Garuda Indonesia PVG-CGK, Feast In The Air

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 9, 2017, 2:09 am
Original Poster

Programs: GarudaMiles (most active), Asia Miles (most active), Kris Flyer, Flying Blue, Royal Orchid Plus

This report covers my flight back from Shanghai to Jakarta during business trip last February. I decided to try Garuda Indonesia business class since this is my first time trying their business class product in medium-haul flight after several trips in C class only for their domestic short-haul/regional South East Asia routes.

It was to me a tremendous and solid business class product, and I could tell that this is probably one of the best products out there. The report will tell the detail.

At Shanghai Pudong Airport
I quickly found the check-in desk location for GA flight and managed to take some sneak peaks of its Sky Priority check-in lane. When I checked-in, there was a long queue at economy class and only a handful in business class. But apparently during the flight, I found out that the load in business class was around 80% which was very good.

As complimentary for C class passengers, the agent handed over lounge invitation besides boarding pass. Garuda uses Lounge #69.

He also handed me a Fast Track card that can be used in Jakarta airport. This is very useful for me to save time during immigration check at CGK which is quite famous for its long queues during peak hours in the early morning or at night. Sadly though, Garuda is known to offer Immigration On Board service few years back. But now, they have axed that service so even for business class passengers, they have to clear immigration at airport counter.

This is how the Fast Track card looks like.

And my boarding pass.

I walked pass immigration check, custom, and security screening to head to Lounge 69.