FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   TravelBuzz (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/travelbuzz-176/)
-   -   cabin crew... help needed [Death in flight codewords] (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/travelbuzz/1862889-cabin-crew-help-needed-death-flight-codewords.html)

meet and greet Aug 24, 2017 7:13 am

cabin crew... help needed [Death in flight codewords]

Dear all,

As an author, I am currently writing a chapter in which a passenger becomes ill on a long haul flight, and then, unfortunately, passes away. An integral part of the storyline is how the cabin crew handle this situation. Could anyone help by advising the SOP for this ( Hopefully not from personal experience !)

Also I seem to remember that there is a code word for times when the crew are discussing such an event near pax... involving the words "Phonix rising"
Can any one confirm this?

Any help would be gratefully recieved !
many many thanks!

Can I help you Aug 24, 2017 7:36 am

No code that I know of at BA, we would try and move the body to somewhere private but if that isn't possible we would leave it in the passengers seat, we wouldn't cover the body but we would close their eyes.

ACabinCrewMember Aug 24, 2017 7:41 am

Never had a death onboard, but we definitely don't shout Phoenix Rising.

Once the passenger does pass away it would be somewhere private if possible, if not, we'd but them back in their seat and blanket up to the shoulders.

I'm sure you're aware of the satellite phone to Doctors on the ground who direct us what to do? They give us all the permission we need and would also instruct us to call for a medical professional on board.

LondonAndy Aug 24, 2017 7:42 am

Welcome to FT, but I can't see what this has got to do with British Airways :confused:.

A 10 second Google search came up with at least a dozen opinions, many of which seemed to come from fairly reliable sources (OK, maybe not the first one as that's from the Daily Mail :D):