Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Safety/Security > Trusted Travelers
Reload this Page >

Global Entry Procedures and Timelines of Applications and Renewals for UK Citizens

Old Feb 22, 22, 4:15 pm
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: TWA884
Print Wikipost

Global Entry Procedures and Timelines of Applications and Renewals for UK Citizens

Old Sep 7, 16, 6:39 am
  #1531  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Watchlisted by the prejudiced, en route to purgatory
Programs: Just Say No to Fleecing and Blacklisting
Posts: 101,114
Originally Posted by KARFA
I don't think the KTN itself shows on my AA bps, but they certainly have "TSA pre-check" printed on them.
TSA PreCheck does indeed normally show up printed on the boarding passes for eligible passengers on eligible carriers. The KTN itself doesn't normally show up printed on the boarding passes.

If the KTN is printed in plain text on the boarding pass, it's a sign that something went wrong -- as in someone used the KTN as if it were a frequent flyer account number.
GUWonder is offline  
Old Sep 7, 16, 4:01 pm
  #1532  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Programs: GE
Posts: 247
I flew AA last month and no KTN on my BP, just the usual PreCheck text.
bbtrvl is offline  
Old Sep 7, 16, 5:58 pm
  #1533  
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 875
KTN didn't show up on my boarding pass although the words precheck or the little precheck tick logo showed up on the paper boarding passes. In addition, they appeared on the mobile boarding passes. This has been consistent across all my domestic flights in the US since getting Global Entry, including flights with both United and with AA this weekend (the latter being a reward booking on AA using BA Avios).

It is also interesting that the precheck logo also appears on AA boarding passes with departing from DUB. I thought that was odd as there is no precheck benefit there, but it still appeared nonetheless. Presumably just an error perhaps relating to DUB having preclearance.

Also, my wife has Global Entry and we used her precheck benefit this weekend. This is despite her name with Global Entry/TSA precheck being in her old name. We hadn't expected to use it given she has changed her name since getting married but the boarding pass still showed 'precheck' when we printed it out. We went through without issue even though her passport shows her new name (which fyi matched her boarding pass). Perhaps, it is because her surname is a hyphenation of her old surname and her new surname. Either way, we'll head to a Global Entry enrollment centre at some point before her next flights in order to get the surname updated.

Simon.
Simon Schus is offline  
Old Sep 7, 16, 9:27 pm
  #1534  
Moderator: Travel Safety/Security, Travel Tools, California, Los Angeles; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VNY | BUR | LAX
Programs: AAdvantage | MileagePlus
Posts: 18,755
Originally Posted by Simon Schus
It is also interesting that the precheck logo also appears on AA boarding passes with departing from DUB. I thought that was odd as there is no precheck benefit there, but it still appeared nonetheless. Presumably just an error perhaps relating to DUB having preclearance.
I've had the PreCheck logo on boarding passes for AA flights departing from GDL, LHR and MAD.
TWA884 is offline  
Old Sep 7, 16, 9:31 pm
  #1535  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: TPA/ABZ
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold. GGL/CCR.
Posts: 12,147
Originally Posted by Simon Schus
It is also interesting that the precheck logo also appears on AA boarding passes with departing from DUB. I thought that was odd as there is no precheck benefit there, but it still appeared nonetheless. Presumably just an error perhaps relating to DUB having preclearance.
Originally Posted by TWA884
I've had the PreCheck logo on boarding passes for AA flights departing from GDL, LHR and MAD.
From the TSA Pre FAQ here:

https://www.tsa.gov/precheck/faq

If TSA Pre✓ is not available at my airport, why was it printed on my boarding pass?
Travelers are vetted for TSA Pre✓ every time they fly. TSA and airlines do not limit printing of the TSA Pre✓ indicator to the participating airports.
golfmad is online now  
Old Sep 8, 16, 12:51 am
  #1536  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 270
Originally Posted by typical
Many thanks - you're right it doesn't look good! Will stick to my scheduled appointment!
AlisonB84 is offline  
Old Sep 8, 16, 8:59 am
  #1537  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Programs: BA Gold (OWE), Star Alliance Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 2,194
Originally Posted by golfmad
From the TSA Pre FAQ here:

https://www.tsa.gov/precheck/faq

If TSA Pre✓ is not available at my airport, why was it printed on my boarding pass?
Travelers are vetted for TSA Pre✓ every time they fly. TSA and airlines do not limit printing of the TSA Pre✓ indicator to the participating airports.
It only seems to be US airlines that do it for airports outside the US. WestJet and Air Canada will usually only show the TSA pre check logo on the return flight to Canada.
reclusive46 is offline  
Old Sep 9, 16, 3:17 pm
  #1538  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 270
Sorry - latest question. I'm scheduled for an appointment at Boston (Logan airport) on a Sunday morning in November. I was really surprised to see the whole weekend pretty much open but grabbed appointments for myself and OH anyway. Now I can see that it looks like all weekends are blocked out (not showing as booked but actually completely blocked) and on the GOES info page it says Boston is only open Monday to Friday. Our letters definitely confirm the appointments on that date - can anyone offer assurance that that the office will be open? Don't really want to turn up to find its shut!
AlisonB84 is offline  
Old Sep 9, 16, 6:10 pm
  #1539  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London
Programs: ITA Executive, Sixt Diamond, Hertz PC, Avis PC, IHG Diamond Ambassador
Posts: 5,085
Originally Posted by AlisonB84
Sorry - latest question. I'm scheduled for an appointment at Boston (Logan airport) on a Sunday morning in November. I was really surprised to see the whole weekend pretty much open but grabbed appointments for myself and OH anyway. Now I can see that it looks like all weekends are blocked out (not showing as booked but actually completely blocked) and on the GOES info page it says Boston is only open Monday to Friday. Our letters definitely confirm the appointments on that date - can anyone offer assurance that that the office will be open? Don't really want to turn up to find its shut!


There should be a number for the office on your letter - give them a call.
jms_uk is online now  
Old Sep 10, 16, 2:43 pm
  #1540  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 270
Just managed to reschedule to London - so no problem with Boston being open or closed on a Sunday!
AlisonB84 is offline  
Old Sep 30, 16, 3:27 pm
  #1541  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 354
Sorry for a probably stupid question!

Bit confused by the "admissibility documents" section of the GOES online application. Do I just select my UK passport details from the dropdown that I'd already entered on the previous screen (citizenship information). Or does it mean something else (US visa details etc?)
Nikko5 is offline  
Old Sep 30, 16, 3:41 pm
  #1542  
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 875
Originally Posted by AlisonB84
Sorry - latest question. I'm scheduled for an appointment at Boston (Logan airport) on a Sunday morning in November. I was really surprised to see the whole weekend pretty much open but grabbed appointments for myself and OH anyway. Now I can see that it looks like all weekends are blocked out (not showing as booked but actually completely blocked) and on the GOES info page it says Boston is only open Monday to Friday. Our letters definitely confirm the appointments on that date - can anyone offer assurance that that the office will be open? Don't really want to turn up to find its shut!
You can give them a call (if they ever answer). It was open for my wife's interview when we turned upon on a random Saturday in February.

Note, back in February there was nowhere at the Global Entry office at BOS to 'check in' for your interview. You just arrived in the corridor where the office is located, walk up to the door, realise it is locked and you can't get in, realise that there is no way to signal that you're outside, sit down outside of the office on the seats opposite the door and eventually somebody will come out with a list of names scheduled for that hour and they confirm if your name is on the list. They'd then just bring you in one-by-one for your enrolment interview.

Comparatively, the JFK experience was better as you could go into the office, write your name down on a list, and go sit in a waiting room There is more certainty at JFK that you're in the right place unless in BOS. We were the only people waiting so we weren't sure in BOS and I was comparing it to my JFK experience where it was a lot more obvious that I was in the right place (also, we were the only people waiting hence why my wife was allowed to 'walk-in' - there was no queue and seemingly there had been several no-shows that day. It was snowy).

I'm probably going to pop back to BOS Global Entry in a few weeks to have them update some information for me that they can't do on the phone and I can't do online. At least this time I know that I'll be in the right place!
Simon Schus is offline  
Old Sep 30, 16, 3:45 pm
  #1543  
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: 1 thousand
Posts: 2,110
Originally Posted by Nikko5
Sorry for a probably stupid question!

Bit confused by the "admissibility documents" section of the GOES online application. Do I just select my UK passport details from the dropdown that I'd already entered on the previous screen (citizenship information). Or does it mean something else (US visa details etc?)
I'm not 100% certain, but I think I remember selecting both my passport AND entering a Visa at this point (if you travel only on ESTA's you'll only need the passport here).

If I look at my GOES profile I see both the passport and my Visa in the "Admissibility Documents" section, which seems to suggest my memory is correct.
televisor is offline  
Old Sep 30, 16, 3:50 pm
  #1544  
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 875
Originally Posted by Nikko5
Sorry for a probably stupid question!

Bit confused by the "admissibility documents" section of the GOES online application. Do I just select my UK passport details from the dropdown that I'd already entered on the previous screen (citizenship information). Or does it mean something else (US visa details etc?)
I checked my original application as I needed to go into GOES anyway.

If you're on the Visa-waver program (i.e. an ESTA) as I was at the time I applied in November 2015, then you'd just put your passport details. This is what I did and it was fine If there was a problem then I'm sure that the person at the Global Entry interview would have fixed it but I don't remember that happening.

If you're entering on a Visa then you'd put your visa number (though checking whether your specific visa is eligible for entry... some aren't as per the Global Entry website)

If you're entering on a Green card (which I'm trying to update my admissibility documents to reflect), then you'd use the numbers from that document, presumably your Alien number and the Green card number.

If you're entering on another document (e.g. an 'Advance Parole' document) then I'm under the impression that those documents aren't eligible for Global Entry.

Hope that helps!
Simon Schus is offline  
Old Sep 30, 16, 3:51 pm
  #1545  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 354
Thanks for the quick reply - I travel on ESTA not a visa, so will just enter passport details here as per the previous screen...
Nikko5 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread