Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > TravelBuzz
Reload this Page >

Europe in December

Europe in December

Old Sep 8, 05, 3:38 pm
Original Poster

Lightbulb Europe in December

I'm a novice traveler! Please help! What are the best places in Europe to visit during the first couple of weeks in December? I don't mind the cold too much, but I don't want to visit a region/country where my vacation experiences will be limited. Are Vienna and Prague out of the question?
Old Sep 8, 05, 3:43 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

They're not out of the question, but it will be chilly and maybe even snowy.

We've gone to Europe twice in December; once to London, once to Rome. London was cold. Rome was not.

I'd lean more toward places in the southern half of the continent. Think Rome, Athens, anywhere in Spain or Portugal, etc.
Old Sep 8, 05, 3:48 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: Tamsin - what else is there to say?
Europe is a big place, where you go will be influenced by your own interests. The question you have asked is a little like asking "where should I go in the world?" Europe is a lot more geographically diverse than the US - a lot more history has let small countries develop quirks which separate them from their neighbours, much more so than between the US states. Perhaps a little more information about what you hope to do and like doing would help us? Also, telling us where you are from will give an indication of what temps you are used to, so what you would consider cold.

You could also try searching this forum with a search word such as Europe or the cities you suggest in the thread title... you'll be able to see what advice has been given previously.
Old Sep 8, 05, 4:04 pm
In Memoriam

Programs: Executive Club Gold/Frequence Plus Red
Europe can be quite exciting in December, there are all kinds of Xmas markets, like in Germany or Alsace region of France. Great food, hot and spicy Xmas wine, all sorts of Xmas pies, etc.