Community
Wiki Posts
Search

My Priceline Hotel Bid

Search this Thread

Old Sep 8, 1999, 10:12 pm
Original Poster

My Priceline Hotel Bid

Hi! I've never posted before, but I think there are lots of people who would be interested in hearing my experiences with Priceline. I'm a starving student and I was looking a room at ORD for 2 weeknights in Oct. The cheapest room I could find in the immediate area was at a Motel 6 for $50/night. So at Priceline I bid $40 + $25 bonus(for applying for a credit card) for a 3 star hotel, not really expecting to have it accepted. You can imagine my surprise when I received a confirmation for 2 nights at the Westin O'hare! Including taxes, I'm being charged $94 for the 2 nights. Now, I checked around, and the lowest rate I could find for this place was $169/night with Hotel Reservations Network. What a deal!

The only downside is that the Westin charges $12/day for parking. But if I have to choose between Westin and Motel 6, there's really no choice, is there?
Old Sep 8, 1999, 10:57 pm

Programs: UA MM-1P, Hilton Life Diamond, Marriot Life Gold, ICH Spire
The Westin definitely has nicer sheetz, Sheetz.
Old Sep 9, 1999, 6:03 am

That's because Westin is RichR, RichG.

------------------

Old Sep 9, 1999, 7:25 am
Original Member

sheetz, welcome aboard and thanks for posting your Priceline experience.

However, you must be careful, Westin, because they are RichR, changes the sheetz every night.
Old Sep 9, 1999, 6:58 pm
In memoriam

Congratulations. I would say you got VERY lucky and thanks for sharing such a fantastic winning Priceline.com bid. I agree that the O'Hare area nicer hotels can be very expensive. One of the guys I work with regularly stays at the Sheraton Gateway by O'Hare during the week, and he's paid as much as $229 per night plus tax.

Last month, I set up a "Club" at Yahoo to discuss Priceline bids for hotels and airfares. Stop by and share your story.
http://clubs.yahoo.com/clubs/pricelinedeals