Wiki Posts
Search

Maybe OT: Transferring currency via XETrade

Search this Thread

Old Apr 13, 2005, 10:08 am
Original Poster

Programs: BA, DL, *wd, IC
Question Maybe OT: Transferring currency via XETrade

My apologies in advance if this is OT, or in the wrong forum. I just have the feeling that FTers might know the answer...

Here's the situation. My family is in England, and I have been a US resident for many years. It's now fallen to me as executor to sell the family house in the UK, and the funds will then be sent to me in the US. I was assuming that a bank-to-bank wire transfer was the best/most cost effective way to go (I have bank accounts in UK and US) -- but how do I ensure that I get the most favorable exchange rate, and avoid high commissions/fees/other bank charges? Given UK house prices ( ) it's likely to be a large enough sum that a few cents difference per $ could be, um, noticeable. And that's even after the UK government has thrown a big party funded by my contribution to the inheritance tax.

I went to xe.com to check exchange rates, and see that they offer a service called XETrade which will clear currency transfers via wire from one country to another. Has anyone used this? any caveats or plaudits? Would it be worth the extra effort, or should I just be grateful for bank-to-bank wire transfers that take care of it all without any intervention on my part?

Thanks for any insights or experiences you can share, pro or con.
Old Apr 14, 2005, 7:53 am
Original Poster

Has anyone used this service?

ttt
Can anyone help with this?
Old May 17, 2005, 7:53 am

XE Trade

I have just opened an account with XE Trade but not yet initiated any trades.....i am waiting to find out more about them.......have you had any experience yet with this company ???

thank you for any insight you can offer

a warm smile

from Providence RI

Originally Posted by SB_Travlr