Search

Diary of a French man who lives in Myanmar

Search this Thread

Old Aug 15, 2019, 1:18 am
Original Poster

Programs: no
Diary of a French man who lives in Myanmar

Introduction

A little bit of introduction about myself. After I finished high-school I studied one year in China. Then I worked 5 months in Accra, Ghana, in West Africa. Since February 2019 I am working for a company in Yangon Myanmar. Here, do not except to see reports of ultra-luxury hotel and premium cabin (unless you consider upper class train in Myanmar “premium cabin”). I like to discover how a society is working. For example, what is the importance of the religions and the ethnics group? Do adults still live in the same apartment with their parents? Are the Burmese of Indians origin culturally closer to Myanmar or to India? Why is there so many wild dogs in the street?

15 August 2019

Today is 6 months minus 10 days that I am living in Yangon, biggest city but not capital of Myanmar. Yangon is the most underrated tourism destination in Myanmar: most of the visitors will only see the Schwedagon Pagodas, missing all the colonial architecture heritage that shapes this city. Even living here for 6 months, I still discover new secrets every day. For example, did you know that the last king of Myanmar, Thibaw, was exiled by the British in India where he is still buried today? And that the last Mughal emperor, Bahadur Shah Zafar, was exiled by the same British in Myanmar, where he is still buried today? So I am going to visit the tomb of the last “Emperor of India” in Yangon. Despite its symbolic importance, the place is hardly visited: at 10 am, I am the only tourist. Nothing is really old, most of the building is done of false marble and plastic, but despite this, I really feel in the heart of the Raj History.

On the way back to my home, more historic houses. This one has a lot of greenery.

This one looks straight out of Italian Renaissance.