Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > TravelBuzz
Reload this Page >

Best way to offload a hotel room in downtown Philly before the Super Bowl parade?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Best way to offload a hotel room in downtown Philly before the Super Bowl parade?

Search this Thread

Old Feb 6, 2018, 10:35 am
Original Poster

Programs: Southwest, United, Marriott

I am new to FT and apologize in advance if I am posting in the wrong place.

I purchased a hotel room on Orbitz in downtown Philadelphia for Wednesday night, well before the Eagles won the SB, before the parade (Thurs AM) was planned, etc. I NEVER book through Orbitz but it was like $150 cheaper to do so and I just decided it would be worth it, stupidly.

Anyway, the hotel is now completely sold out, as is everything else in the city. I have no interest in being there amidst all the SB chaos and am trying to figure out what I can do to recoup the money I spent. Any ideas? I have a room at the Loews for $200, if it matters. Is there anything better than Roomer?
Old Feb 6, 2018, 10:41 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Ambassador: World of Hyatt

Programs: Hyatt Globalist, Fairmont Lifetime Plat, UA Silver, dirt elsewhere
Call the hotel and explain you don't want to be there during the chaos. They may let you out of it and refund your money.

They can get a lot of money for that room now, I'll bet.
Old Feb 6, 2018, 10:42 am
Original Poster

Programs: Southwest, United, Marriott
Even though I bought from Orbitz?
Old Feb 6, 2018, 10:56 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Ambassador: World of Hyatt

Programs: Hyatt Globalist, Fairmont Lifetime Plat, UA Silver, dirt elsewhere
Very possibly. It can't hurt to call and ask.
Old Feb 7, 2018, 1:45 am

List it on Craigslist for $500. Check in yourself, then resell it. Then you keep the extra profit instead of the hotel.
That's something I'd do if I were within a few hours drive from Philly
Old Feb 7, 2018, 5:49 am

Originally Posted by nd2010