Weekend trip to Kiev with a detour to Chernobyl

Old Oct 24, 13, 9:14 am
Moderator, Hertz
Original Poster
Hilton Contributor BadgeHyatt Contributor Badge 2019 FlyerTalk Awards

Programs: UA 1MM, BA GGL, Hyatt Glob, Hilton Diamond and others

Below is my trip report for my weekend getaway to Kiev with a detour to Chernobyl.
If anyone would like to see my photos from my trip, the photo album can be found here.

Please leave comments. I rarely do trip reports so I am still new at these.

Thanks for reading my TR!

Table of Contents:
Flight to Kiev and the IC Hotel
Friday Walking Tour
Saturday trip to Chernobyl
Sunday Walking Tour and Shopping
Monday Flight and Final Thoughts

Last edited by jason8612; Oct 25, 13 at 3:52 pm
Old Oct 24, 13, 9:16 am
Moderator, Hertz
Original Poster

Back when the last Point Breaks list came out, the IC Kiev was on it. Since I've never been to Kiev I figured why not. So I went ahead and booked a stay Friday to Monday in October. I started then to look for airline tickets, but for some reason Krakow is a very expensive airport to fly out of. Tickets were going well over $500 which would defeat the purpose for a weekend getaway. I started looking into some LCC options and found a nice flight out of KTW (Katowice) into Kiev. Tickets were going for well under $200 on Wizz Air and that included a checked bag and a large carry-on. I never flew on a LCC in Europe so I didn't know what to expect.

Well, some time past and it was time for my flight to Kiev. I got my bag packed and drove the 1hr+ to KTW. Parked the car at a off-site parking, and headed to the gate. I purchased the extra legroom which included priority boarding (figuring that it was a few extra $) so I was able to board first and take my seat in the exit row.

The legroom photo

Looks like I had plenty of space

Approaching Kiev