Silver, Global Entry
Posts: 1,675
Originally Posted by GG1273 View Post
Has anyone else had TSA Pre since it originated? Both I and my wife were auto enrolled probably 12+ years ago and never required to do anything. Last 2 trips to Europe (stateside) no more PreCheck. We'll go get Global Entry next week but not sure if our original KTN will be required (seems to be expired)
Thanks for feedback
Bottom line up front, you do not need your PreCheck KTN. Under Global Entry you get PreCheck as an added benefit and you use your GE PassID number in your airline profiles.

A couple of points though from your post. PreCheck is actually only eight years old. Secondly, a lot of people have been getting PreCheck from the airlines as part of an airline auto-inclusion program that has in the past been extended to frequent flyers or passengers who book first/business class tickets. That has tailed off a bit and while it still happens TSA supposedly wants to do away with the practice. People often mistakenly think the airline “enrolled” them in PreCheck but they haven’t and the passenger is not officially in PreCheck. To the best of my knowledge there has never been “auto-enrollment”. A quick check in your airline profile should tell you if you actually were enrolled as your KTN is part of your profile.
TWA884 and GG1273 like this.
Randyk47 is offline  
Old Dec 3, 19, 4:26 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Programs: United
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by Randyk47 View Post
Bottom line up front, you do not need your PreCheck KTN. Under Global Entry you get PreCheck as an added benefit and you use your GE PassID number in your airline profiles.

A couple of points though from your post. PreCheck is actually only eight years old. Secondly, a lot of people have been getting PreCheck from the airlines as part of an airline auto-inclusion program that has in the past been extended to frequent flyers or passengers who book first/business class tickets. That has tailed off a bit and while it still happens TSA supposedly wants to do away with the practice. People often mistakenly think the airline “enrolled” them in PreCheck but they haven’t and the passenger is not officially in PreCheck. To the best of my knowledge there has never been “auto-enrollment”. A quick check in your airline profile should tell you if you actually were enrolled as your KTN is part of your profile.
Thanks for the information Randy - nope never got a KTN number but only use United - nothing listed on either of our United profiles either
We're going to go get the GE anyway next week at Newark (wish us luck at the airport!) to make it official going forward
GG1273 is offline  
Old Dec 3, 19, 5:15 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Programs: AA EXP, DL Silver, Global Entry
Posts: 1,675
Originally Posted by GG1273 View Post
Thanks for the information Randy - nope never got a KTN number but only use United - nothing listed on either of our United profiles either
We're going to go get the GE anyway next week at Newark (wish us luck at the airport!) to make it official going forward
You should do just fine. With a few exceptions most interviews are pretty quick and uneventful.
Randyk47 is offline  
Old Dec 4, 19, 3:33 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Programs: United
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by Randyk47 View Post
You should do just fine. With a few exceptions most interviews are pretty quick and uneventful.
Sounds great - it, though, is our Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) that requires a lot of luck
GG1273 is offline  
Old Dec 7, 19, 8:51 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Antonio
Programs: DL DM, Former AA EXP now AY Plat, NW Plat, Former CO Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 17,580
Originally Posted by GG1273 View Post
Sounds great - it, though, is our Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) that requires a lot of luck
Are you doing enrollment on arrival or do you guys have scheduled interviews? EoA takes a good bit of time, and isnt practical with tight connections.
flyerCO is offline  
Old Dec 7, 19, 4:01 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Programs: United
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by flyerCO View Post
Are you doing enrollment on arrival or do you guys have scheduled interviews? EoA takes a good bit of time, and isnt practical with tight connections.
scheduled interviews - doing some other things in the area same day - not flying same day
GG1273 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: