Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Tools
Reload this Page >

ITA-Matrix-PowerTools - Userscript for Orbitz/DL/UA/AA/BA/CZ/IB/LA/LH/LX/TK

Community
Wiki Posts
Search
Old Nov 11, 2014, 10:54 am
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: IAkH
Welcome to the ITA-Matrix-PowerTools
*** About ***
The ITA-Matrix-PowerTools are a user script maintained by fellow flyertalk members to enhance the already powerful Matrix of ITA Software by providing new features and booking links.

Features added to the itinerary details page:
  • convert times into 24h format
  • translation support
  • open fare rules in new window by default
  • price breakdown (base fare, taxes & carrier imposed surcharges)
  • editor mode (adjust cabin prior extraction)
  • multiple handy links (Seatguru, Planefinder, WhereToCredit)
  • new on page features like detailed mileage breakdown*, GCM-Map* and earned frequent flyer miles*
  • create links to various providers (OTAs / airlines / other tools) to try direct booking of your itinerary

Originally Posted by Error: Unable to find class IR6M2QD-k-i for itinRow.
If you see this error, currently you'll need to manually edit your installed script.

See posts from October 1st, 2018 for more information.
*requires background requests

The script may have lots of bugs and comes without warranty of any kind! Not all fares will be bookable or will price correctly in the booking engines. You are responsible for the money you spend - so double check your flights before purchasing AND use your sanity! Read this and the next two posts as an example: click

*** How it works ***
Using pure JavaScript we are "creating" some sort of hook that is periodically checking for page changes while working with the Matrix. As soon as you reload or leave the page the script stops (leaving the page or using the console-version) or starts from the beginning (using the userscript and perfoming a reload). Also this script is only running in these tabs/windows in which you are looking at the Matrix.
As soon as the script detects the itinerary page it reads its content - unless you activated the editor mode. It's parsing all the information found and creates - based on this information - several links to OTAs, airlines and other tools. Since we are able to remove, replace and add content to the page - we make them visible and clickable in a way you choose. By default there are no background requests.

*** How to get it running ***
There are three methods to install the script. All three below run exactly the same underlying script but are listed in order of installation complexity:

Method 1: Browser Extensions
Method 2: As a UserScript
It takes a moment to get it running but after that it will start automatically everytime you visit the Matrix and we will be able to store your settings. You will need to install a script manager.

Warning: Using a script manager and installing user scripts is a potential security risk - We need to mention it here.
Step 1: Install a script manager Step 2: Install the script
See the FAQ of your script manager how to install the script.
  • Through GreasyFork
  • Through OpenUserJS
  • Through GitHub: you should be asked whether you want to install it - make sure your script manager is running.
Method 3: iOS Safari Shortcut

Get the "Add ITA Matrix Powertools" Shortcut

Instructions much be run each time
  • Open ITA Matrix in Safari on your iPhone or iPad
  • Tap on the Share button in the bottom navigation
  • Scroll down through all the actions
  • Select Add ITA Matrix Powertools

Method 4: Console/Debug mode
You need to access the command line of your browser to execute the script. You can use either the regular version or the minified version. Just copy the entire text.

Chrome:
  1. Open Chrome DevTools: developer.chrome.com
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line: developer.chrome.com
  4. Run it
Firefox:
  1. Open the web console: developer.mozilla.org
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line: developer.mozilla.org
  4. Run it
Internet Explorer:
  1. Open the web console by pressing F12
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line - at the very bottom
  4. Run it by pressing the green triangle

*** How to use it ***
Once the script is running you should see a new line above the ITA logo:
Code:
Passengers (1a) Settings (v0.18) (Cabin: Auto)
As long as you see this line, there is no need to reexecute the script. Make sure to get used to the "Settings"-feature -> just click on Settings. Within the settings menu you can configure the script towards your needs/preferences. Enabling/disabling features and/or setting standard editions of providers on the fly. When using a script manager these settings should be stored and automatically load as soon as you visit matrix.itasoftware.com - but the passengers as well as the cabin detection will not be stored!
Your settings are "reloaded" everytime the itinerary details show up! If you want to use other settings, just get back to the flight selection and reselect your flights - the new settings will be used. This belongs to the passengers and cabin detection as well

Passengers:
The passenger count will not be taken from your search results! Use the passenger config on the upper left and make sure they are set before you get to the itinerary details. We had to do it this way because some providers require the age of children. But always make sure to search for the equivalent passenger count. There might be seat availability for one passenger but not for two!

Cabin detection:
You should set the cabin on the upper right to the appropriate main cabin you are looking for. Sometimes you will have economy/business class segments in mainly business/first class itineraries. These mixed itineraries make it hard to autodetect the main cabin - so you can set it manually.

*** Background requests - Privacy issues ***
Some features require to contact other servers. As long as you do not activate any of the autoload features within the settings there won't be any automatic background requests. You will have to initiate them manually. The following list will tell which features are contacting what server and what information will be transferred. All websites will know you are using this script und you are currently using the Matrix - what by the way applies to the link targets you click as well.
  • GCM-Map in inline mode - contacting gcmap.com (non SSL) providing full route data
  • WhereToCredit.com mileage accrual breakdown - contacting wheretocredit.com (non SSL or SSL - depending on whether you use the Matrix with or without SSL) providing full itinerary
  • Skimlinks affiliate links - loads a js script to adds affiliate ids to some links if and only if the "Support this tool" setting is enabled. If it is disabled, no external scripts are loaded
*** FT-Posts you should read ***
General statement regarding this script: click
How to fix class names yourself: click
Problems and limitations regarding pricing itins: click

*** Contributors ***
paul21, Steppo, IAkH, 18sas, Benchmarc and others!

I'd like to give special thanks to paul21 for starting this idea.

*** Latest Version ***
GitHub Repo

OR install directly: Executable Version minified

FYI
Steppo & IAkH (Adam Hwang) have full access to this repository.

Discussion - written by paul21:
The original posting can be found here, related to building links on delta's booking engine. The script scrapes the flight info from the itinerary (flight numbers, dates, class of service, price) and builds a link string to two booking engines (Orbitz/Delta). These links are the same links used by Google Flights (owns ITA) , Kayak, et. al. to drive purchases. I used the Google referrer codes in the scripts, so they should get the commission. It's beyond me why ITA doesn't have some form of purchase link. This a userscript, and like an ad-blocker, it modifies the way a page is viewed by editing DOM objects in the browser. Keep in mind that this tool is meant to do something you already do yourself, but to save time in the process. Any tickets issued by Orbitz/DL via these links could be issued via phone or web search. If the links work, you are avoiding a phone booking fee potentially.







Print Wikipost

ITA-Matrix-PowerTools - Userscript for Orbitz/DL/UA/AA/BA/CZ/IB/LA/LH/LX/TK

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Apr 16, 2018, 3:58 pm
  #556  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: YXY
Posts: 3,506
The links to the Air Canada website have stopped working.

And, a minor detail: The changelog on Github is outdated, it stops at 0.26 (0.27 and 0.28 are missing).

Last edited by sokolov; Apr 16, 2018 at 4:08 pm
sokolov is offline  
Old May 6, 2018, 11:43 am
  #557  
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1
Hi,

First time using ITA and the script, trying to book this ITA result : #view-details:research=GVAOPO-OPOGVA;solution=02Y6Q9cYQYPAPTfJrSrJsVA/EcJlQOJzDnILmLkxHiIAgI00u

The script seems to run fine and returns me a few results. However, when opening the links, the prices are way higher compared to ITA. I don't know if I'm doing something wrong or if ITA uses to show unavailable prices. Any help ?

Thanks !
delivereath is offline  
Old May 9, 2018, 9:11 am
  #558  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Currently in Bloomington, IN, but Normally NYC, CDG, and even POZ or wherever FT takes me.
Programs: Northwest Airlines. MTA pay-per-ride Metrocard; zero-balance Oyster card.
Posts: 14,019
Originally Posted by ChocolateFactory
Yes, you have to change the source code.
Look for this line:

// printLA(); // Disabled until further notice

Then remove the first two slashes (what comes after the second slashes doesn't matter):

I really don't understand why it's disabled in the first place, it works really well.
Well, LA is not showing up for an LA fare, so I went into the source code, and as best as I can tell, printLA(); is not disabled (commented out).

But I cannot use LA to book the fare I'm looking at, it's just not showing up in the booking menu.
notsosmart is offline  
Old May 9, 2018, 6:42 pm
  #559  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Programs: Once upon a time...
Posts: 863
Originally Posted by notsosmart
Well, LA is not showing up for an LA fare, so I went into the source code, and as best as I can tell, printLA(); is not disabled (commented out).

But I cannot use LA to book the fare I'm looking at, it's just not showing up in the booking menu.
Which version are you running? It's commented out in the latest version... line 1257. If you PM me a screnshot of your itinerary I can try to help.
veeRob is offline  
Old May 11, 2018, 1:17 pm
  #560  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 149
Links not showing up

I installed the ITA Matrix powertool grease monkey script on FireFox a couple of years ago, and used it somewhat regularly for a while. Worked great.
Now, after almost a year of not using the script, I try to use it, and the links to the agencies that would show up on the right side of the screen are no longer there.

I tried reinstalling the script and nothing changed. I tried downloading the TamperMonkey on Chrome, and the prompt says I cannot add extensions from the GitHub site.

I assume/hope that I am missing something very obvious.

Any feedback and help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
FLA77 is offline  
Old May 11, 2018, 1:58 pm
  #561  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: DXB
Programs: Marriott Titanium Elite, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond, BA Silver, A3 Gold, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 2,811
Well, does the rest of the script load correctly? I.e. can you see the version number etc.?
ChocolateFactory is offline  
Old May 14, 2018, 10:18 am
  #562  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 149
Originally Posted by ChocolateFactory
Well, does the rest of the script load correctly? I.e. can you see the version number etc.?
I can only see that the script is enabled and active - not sure where to look for version number . But I just don't see the list of OTAs that are supposed to show up on the right side of the screen.
FLA77 is offline  
Old May 14, 2018, 2:07 pm
  #563  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: DXB
Programs: Marriott Titanium Elite, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond, BA Silver, A3 Gold, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 2,811
At the top of the screen, it should say "Passengers (1a) Settings(v0.28) (Cabin: Auto)" or something similar.
If it doesn't, the script isn't loaded.
ChocolateFactory is offline  
Old May 14, 2018, 3:33 pm
  #564  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 149
Originally Posted by ChocolateFactory
At the top of the screen, it should say "Passengers (1a) Settings(v0.28) (Cabin: Auto)" or something similar.
If it doesn't, the script isn't loaded.
Ok. I remember seeing that info on my screen in the past as well, and now I don't. So it must be that the scrip isn't loaded.

Having said that, on top right of the screen it shows 'Greasemonkey is active', and 'ITA-Matrix-Powertools' enabled.

Do you have any suggestions about how to get this working again?
FLA77 is offline  
Old May 14, 2018, 3:44 pm
  #565  
Moderator: Hyatt; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: WAS
Programs: :rolleyes:, DL DM, Mlife Plat, Caesars Diam, Marriott Tit, UA Gold, Hyatt Glob, invol FT beta tester
Posts: 18,926
The suggestion I'm about to give borders on "have you tried unplugging it and plugging it back in" especially since I know you said you already tried reinstalling both *Monkey and the script, but I vaguely recall going through a similar issue recently (booking links not showing up) and also not getting anywhere with reinstalling the extensions, but I also vaguely recall going into chrome://extensions/ and/or its Firefox equivalent (I use Chrome on my Chromebook and FF on my desktop) and toggling the "enabled" for one or both extensions to off and back on again.

Anyway it's low-cost to try and won't leave you any worse off than you are now :-/
Zorak is offline  
Old May 14, 2018, 3:46 pm
  #566  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: DXB
Programs: Marriott Titanium Elite, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond, BA Silver, A3 Gold, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 2,811
Also, you could try a different extension instead, like Violentmonkey in Firefox.
ChocolateFactory is offline  
Old May 14, 2018, 3:50 pm
  #567  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattExpl.►HiltonGold►ALL Silver
Posts: 21,993
Or, use an earlier version of Firefox ... look upthread.
serfty is offline  
Old May 16, 2018, 7:44 am
  #568  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 149
Originally Posted by Zorak
The suggestion I'm about to give borders on "have you tried unplugging it and plugging it back in" especially since I know you said you already tried reinstalling both *Monkey and the script, but I vaguely recall going through a similar issue recently (booking links not showing up) and also not getting anywhere with reinstalling the extensions, but I also vaguely recall going into chrome://extensions/ and/or its Firefox equivalent (I use Chrome on my Chromebook and FF on my desktop) and toggling the "enabled" for one or both extensions to off and back on again.
Anyway it's low-cost to try and won't leave you any worse off than you are now :-/
Thanks for the advice. I have tried the toggling thing already with no result. I am thinking about uninstalling and reinstalling Firefox to see if that helps. On Chrome, as I mentioned, when I try downloading the TamperMonkey script, the prompt says extensions from the GitHub site are not allowed. I wonder whether that's a new policy, or just my privacy settings.

Originally Posted by ChocolateFactory
Also, you could try a different extension instead, like Violentmonkey in Firefox.
I haven't tried that one. I will. Thanks.

Originally Posted by serfty
Or, use an earlier version of Firefox ... look upthread.
I actually thought about that, as Firefox seems to update every time I open it. I will look into that as well. I will get this working one way or another..
FLA77 is offline  
Old May 24, 2018, 9:53 am
  #569  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Programs: AA Exec Plat, CO OnePass, UA
Posts: 287
Thumbs up Thank You So Much!!

Thank you for this Script! I am beyond incredibly grateful to you. I was at wit's end with the new website booking restrictions and not being able to emulate itamatrix or even Google Flights multi-city itineraries and this PowerTools script has completely saved me in one hour!! Most productive few minutes spent for such invaluable long-term benefits!!
Thanks again!
aktchi likes this.
ThunderStorm00 is offline  
Old May 27, 2018, 10:53 pm
  #570  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: YXY
Posts: 3,506
Is there a way to get Flex/Comfort/Latitude fares on Air Canada?

When I use the deep link, it is always "Standard".

TNX
sokolov is offline  


Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.