Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Community > Trip Reports
Reload this Page >

Mom Trip to Europe Pt. 1 -- Delta Economy: Seattle to Amsterdam -- Airbus A330

Old Feb 15, 19, 11:10 am
Original Poster
Hilton Contributor Badge

I am in the process of starting a travel blog Happy Wallet Adventures, where we focus on how to live your travel dreams on the cheap. On our most recent trip our wife and I took our mothers to Europe. Her mom always wanted to travel but as a single mother she was never able to afford it. So we figured it would be a great gift to use some of my points bank to take her to Europe.

Our trip starts in Seattle and Makes it way to Colmar, France; Berlin, Germany; and Copenhagen, Demark. I figured you all may be interested in a review of the flights. So I plan on posting them all here.

As I am new to blogging, or writing trip reports in general I would love any feedback you could provide! I will only be posting the flight reports on here, if you are interested in what we did, where we stayed, and where we ate. Please visit my the trip report page which will be updated as I go along.

Date: February 4, 2018
Flight: DL 142
Route: SEA to AMS
Class: Main Cabin
Equipment. Airbus 330-323

Delta Economy Seattle to Amsterdam: Disaster Averted

Our Europe trip with our Mom's started on the Monday after the superbowl. We flew in Delta Economy on an Airbus 330-323 from Seattle and continued on to Basel, Switzerland on a KLM Cityhopper flight. We booked these flights utilizing our existing bank of Delta skymiles. My wife and I both signed up for the Delta Gold AMEX during a 60,000 mile sign up bonus period, so both of us had a relatively large bank of miles. Seems relatively straight forward so far right? Well we narrowly missed a disaster, because of a bit of ignorance on our end.

Getting to the Airport