Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > TravelBuzz
Reload this Page >

Open Skies Agreement

Open Skies Agreement

Old May 12, 19, 10:35 am
Original Poster

Open Skies Agreement

I am a grad student in the U.S., and I will be going to the U.K. for a conference. I'm under a federal (not DoD) fellowship, so if I want to be reimbursed for the flight, I'd need to adhere to the Fly America Act.

I was reading about the Open Skies exception, and it seems that I would be able to take a EU airline as that would fall under the exception. My University provided this checklist (see below pic) to see if a traveler would qualify for the Open Skies exception. I can answer "No" to questions 1&2. However, for question 3, my origin is San Francisco and Destination is London, and I see that a city-pair does exist when I searched on the gsa.gov website. According to this form, because of the existence of the city-pair, the Open Skies Agreement does not seem to apply. But I did not see this anywhere on the Open Skies description on the Department of State and GSA websites. I'm wondering if my University made a mistake in this checklist. Does anyone have experience with this?

Checklist
Old May 12, 19, 11:38 am

this is something that should be taken up with your grad department

there are two parts

1) Fly America Act ("protectionalist" policy, open skies has an exemption for this)
2) GSA city-pairs (negotiated rates based on govt bulk travel. some rates are very good) <- you are here

look at princeton's website
https://finance.princeton.edu/how-to...ies-agreement/

Travel under certain Open Skies Agreements can be restricted if a City Pair rate is in effect for the specified travel route. If a City Pair rate is in effect, then travel must be provided by a U.S. flag air carrier, unless another authorized exception applies.
it looks like (2) gsacity-pairs requirement was removed in June 2010 amendment. how old is your department's policy?