FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   TravelBuzz (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/travelbuzz-176/)
-   -   What jobs / careers require or involve travel? (merged 2014+) (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/travelbuzz/582808-what-jobs-careers-require-involve-travel-merged-2014-a.html)

mmff Jan 29, 2014 2:46 pm

What jobs / careers require or involve travel? (merged 2014+)

Hello everyone,

My youngest niece has just asked me what I do for a living and how it allows me to travel all the time*. She is particularly fond of the new stories I have to share every time I manage to meet her and my brother for dinner. I am an IT consultant based in Europe and she did not really like the description of my job after I explained her what I do for a living.

Then, it was just a matter of seconds until her second (and tougher) question: "What jobs allow you to travel all the time on the company's dime?"

I replied: consulting, finance (don't know exactly what positions, though), some academic positions, and of course... pilots and FA!

However, I can't help but feel that my list was embarrassingly short, so I decided to come here for help and have a "powerful" list the next time we meet.

She has a scientific background and a BSc in Applied Mathematics but she is bored and willing to make a radical career shift if this one perk is provided: (long haul) flying and travelling.

I must say that I am very curious myself regarding your answers! ;)

*The use of "all the time" was hers; compared to most of you I am just an occasional traveler.

cynicAAl Jan 29, 2014 3:54 pm

Originally Posted by mmff (Post 22248096)
"What jobs allow you to travel all the time on the company's dime?"

I seem to notice flight attendants on a majority of my flights.

t325 Jan 29, 2014 3:57 pm

Originally Posted by cynicAAl (Post 22248545)

Every now and then I see a pilot on my flight too ;)

YOWzer Jan 29, 2014 3:58 pm