Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Community > Trip Reports
Reload this Page >

From CPT to YYZ, NYC (or not?) and DUB - A Honeymoon TR in *A J (w pics)

Old Mar 24, 11, 12:47 am
Original Poster

Programs: Voyager

Before you read this trip report:

I am by no means a professional photographer (or even close), nor does my equipment reflect that level, although I did try my best!

There are very few pics of the inside of the aircraft (and none of the food). This is one of my developmental areas, I guess!

I use miles and fahrenheit for ease of reading.

English is not my first language, so I am trying my best!

Apart from that, enjoy and feel free to share your thoughts!

Introduction and Background

As Julie Andrews very aptly put it, "Let's start at the very beginning, a very good place to start..."

My partner and I have both lived in South Africa our whole lives. (My longest stint out of the country was 2 years in LON and 5 months in AMS respectively, while he has never spent more than 10 days outside SA)

We knew that we wanted to get married from (pretty much) day one. Enough of the soppy stuff. This honeymoon was one of those that we planned together, although I gave him the option of where to go. When you look at the first few pictures you will see what December typically looks like. Our Christmases are usually spent lounging around a swimming pool or the beach and turkey is replaced with cold meats and salad, as a Christmas with weather of 110 degrees Fahrenheit is not uncommon.

It is exactly for this reason we decided to swim against the stream, as it were, and head to where it is freezing! Most South Africans who get married choose to go to island destinations for their honeymoon (Think Mauritius, Seychelles, Zanzibar or Thailand) Now the purists may differ with me that there are much colder places than YYZ and NYC, but we had to keep time and budget in mind.