Reload this Page >

pilots landing harder

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

pilots landing harder

Search this Thread

Old Nov 6, 2018, 10:33 am

Remember folks, half of all pilots are below average....
Old Nov 6, 2018, 10:36 am
Moderator Hilton Honors, Travel News, West, The Suggestion Box, Smoking Lounge & DiningBuzz

Programs: Honors Diamond, Hertz Presidents Circle, National Exec Elite
For pilots (although I'm only a lowly private pilot), it's a little frustrating for a flight to be judged primarily or only by the "smoothness" of the landing. There are lots of other things that pilots know are better indices of how well a flight was conducted. Moreover, as Badenoch notes, there are more than a few occasions on which you don't want to try for a "smooth landing," but want to firmly plant the plane on the runway headed in the correct direction for rollout (severe crosswind and windshear conditions, for example -- the smooth "floaty" kiss-the-runway landings are an invitation to disaster in such conditions).
cawhite and wrp96 like this.
Old Nov 6, 2018, 10:38 am
Original Poster

<metadiscussion removed by moderator>

Anyways, got something from quora:
The plane shouldn’t be landing “very hard”, but a little firm is common. Mostly it’s an industry-wide change in technique and philosophy. Decades ago, pilots valued the “greaser” (a landing you can barely feel), but not so much any more. A greaser, while not necessarily a bad landing, is not the hallmark of a good landing. A good landing is on centerline, on or just past the aim point, and with no drift (sideways movement). Professionally, there is no benefit to a greaser. In fact, a little firmness (but not hard) generally makes for a better landing.

Last edited by JY1024; Nov 6, 2018 at 7:09 pm Reason: Metadiscussion removed by moderator
Old Nov 6, 2018, 10:40 am
Original Poster

Originally Posted by cblaisd