Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Safety/Security > Trusted Travelers
Reload this Page >

Traveling with NEXUS without a Passport

Traveling with NEXUS without a Passport

Old Jun 27, 17, 11:10 am
  #151  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: LAS/GRU/DUB
Programs: Amex, JPMR, Nexus
Posts: 355
Originally Posted by SFO777 View Post
Just posted above. Yes, Nexus only is fine. CBP Global Entry kiosks don't recognize Nexus cards so you'd just need to go to regular lanes and present your docs and Nexus card as you would your passport. This is how it worked for me at YUL PreClearance when my passport was at some embassy for a visa.
What? CBP Global Entry kiosks at Canadian Preclearance locations ACCEPT Nexus cards together with fingerprints on file, therefore a passport should not be needed if you are a U.S. citizen (based on what the last CBP agent told me at YUL).
greglvnv is offline  
Old Jun 27, 17, 11:15 am
  #152  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: BDL, YVR, CMH
Programs: AC, WN, Nexus
Posts: 74
Originally Posted by greglvnv View Post
What? CBP Global Entry kiosks at Canadian Preclearance locations ACCEPT Nexus cards together with fingerprints on file, therefore a passport should not be needed if you are a U.S. citizen (based on what the last CBP agent told me at YUL).
Agreed. On webpage https://www.cbp.gov/travel/trusted-t...ams/nexus/card , the CBP writes:

When using the Global Entry kiosks in Canada Preclearance locations you can use your passport, U.S. Lawful Permanent Resident card or NEXUS card. You cannot use your NEXUS card at Global Entry kiosks outside of Canadian Preclearance locations. At all other ports, you will need to use your passport or U.S. Lawful Permanent Resident card.
mistermap is offline  
Old Jun 27, 17, 12:14 pm
  #153  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: NYC
Programs: AA 2MM, Bonvoy LTT
Posts: 13,753
Originally Posted by SFO777 View Post
Just posted above. Yes, Nexus only is fine. CBP Global Entry kiosks don't recognize Nexus cards so you'd just need to go to regular lanes and present your docs and Nexus card as you would your passport. This is how it worked for me at YUL PreClearance when my passport was at some embassy for a visa.
Originally Posted by SFO777 View Post
That's not true. The biggest issue will be with clueless US airline check-in or gate agents who may not even know what Nexus is. A check-in or gate agent isn't going to know or care whether you have an iris scan on file or not.

As for customs, you wouldn't be able to use the Nexus kiosks entering Canada (since they rely on iris scans), just enter in the regular lanes. CBP Global Entry kiosks don't recognize Nexus cards regardless of whether you have an iris scan on file. You'll need to go to regular lanes and present your docs and Nexus card as you would your passport. At that point, CBP agents don't care whether you have an iris scan on file.
Let's review NEXUS procedures:
  • Entering Canada by air - NEXUS kiosk requires iris scan. If no iris scan but have NO IRIS sticker, use CBSA special services. If no iris scan and do not have a NO IRIS sticker, you may be able to use CBSA special services. YMMV.
  • Entering Canada by land (no IRIS scan required) - Use NEXUS lanes if all occupants are NEXUS members. Traffic light above NEXUS lane might be lit RED but if nothing blocking the lane, it is open for NEXUS members. Some NEXUS lanes might not be staffed but there should a call button for you to ring once you pull up to the booth. CBSA will then clear you remotely via CCTV and mic/speaker.
  • Entering US by land (no IRIS scan required) - Use NEXUS lanes if all occupants are NEXUS (or Trusted Traveler) members. Only exception is AFAIK is Whirlpool Bridge which is exclusively NEXUS ONLY; no other Trusted Travelers. NEXUS card members can also use Ready lane.
  • Entering US by air via Canada Preclearance (no IRIS scan required but fingerprint must be on file) - NEXUS card or passport will work on CBP kiosks. Nothing different with YUL.
  • Entering US by air not via Canada Preclearance (no IRIS scan required but fingerprint must be on file) - Officially CBP GE kiosk at non-Canadian Preclearance locations will require passport but there have been reports they also recognize NEXUS card. Proceed at your own risk if using NEXUS. Not recommended.
seawolf is offline  
Old Jun 27, 17, 1:48 pm
  #154  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SFO
Programs: COdbaUA Platinum 2MM
Posts: 5,294
Originally Posted by mistermap View Post
Agreed. On webpage https://www.cbp.gov/travel/trusted-t...ams/nexus/card , the CBP writes:

When using the Global Entry kiosks in Canada Preclearance locations you can use your passport, U.S. Lawful Permanent Resident card or NEXUS card. You cannot use your NEXUS card at Global Entry kiosks outside of Canadian Preclearance locations. At all other ports, you will need to use your passport or U.S. Lawful Permanent Resident card.
I used my NEXUS card at a Global Entry kiosk in YVR less than two weeks ago. It would not read my NEXUS card. I had to use my U.S. Passport.
1KChinito is online now  
Old Jun 27, 17, 4:12 pm
  #155  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MYF/CMA/SAN/YYZ/YKF
Programs: COdbaUA 1K MM, AA EXP, Bonbon Gold, Omni Black, Hertz PC, NEXUS and GE
Posts: 5,690
Originally Posted by SFO777 View Post
That's not true. The biggest issue will be with clueless US airline check-in or gate agents who may not even know what Nexus is. A check-in or gate agent isn't going to know or care whether you have an iris scan on file or not.

As for customs, you wouldn't be able to use the Nexus kiosks entering Canada (since they rely on iris scans), just enter in the regular lanes. CBP Global Entry kiosks don't recognize Nexus cards regardless of whether you have an iris scan on file. You'll need to go to regular lanes and present your docs and Nexus card as you would your passport. At that point, CBP agents don't care whether you have an iris scan on file.
That isn't true. GE kiosks DO read NEXUS cards at all preclearance airports. In fact, I have successfully used it at US-based GE kiosks on flights from Canada (which I believe is how they are supposed to work).

Originally Posted by 1KChinito View Post
I used my NEXUS card at a Global Entry kiosk in YVR less than two weeks ago. It would not read my NEXUS card. I had to use my U.S. Passport.
Did it give you an error, or did it just not read it? Cause I always use my NEXUS card at Canadian airports, and fly through them nearly weekly.

If it wasn't reading it, try turning it upside down (top of your head on your photo toward you). It reads better that way.
N1120A is offline  
Old Jun 27, 17, 4:22 pm
  #156  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SFO
Programs: COdbaUA Platinum 2MM
Posts: 5,294
Originally Posted by N1120A View Post
That isn't true. GE kiosks DO read NEXUS cards at all preclearance airports. In fact, I have successfully used it at US-based GE kiosks on flights from Canada (which I believe is how they are supposed to work).



Did it give you an error, or did it just not read it? Cause I always use my NEXUS card at Canadian airports, and fly through them nearly weekly.

If it wasn't reading it, try turning it upside down (top of your head on your photo toward you). It reads better that way.
It did not read, not an error message. Next time I will turn it upside down and see.
1KChinito is online now  
Old Jun 27, 17, 5:45 pm
  #157  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Programs: BA Gold (OWE), Star Alliance Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 2,185
Originally Posted by 1KChinito View Post
It did not read, not an error message. Next time I will turn it upside down and see.
You can also manually type in the nexus card details.
reclusive46 is offline  
Old Jun 27, 17, 7:46 pm
  #158  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SFO
Programs: COdbaUA Platinum 2MM
Posts: 5,294
Originally Posted by reclusive46 View Post
You can also manually type in the nexus card details.
Thank you for your suggestion. I shall try it next time, if necessary.
1KChinito is online now  
Old Jun 27, 17, 10:24 pm
  #159  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MYF/CMA/SAN/YYZ/YKF
Programs: COdbaUA 1K MM, AA EXP, Bonbon Gold, Omni Black, Hertz PC, NEXUS and GE
Posts: 5,690
Originally Posted by 1KChinito View Post
It did not read, not an error message. Next time I will turn it upside down and see.
Yeah, it can be hard to get it to read. I use it all the time, as I don't like pulling out my passport, after already having pulled out my NEXUS for security. I've always found turning it over works better.
N1120A is offline  
Old Jun 28, 17, 6:35 am
  #160  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: NYC
Programs: AA 2MM, Bonvoy LTT
Posts: 13,753
The photo on the NEXUS card should be facing up when using at CBP kiosks so that the machine readable zone is facing down towards the scanner.
seawolf is offline  
Old Jun 28, 17, 9:37 am
  #161  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SFO
Programs: COdbaUA Platinum 2MM
Posts: 5,294
Originally Posted by seawolf View Post
The photo on the NEXUS card should be facing up when using at CBP kiosks so that the machine readable zone is facing down towards the scanner.
That was what I did. Next time if it still does not work, I will make sure face picture is closer to me.
1KChinito is online now  
Old Jul 23, 17, 4:26 am
  #162  
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Canada
Programs: National EE, Enterprise Platinum, Hertz President's Circle, NEXUS
Posts: 106
Originally Posted by surreycrv View Post
Are the words that govern, but everyone in a trusted traveler program knows the rules of the elevated status benefits of the program, they tell you at the interview how important they are.

Basic program reg's
1: You must have a travel document to apply for the program
2 :You must inform the agency of any changes to that/those underlying travel documents.
3: A violation of #2 can cause the benefits to be rescinded.


<deleted>. I got my nexus card without having a valid US or Canadian Passport. All I gave was my proof of citizenship.

Last edited by TWA884; Jul 23, 17 at 6:59 pm Reason: Unnecessary
manohman is offline  
Old Jul 23, 17, 7:04 pm
  #163  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: LAS/GRU/DUB
Programs: Amex, JPMR, Nexus
Posts: 355
Originally Posted by manohman View Post
<deleted>. I got my nexus card without having a valid US or Canadian Passport. All I gave was my proof of citizenship.
<deleted>
What was your proof of citizenship?
You don't need a passport if you drive between the two countries.

Last edited by TWA884; Jul 23, 17 at 9:03 pm Reason: Reference to a deleted comment
greglvnv is offline  
Old Jul 24, 17, 3:38 am
  #164  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Programs: GE
Posts: 246
I believe manohman is correct and CBSA does not require Canadian citizens to obtain a passport to enroll in NEXUS, but only to present proof of citizenship and identity (such as birth certificate+driver's license)

I'm not sure about US Citizens in NEXUS. CBP is rather vague. Perhaps due to the legal requirements of US citizens to have a passport or passport card for international travel, they can't officially endorse enrolling someone in NEXUS without one of those documents.

LPR's of both countries may have other requirements.

Global Entry by itself does require valid passport, as the basis of the program is fast entry by GE kiosk in US airports using passport.
bbtrvl is offline  
Old Jul 24, 17, 4:59 am
  #165  
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: SEA, or BOS, or other places. What day is it?
Programs: DL DM/1MM, NEXUS/GE, CLEAR, Bonvoy Platinum, Hilton Gold
Posts: 1,179
Originally Posted by bbtrvl View Post
I'm not sure about US Citizens in NEXUS. CBP is rather vague. Perhaps due to the legal requirements of US citizens to have a passport or passport card for international travel, they can't officially endorse enrolling someone in NEXUS without one of those documents.
https://www.dhs.gov/trusted-traveler-comparison-chart is very clear; the "Passport Required" row says "No" for NEXUS and SENTRI. The interactive program selector tool also offers NEXUS if you explicitly say you don't have a passport, but removes Global Entry from the list.
CKDGM is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread