Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Safety/Security > Trusted Travelers
Reload this Page >

Caught with undeclared goods/food/fruit. Will Global Entry/NEXUS be revoked?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 17, 2011, 4:16 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AC Aeroplan, CO OnePass, HHonors, SPG

Crossing US customs at YYZ today I was fined $300 and forfeiture of my Nexus pass!

After attending a conference, I was provided a bag lunch for the trip home. I slept during the 2 hour ride from the conference resort to the airport. I was groggy from the sleep and it slipped my mind that I should have checked the contents of the lunch bag. Crossing the border is second nature to me as I have been doing this on a weekly basis for the last 11 years. When I approached the customs person with the lunch bag in hand, and he asked me of the contents, I knew I was in trouble.

To make a long story short, a single apple in the bagged lunch resulted in the $300 fine and loss of the Nexus pass. I admit I'm totally at fault but I never fathomed that the penalties would be so harsh. The monetary fine is not a big deal but the loss of the Nexus pass is a huge inconvenience as I cross the border on a weekly basis.

Have others found the US customs to be so rigid in applicaton of the rules?
Old Jun 17, 2011, 4:22 pm

Yes, almost every time I take a bus across the US border, the driver gives dire warnings about fruit being found.

For example, if you have 8 cherries, that's a $2400 fine.

Lucky you didn't have cherries or blueberries, I suppose.
Old Jun 17, 2011, 5:59 pm

Programs: SSSSS