Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > TravelBuzz
Reload this Page >

Is there any reason to join travel (i.e., hotel) loyalty programs?

Old May 7, 11, 4:27 pm
Original Poster

Ok, so I am oviously a newbie here...
Is there any reason why a person who flies or travels maybe once or twice a year to sign up for all these programs? I signed up for the carlson program only because I read a post on here and it sounded like it might be productive. Now I am a "silver". I don't even understand anything about it, LOL. I am just trying to see if there is any program out there that will give me a good deal on a hotel for Aug 22-25 in Flagstaff, AZ. Any suggestions? PM if needed.
Thanks!
K
Old May 7, 11, 8:27 pm

Programs: Hyatt Globalist, National Executive
In 2002 I signed up for the AAdvantage, just in time to fly to England for a round of golf. Flew a couple more times over the next few years, then I moved to Germany and started doing a TATL or two a year. Then one day I realized I enough miles to upgrade to business. Started flying a lot in 2008, but that's OT to your question.

In the '90s was a member of Skymiles and over a few years was able to take a free flight or two.

For someone who flies infrequently, join a program, work the credit cards a bit, join the dining program and shop on the online stores.

I'll bet you can earn a trip every couple of years, or if your trip is a TRANSCON have enough miles to upgrade.
Old May 7, 11, 8:44 pm
In Memoriam

Programs: aa plt 4.9MM LTAC
i would enroll in every award program which i flew or stayed....after a while, one tends to gravitate to a program that makes sense for them....along the way, one might get a bene or 2.....good luck...
Old May 7, 11, 9:47 pm

Programs: UA 1K, AA PLT, HH Gold, MR Titanium, IHG Spire, Accor Silver, National EE, Hertz PC