10 States, 4 Trips, 3 flights, one hailstorm and a little sightseeing

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 2, 2018, 4:19 am
Original Poster

Programs: Southwest Rapid Rewards; AAdvantage; Alaska Mileage Plan; Wyndham Rewards; Choice Hotels

Tour of Duty 11th May 2018 to 26th May 2018

After I returned home from my previous Tour of duty I was home three days. While home I did something I never did before. I turned up at a meeting of the Traffic Commission in the city I am a resident of in southern California. I learned there was opposition to recent restrictions on left turns into and out of a local shopping centre and I turned up to voice my support of the recent changes. I got word of a trip from New Philadelphia, Ohio to the vicinity of Jacksonville, Florida and I looked into air tickets and found an direct flight on WN from LAX to CLE with a stop in MKE for a very reasonable price of 178$. I chose to use Early Bird Check In for an additional 15$ to secure a better boarding position. However I got B5 with EBCI so I figured the flight would be full at least for the first segment.

Friday the 11th of May came and I got ready and got transport to LAX. Traffic was heavy and I checked in and checked my bags which weighed 43.5 and 42.5lbs. I'm glad I had TSA Precheck on my Boarding Pass so I was able to clear security pretty quickly and I did not need to opt out and be patted down. As it turned out the plane was late arriving from PHX.

Southwest #120 LAX-MKE B-737-700 Boarding Pass B5 Early Bird Check In
Seat 22F Cruising altitude not announced Estimated flying time 3:32, actual 3:22
Depart: Gate 17B Scheduled 10h05, actual 11h22 Taxi/hold: 12 minutes
Arrive: Gate C18 Scheduled 16h10, actual 17h00 Taxi: 4 minutes