Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Community > Trip Reports
Reload this Page >

Is Hotel Plane Spotting a thing? I flew TK to IST to try out.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 10, 2019, 11:46 pm
Original Poster

Hello everyone,

What is your favourite hotel for plane spotting? All suggestions welcome, as this is somehow turning into my new interest. To debunk why I am asking, keep on reading. In this trip report I will write about a rather spontaneous trip to Istanbul and about 2 plane spotting locations I visited.

Note: The locations are for Ataturk Airport, not the new one. However, Ataturk still handles cargo traffic so might be still relevant. You are also welcome to check my video report.

In December of 2018 I decided to fly down to Istanbul for a plane spotting weekend. I am not a pro spotter, I prefer editing airline trip reports, but as I was scrolling through Instagram, I saw some pretty nice shots of Istanbul Ataturk take offs. As I found out they were taken from a mall terrace called Fly Inn Shopping Mall. I though as the airport would close soon anyway, it would be a good reason to check it out one last time, before this part of history is gone.