Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Community > Trip Reports
Reload this Page >

Austin, TX via UA/AA Basic (oh no!) Y

Old Jan 21, 2018, 5:10 pm
Original Poster

Hello everyone and welcome to my third trip report. You may remember me from my other trip reports:
[FIXED] A Birthday Trip to Remember: Calgary via AC/AA in Y/Y+
A 5-Day Cali Jaunt via WN Y
Flying Solo: A Broke College Student Takes the UAE via DL/KL/AF Y

If not, welcome! My name is Jeremy and I’m a freshman at Arizona State University.

Introduction

As is usual for my flights, this one started during a boring class where I found myself staring at the clock…and then cheap flight deals. I discovered $78 round trip flights from Phoenix to Austin in a combination of UA/AA. I let it sit, and asked my parents if they’d like to join. My dad obliged and we bought tickets for $91 RT each for MLK Day weekend, which seemed to have many several good deals this year.

Let’s go!

In this trip report:
I. UA1774 PHX – DEN via Boeing 737-800 in Y
II. UA422 DEN – AUS via Boeing 737-900ER (my first!) in Y
III. Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
IV. Austin Highlights
V. AA497 AUS – PHX via Airbus A320 in Y

I woke up bleary eyed at the ridiculous hour of 4:00AM (YIKES) and showered and finished packing my personal item—the only luggage we can bring on the plane with a Basic fare. We arrived at the airport Terminal 2 Park and Walk lot (which charges only $7 per day, what a steal).

We stepped into the precheck line (which I have by global entry, and my dad fortunately had by luck) and were through within a minute. We made our way down to the end of the concourse where the Alaska flights board out of and there is typically loads of extra space

We had the fortunate treat of being able to see an entire Alaska Airlines 737-900ER load in just 15 minutes, which was incredible. If only other airlines were capable of that…