Community
Wiki Posts
Search

On Upgrading with Family/Friends

Search this Thread

Old Sep 10, 2003, 9:03 pm
Original Poster

On Upgrading with Family/Friends

I am pretty new to all of this and I don't even have status with any airline but I do with a couple of hotel chains. I did learn one thing about myself: getting upgraded with others is more important than getting upgraded by myself. I have spent countless nights in an upgraded better room/suite. Nice. I appreciate it. Most of the time it works, and when it doesn't I am bothered that my 'status' did not come through, yet, I don't really need a suite. It's just stroking my ego.

But when I am traveling with friends and family, they have heard the upgrade stories and now it's really important that something comes through. To me at this point, it really doesn't matter where I personally sit/sleep, I just want it to be good for everyone else and, in a way, impress them with my status to get a great room/seat (without paying for it.)

I think that's why some people really get irate when they are with some uninitiated friend/family member and then they don't get the benefit. Anyone share this sentiment? It was soooo much more fun when my non-traveling gf saw the room we got during the last trip.

- Michael
Old Sep 11, 2003, 12:06 am
Hyatt Contributor Badge

I never get irate if I don't get an upgrade, even when travelling with friends and family. Most of my F&F don't stay at better hotels so just staying at a higher end hotel is really a treat for them. Yes my family is well aware of some awesome upgrades I have received on the road with and without them but they certainly don't get upset or irate if an upgrade doesn't come through.
Old Sep 11, 2003, 2:48 am
Suspended

Programs: UA 1K
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by michaelr:
I just want it to be good for everyone else and, in a way, impress them with my status to get a great room/seat (without paying for it.)
</font>