Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > TravelBuzz
Reload this Page >

Can I book a trip but board at one of the connecting airports?

Can I book a trip but board at one of the connecting airports?

Old Jan 19, 17, 12:19 pm
  #1  
195
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Can I book a trip but board at one of the connecting airports?

I'm trying to burn some miles and noticed that I go from Sacramento to Rome faster (17 hours vs 20), on a better airline (Lufthansa vs Turkish Air), and with a better arrival time (5pm instead of midnight) for the same amount of miles as flying from SFO to Rome. The only difference is that SMF stops in SFO before continuing. Considering I live exactly between SMF and SFO, could I just show up at SFO and board the connecting flight instead of having to start at SMF? Note the next stop after SFO is international.
195 is offline  
Old Jan 19, 17, 12:20 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: PHX
Programs: AA Aluminum, WN B+
Posts: 929
No. If you don't show up at SMF your reservation will be canceled.
Lost is offline  
Old Jan 19, 17, 12:23 pm
  #3  
195
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
OK Thank you.

What about coming home? Would I be able to leave SFO after arriving from an international destination? My understanding is I have to go through customs either way. Could I skip the flight back to SMF and just go home? For the miles booking, there is an 11 hour connection delay between arriving at SFO and departing to SMF. Doesn't matter to me if I can simply walk out the airport at that time and go home.
195 is offline  
Old Jan 19, 17, 12:29 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Programs: UA 1K MM, AA Gold, SPG Plat, HH Gold
Posts: 882
If you're booking with miles you should be able to remove the domestic legs without changing the price of the ticket.
skylane is offline  
Old Jan 19, 17, 12:42 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Berlin, SW Florida, and Toronto
Programs: UA 1K, Hilton Diamond, Discovery Black, and assorted others
Posts: 28,145
Going home, yes, you can just get off at SFO. Outbound you cannot.
LondonElite is online now  
Old Jan 19, 17, 1:59 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SEA (the REAL Washington); still teleworking with the other Washington (DCA area)
Programs: DL PM 1.3MM; AS MVPG 75K
Posts: 15,181
Originally Posted by skylane View Post
If you're booking with miles you should be able to remove the domestic legs without changing the price of the ticket.
just because SMF-SFO-XXX-FCO is available at LOW or SAVER award level doesn't mean that SFO-XXX-FCO is also

it's called "married segment" logic, and virtually all airlines use it in pricing both revenue and award tix
jrl767 is online now  
Old Jan 19, 17, 5:02 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Massachusetts, USA; AA Plat (2.90MM), DL GM and Flying Colonel (1.04MM); Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 22,795
Originally Posted by 195 View Post
... Could I skip the flight back to SMF and just go home? ...
In general, there are two issues with this:

1. You can't have checked bags. However, that doesn't apply when you enter the U.S. because you have to pick them up and clear customs anyhow. You just "forget" to put them on the re-check belt as you walk out.

2. In case anything goes wrong with your original flight, the airline is within its rights to rebook you on any other flights that get you to SMF. Since there aren't any direct FCO-SMF flights, you'd have to connect somewhere. Odds are this would be SFO. In the unlikely event that this happens, and they suggest a routing to SMF via LAX or somewhere else, you're allowed to discuss things with them and see if they have something better (for you). To deal with this eventuality, you might want to have a list of alternate flights in your pocket. In your situation, worst case is they send you to SMF via East Overshoe and you're still OK. In other situations, not connecting through the right intermediate city can be a bigger concern.

Last edited by Efrem; Jan 19, 17 at 8:44 pm Reason: To avoid offending Badgers.
Efrem is offline  
Old Jan 19, 17, 5:08 pm
  #8  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MCI
Programs: AA Gold 1MM, AS MVP, UA Silver, WN A-List, Marriott LT Titanium, HH Diamond
Posts: 48,368
I might put the itin on hold and then call web support and see if you can get it ticketed as SFO-FCO-SFO.

You *might* get the married-segment response. Or you might get the "our website is screwed up...let me fix it" response.

(I'm assuming we're talking United here, based in SF and involving two Star Alliance options...)

I haven't flown TK, but if you're doing it in J I hear they're actually better than you think. Of course I'd still probably take the better duration/arrival time if possible.
pinniped is offline  
Old Jan 20, 17, 2:02 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 19
Agree with Lost. If you don't show up at SMF your reservation will be canceled.
akshay18 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: