Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Safety/Security > Trusted Travelers
Reload this Page >

Trusted Traveler Not Receiving PreCheck [merged threads]

Trusted Traveler Not Receiving PreCheck [merged threads]

Old Dec 27, 2013, 8:46 pm
  #46  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 50,265
One way or another, OP is in some kind of limbo. He was approved for GE, but clearly is being rejected and receiving secondary questioning. And, he's not getting Pre.

I wonder whether his GE was cancelled and he wasn't notified. Or, if he was rejected for GE and some glitch caused a card to be issued.

I would recomend clearing out the TTN and going back to the DL SM which OP had in the first place.

Alternatively, since OP isn't receiving the benefits of GE or pre-check, maybe it's worth a call to CBP to figure out what's up. Worst that happens is he gets revoked. But, he's no worse off than he is now.
Often1 is offline  
Old Dec 28, 2013, 1:33 pm
  #47  
1P
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: LAX and LHR. UA lifetime Gold 1.9MM 1K , DL Gold Medallion, HHonors Gold, Marriott Gold, Avis President's Club
Posts: 3,589
Permanent resident, have had GE for 19 months. No problem using the kiosks whatsoever.

My TTN is in the airline record, but have had Pre-check only twice in all that time, both times within the past few months, and a third time when the DFW TSAs were giving it to all elites even though there was no check mark on the BP. Once my wife, who is not GE and flies much less frequently but shares my UA status, got Pre-check when I didn't. Go figure.

The whole thing is a crapshoot — no rhyme or reason to it. People who don't get it should just resign themselves to the fact that it's completely inconsistent. If your expectations are zero, you'll be pleasantly surprised when you get something.
1P is offline  
Old Jan 2, 2014, 9:06 am
  #48  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: NYC, USA
Posts: 205
Similar story here:

My wife has a green card and Global Entry, but last 2 outbound international trips, did not get TSA Pre. Her GE number is on the United profile, though both times, the agents said they did not see it on the PNR (why?). Even when they added it once, no Pre mark on BP.

For what it is worth, she had not used the GE kiosk so far (she did returning this time), wonder if there is some sort of "activation" needed?

Q re having the "same name". Is "Last, FirstMRS" same as "Last, First" ? On united for example, you can not remove the title from the primary account holder (you can for others on the profile".


All very odd...

IaLTO
IaLTO is offline  
Old Jan 7, 2014, 1:22 pm
  #49  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 19
I have both my Passport and Permanent Resident Card associated with my GE. Still I do not get a TSA Precheck.

Wish, you could just show them the GE card at Security and be allowed in the PreCheck. Ah, I keep dreaming.

Originally Posted by deep41305
I do have the correct KTN applied under my airlines profile and both times me or my wife did not get TSA Pre, whereas my daughter who is a US Citizen got TSA pre both times upon checking in.

However i applied and got approved for NEXUS today and the US Customs officer told me that my Indian passport is connected to my Global Entry card and not the Green card, so that is a possible reason we will not get TSA Pre unless we get a US Passport or link the existing Indian passport number in the DHS system to our Global Entry card. I asked him if he could change that and link it, but he mentioned that he handles only NEXUS applications.

The officer told us while approving us for Global Entry that we will not qualify for TSA Pre since we are not US Citizens and that benefit is only provided to US Citizens. I think its incorrect information as a few of my friends who are permanent residents get Tsa Pre often while traveling. I think i might have to call the Global Entry helpdesk and get this sorted out.
subodhgupta is offline  
Old Jan 8, 2014, 6:10 pm
  #50  
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New York, NY
Programs: DL - Diamond Medallion - Global Entry, Pre-check
Posts: 31
Middle name or initial?

I hear you need to have your TSA information with your airline exactly matching the name you have on your Global Entry card to be selected for PreCheck. Does anyone know if this applies to middle name as well?
eg:
I am JOHN STEPHEN DOE on my global entry.
Should it really be JOHN STEPHEN DOE in the TSA secure flight on the airline's website? Or can it work with JOHN S DOE?
Cortina Airlines is offline  
Old Jan 8, 2014, 8:23 pm
  #51  
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: IAH
Programs: UA 1K, Bonvoy Titanium, Hyatt Globalist, HH Gold
Posts: 156
Originally Posted by Cortina Airlines
I hear you need to have your TSA information with your airline exactly matching the name you have on your Global Entry card to be selected for PreCheck. Does anyone know if this applies to middle name as well?
eg:
I am JOHN STEPHEN DOE on my global entry.
Should it really be JOHN STEPHEN DOE in the TSA secure flight on the airline's website? Or can it work with JOHN S DOE?
From what I understand it must match exactly. The only thing I know can differ is when you have a suffix (Jr, Sr, III, etc)

TSA does not care about the suffix. There is a FAQ on United or AA's site that spells this out.
HawaiiDave is offline  
Old Feb 1, 2014, 8:37 am
  #52  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: NYC, USA
Posts: 205
Originally Posted by subodhgupta
I have both my Passport and Permanent Resident Card associated with my GE. Still I do not get a TSA Precheck.
Wonder if it is an airline issue? Pre was (atleast initially) only for US citizens, bu global entry (and new pre requirements) allow GC as well. is it possible that the airlines (UA in my case) is niot sending the info properly?

ialto
IaLTO is offline  
Old Feb 13, 2014, 11:39 pm
  #53  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: BOS
Programs: Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott/SPG/Hilton Gold, PreCheck + Clear
Posts: 2,306
Originally Posted by HawaiiDave
From what I understand it must match exactly. The only thing I know can differ is when you have a suffix (Jr, Sr, III, etc)
Is this something of which you have first-hand, detailed knowledge? Or just gleaned from reading reports here?

I finally got a KTN a couple of weeks ago, and I'm keen to ensure that I get Pre-Check on my upcoming flights. TSA specifically asked for my middle name when I applied, and I provided it.

But airlines commonly only ask for a middle initial when booking a ticket, and it's not as if I use my full middle name in everyday life. It seems silly that TSA would deny me Pre-Check -- even when my KTN is attached to my itinerary -- just for providing my name in the form the airline requested.

I guess I'll find out in a few days when I fly next.
RandomBaritone is offline  
Old Feb 14, 2014, 7:48 am
  #54  
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 125
Fyi, if you have an international leg in your itinerary, you will not get TSA Pre, not even for your USA domestic legs.
gpf590 is offline  
Old Feb 14, 2014, 8:05 am
  #55  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Watchlisted by the prejudiced, en route to purgatory
Programs: Just Say No to Fleecing and Blacklisting
Posts: 102,103
Originally Posted by gpf590
Fyi, if you have an international leg in your itinerary, you will not get TSA Pre, not even for your USA domestic legs.
Your post is now incorrect. It is no longer true for the onward domestic leg; and it's no longer true even for onward international legs from the US.

Saw CPH-LHR-ORD-XYZ come with PreCheck for ORD-XYZ boarding pass issued by the airline at LHR this week too. And I've seen this happen for months now on various other routes too.
GUWonder is offline  
Old Feb 15, 2014, 8:20 pm
  #56  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Programs: NEXUS/GE
Posts: 521
Originally Posted by Eric Westby
Is this something of which you have first-hand, detailed knowledge? Or just gleaned from reading reports here?

I finally got a KTN a couple of weeks ago, and I'm keen to ensure that I get Pre-Check on my upcoming flights. TSA specifically asked for my middle name when I applied, and I provided it.

But airlines commonly only ask for a middle initial when booking a ticket, and it's not as if I use my full middle name in everyday life. It seems silly that TSA would deny me Pre-Check -- even when my KTN is attached to my itinerary -- just for providing my name in the form the airline requested.

I guess I'll find out in a few days when I fly next.
Is your middle name in your Secure Flight info? That's what counts when it comes to Precheck.
dustman81 is offline  
Old Feb 15, 2014, 11:59 pm
  #57  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: BOS
Programs: Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott/SPG/Hilton Gold, PreCheck + Clear
Posts: 2,306
Originally Posted by dustman81
Is your middle name in your Secure Flight info? That's what counts when it comes to Precheck.
As I mentioned in my post, it's in my TSA profile, but until now it hasn't been in my airline profile. I've added it, but I don't think it will apply to my existing reservations. I'll find out next Wednesday when I fly.
RandomBaritone is offline  
Old Feb 21, 2014, 10:59 am
  #58  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York, NY
Programs: BAEC Gold, Delta Platinum, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold, AMEX Platinum (US)
Posts: 18,484
I'm a US Permanent Resident and have had GE for about 2yrs now. Never had TSA Pre on any of my boarding passes. Didn't show up for my AA flight tomorrow.

Called TSA to find out if there's some issue with my profile or me specifically (!). As I enrolled in GE as a US Permanent Resident with UK citizenship I am not yet eligible for TSA Pre, although they are working on having this live "later in the year".

Have been told I can enrol in GE as a UK citizen or pay the $85 for TSA Pre if I want it in the meantime. The only US based FFP I'm enrolled is in DL Skymiles and that didn't show on my flights with them a few weeks back. I keep my BAEC number in my AA flights for status benefits.
Fraser is offline  
Old Feb 21, 2014, 11:59 am
  #59  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Programs: UA Silver, Marriott LTPP, Hertz Five Star
Posts: 1,047
A couple of notes on precheck eligibility:

1) Precheck eligibility is based off of information based at time of ticketing. If your Known Traveler # is not at the source of ticketing, it won't work.
E.g. You book a US Airways flight through your corporate travel agency. The KTN is not on your corporate travel agency profile, but is on your US Airways FF#. You won't get precheck.
Also, if you add the KTN after making a reservation (even at the booking source) you will not get it unless your PNR is updated by your travel agency or the airline manually at your request.
Best practice: Save your KTN wherever you book flights.

2) PreCheck can be very picky about names. Generally the best advice is to match exactly. I changed how I had my name on my corporate profile to resemble the name on my GE card exactly and now have no issues.

Some airlines allow you to add the KTN at time of checkin, at least US Airways does for online checkin.
phltraveler is offline  
Old Feb 22, 2014, 6:28 am
  #60  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: BOS
Programs: Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott/SPG/Hilton Gold, PreCheck + Clear
Posts: 2,306
Originally Posted by dustman81
Is your middle name in your Secure Flight info? That's what counts when it comes to Precheck.
Further to my earlier reply, it turns out it wasn't necessary for me to add my middle name to my airline profile after all. I'm getting Pre-Check consistently after adding my KTN, even though all my existing reservations didn't include my middle name.

So in at least some cases, it would appear that the TSA has solved the "missing middle name" problem.
RandomBaritone is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.