Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > TravelBuzz
Reload this Page >

Awkward/Uncomfortable Situation - Passenger Encroachment - What to do?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 22, 2019, 9:41 pm
Original Poster

I've been flying for many years now and fortunately, I haven't found myself in this situation before, but this week on a flight, a DYKWIA type passenger was seated next to me. Normally, the DYKWIA types don't bother me, but this one was quite unique. He put on his eye mask and attempted to get comfortable taking both armrests. No biggie right, we've all seen this type of people before. But what irked me was for half the flight, his head was encroached in my space, forcing me to sit up during most of the flight. The other half of the time, he situated his body on the seat and turned facing me (and then the other passenger as well). Ewwww right?!? I know he had his eye mask on, but I still didn't want someone practically breathing on me!

Has anyone else encountered a similar uncomfortable situation? How did you address it? Looking back, I really should have confronted the situation, but would that have caused even more awkwardness during our 4hr+ flight? (Ironically, on the return flight, I almost selected a seat next to the same passenger! I was so relieved to see him seated and happily walked past him. :-)

Passenger encroachment. What would you do?
Old Mar 22, 2019, 9:43 pm

Why didn't you speak up???
Old Mar 22, 2019, 9:45 pm
Original Poster

Originally Posted by malgudi
Why didn't you speak up???
I'm usually not the confrontational type.... but maybe I should have? Would that have made the situation worst? I dunno...
Old Mar 22, 2019, 9:50 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: AS 75K; UA 1MM; Hyatt Globalist; Marriott LTP; Hilton Diamond (Aspire)
Originally Posted by Dudey
Would that have made the situation worst? I dunno...
It might have. Dealing with anti-social behavior can be a real no win situation.