FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Trip Reports (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/trip-reports-177/)
-   -   US Airways in Rain, Sun and Snow (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/trip-reports/1274389-us-airways-rain-sun-snow.html)

bwiadca Oct 30, 2011 12:00 pm

US Airways in Rain, Sun and Snow

This is my first attempt to write TR. Yesterday I did MR on US Airways at 4cpm. Sorry no pictures. After my first leg I wasn't able to take any pictures :)

The night before I just charged my iPad and iPod, checked-in for my flights and called Yellow Cab to pick me up at 4:40am for 15 minutes ride to DCA. I set my alarm clock for 3:30am and went to bed around midnight. When alarm finally woke me up I saw that it was 4:20am already. I hit the snooze button and went to sleep. When I realized that I overslept I started to panic.
In 20 minutes I had my coffee, smoked 2 cigarettes, shaved, brushed my teeth and took the shower. My driver called me at 4:40am to let me know that he'll be there in 3 minutes. Apparently he got lost which worked out in the end.
The weather was nasty and the driver took the longest possible way to get to the airport. I arrived at terminal C around 5am and went to US Airways check-in counter to print my boarding passes.
After that I proceeded to almost empty security check point.

DCA-PHL
US Airways A319
N745VJ painted in Allegheny Airlines retro colors.
Seat 2A.
Flight time: 28 minutes

I've opted to fly this early to PHL to avoid Air Wisconsin CRJ and my least favorite terminal F in Philly.
Boarding started at 5:30am and they closed the door at 5:45. Pre flight drinks were served, and after departure orders were collected. Pilots announced that we might have to go for the deicing before we take off.
Thankfully we didn't have to and proceeded to runway 1 for 6am departure.