Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Tools
Reload this Page >

ITA-Matrix-PowerTools - Userscript for Orbitz/DL/UA/AA/BA/CZ/IB/LA/LH/LX/TK

Old Nov 11, 14, 11:54 am
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: IAkH
Welcome to the ITA-Matrix-PowerTools
*** About ***
The ITA-Matrix-PowerTools are a user script maintained by fellow flyertalk members to enhance the already powerful Matrix of ITA Software by providing new features and booking links.

Features added to the itinerary details page:
  • convert times into 24h format
  • translation support
  • open fare rules in new window by default
  • price breakdown (base fare, taxes & carrier imposed surcharges)
  • editor mode (adjust cabin prior extraction)
  • multiple handy links (Seatguru, Planefinder, WhereToCredit)
  • new on page features like detailed mileage breakdown*, GCM-Map* and earned frequent flyer miles*
  • create links to various providers (OTAs / airlines / other tools) to try direct booking of your itinerary

Originally Posted by Error: Unable to find class IR6M2QD-k-i for itinRow.
If you see this error, currently you'll need to manually edit your installed script.

See posts from October 1st, 2018 for more information.
*requires background requests

The script may have lots of bugs and comes without warranty of any kind! Not all fares will be bookable or will price correctly in the booking engines. You are responsible for the money you spend - so double check your flights before purchasing AND use your sanity! Read this and the next two posts as an example: click

*** How it works ***
Using pure JavaScript we are "creating" some sort of hook that is periodically checking for page changes while working with the Matrix. As soon as you reload or leave the page the script stops (leaving the page or using the console-version) or starts from the beginning (using the userscript and perfoming a reload). Also this script is only running in these tabs/windows in which you are looking at the Matrix.
As soon as the script detects the itinerary page it reads its content - unless you activated the editor mode. It's parsing all the information found and creates - based on this information - several links to OTAs, airlines and other tools. Since we are able to remove, replace and add content to the page - we make them visible and clickable in a way you choose. By default there are no background requests.

*** How to get it running ***
There are three methods to install the script. All three below run exactly the same underlying script but are listed in order of installation complexity:

Method 1: Browser Extensions
Method 2: As a UserScript
It takes a moment to get it running but after that it will start automatically everytime you visit the Matrix and we will be able to store your settings. You will need to install a script manager.

Warning: Using a script manager and installing user scripts is a potential security risk - We need to mention it here.
Step 1: Install a script manager Step 2: Install the script
See the FAQ of your script manager how to install the script.
  • Through GreasyFork
  • Through OpenUserJS
  • Through GitHub: you should be asked whether you want to install it - make sure your script manager is running.
Method 3: iOS Safari Shortcut

Get the "Add ITA Matrix Powertools" Shortcut

Instructions much be run each time
  • Open ITA Matrix in Safari on your iPhone or iPad
  • Tap on the Share button in the bottom navigation
  • Scroll down through all the actions
  • Select Add ITA Matrix Powertools

Method 4: Console/Debug mode
You need to access the command line of your browser to execute the script. You can use either the regular version or the minified version. Just copy the entire text.

Chrome:
  1. Open Chrome DevTools: developer.chrome.com
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line: developer.chrome.com
  4. Run it
Firefox:
  1. Open the web console: developer.mozilla.org
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line: developer.mozilla.org
  4. Run it
Internet Explorer:
  1. Open the web console by pressing F12
  2. Switch to the console tab
  3. Paste the script into the command line - at the very bottom
  4. Run it by pressing the green triangle

*** How to use it ***
Once the script is running you should see a new line above the ITA logo:
Code:
Passengers (1a) Settings (v0.18) (Cabin: Auto)
As long as you see this line, there is no need to reexecute the script. Make sure to get used to the "Settings"-feature -> just click on Settings. Within the settings menu you can configure the script towards your needs/preferences. Enabling/disabling features and/or setting standard editions of providers on the fly. When using a script manager these settings should be stored and automatically load as soon as you visit matrix.itasoftware.com - but the passengers as well as the cabin detection will not be stored!
Your settings are "reloaded" everytime the itinerary details show up! If you want to use other settings, just get back to the flight selection and reselect your flights - the new settings will be used. This belongs to the passengers and cabin detection as well

Passengers:
The passenger count will not be taken from your search results! Use the passenger config on the upper left and make sure they are set before you get to the itinerary details. We had to do it this way because some providers require the age of children. But always make sure to search for the equivalent passenger count. There might be seat availability for one passenger but not for two!

Cabin detection:
You should set the cabin on the upper right to the appropriate main cabin you are looking for. Sometimes you will have economy/business class segments in mainly business/first class itineraries. These mixed itineraries make it hard to autodetect the main cabin - so you can set it manually.

*** Background requests - Privacy issues ***
Some features require to contact other servers. As long as you do not activate any of the autoload features within the settings there won't be any automatic background requests. You will have to initiate them manually. The following list will tell which features are contacting what server and what information will be transferred. All websites will know you are using this script und you are currently using the Matrix - what by the way applies to the link targets you click as well.
  • GCM-Map in inline mode - contacting gcmap.com (non SSL) providing full route data
  • WhereToCredit.com mileage accrual breakdown - contacting wheretocredit.com (non SSL or SSL - depending on whether you use the Matrix with or without SSL) providing full itinerary
  • Skimlinks affiliate links - loads a js script to adds affiliate ids to some links if and only if the "Support this tool" setting is enabled. If it is disabled, no external scripts are loaded
*** FT-Posts you should read ***
General statement regarding this script: click
How to fix class names yourself: click
Problems and limitations regarding pricing itins: click

*** Contributors ***
paul21, Steppo, IAkH, 18sas, Benchmarc and others!

I'd like to give special thanks to paul21 for starting this idea.

*** Latest Version ***
GitHub Repo

OR install directly: Executable Version minified

FYI
Steppo & IAkH (Adam Hwang) have full access to this repository.

Discussion - written by paul21:
The original posting can be found here, related to building links on delta's booking engine. The script scrapes the flight info from the itinerary (flight numbers, dates, class of service, price) and builds a link string to two booking engines (Orbitz/Delta). These links are the same links used by Google Flights (owns ITA) , Kayak, et. al. to drive purchases. I used the Google referrer codes in the scripts, so they should get the commission. It's beyond me why ITA doesn't have some form of purchase link. This a userscript, and like an ad-blocker, it modifies the way a page is viewed by editing DOM objects in the browser. Keep in mind that this tool is meant to do something you already do yourself, but to save time in the process. Any tickets issued by Orbitz/DL via these links could be issued via phone or web search. If the links work, you are avoiding a phone booking fee potentially.







Print Wikipost

ITA-Matrix-PowerTools - Userscript for Orbitz/DL/UA/AA/BA/CZ/IB/LA/LH/LX/TK

Old Oct 18, 22, 3:08 pm
  #1036  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 948
Has anyone managed to get the Multi City option work when booking on either AA on Amadeus or AA American UK. I keep trying but have not succeeded. American UK displays an error - typically this seems to be that the fare is no longer available - it then shows different suggested itineraries which has fewer stops i.e. a more direct route. Typically the fare is nothing like the fare you were searching for.
AA Amadeus displays the routing and prices in euros but after you have entered all the passenger details it displays an error - typically 15012.
The only time I can seem to get ITA Powertools booking links to work is when doing a round trip with American (works nearly all the time) or BA (works some of the time)
scillyisles is offline  
Old Oct 19, 22, 4:00 am
  #1037  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 553
Originally Posted by scillyisles View Post
Has anyone managed to get the Multi City option work when booking on either AA on Amadeus or AA American UK. I keep trying but have not succeeded. American UK displays an error - typically this seems to be that the fare is no longer available - it then shows different suggested itineraries which has fewer stops i.e. a more direct route. Typically the fare is nothing like the fare you were searching for.
AA Amadeus displays the routing and prices in euros but after you have entered all the passenger details it displays an error - typically 15012.
The only time I can seem to get ITA Powertools booking links to work is when doing a round trip with American (works nearly all the time) or BA (works some of the time)
as always, please provide a screenshot of the last ITA page so we can help
fuyao is offline  
Old Oct 19, 22, 8:20 am
  #1038  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 948
Originally Posted by fuyao View Post
as always, please provide a screenshot of the last ITA page so we can help


If you try and use the American Amadeus booking link then it does bring up the correct routing and price in Euros but fails after you enter the passenger details. If you try and use the American UK booking link then every time I have tried it before now it has come up with an error. Just tried it now and it worked.
scillyisles is offline  
Old Oct 20, 22, 2:25 am
  #1039  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 553
Originally Posted by scillyisles View Post

If you try and use the American Amadeus booking link then it does bring up the correct routing and price in Euros but fails after you enter the passenger details. If you try and use the American UK booking link then every time I have tried it before now it has come up with an error. Just tried it now and it worked.
AA has very different availability based on which POS you use. Make sure you select the same POS at the beginning of the ITA search as the OTA you wish to book with.

This is with POS USA:
https://i.imgur.com/BHSmfwf.png
This with POS Germany:
https://i.imgur.com/zfopbHj.png
So most likely thats why its not working with AA Europe since no A space is available.

You can chose any of these for the same price, they have at least each 2 seats available on both U.S. and Europe market.
02FEB LHR-LAX AA6984 ob by BA 15:15 - 18:35 A First
03FEB LAX-KOA AA59 08:20 - 12:08 J First

08MAR OGG-LAX
AA2062 00:19 - 07:35 J First
AA254 15:51 - 23:10 J First

15MAR LAX-LHR
op ba BA
AA6935 A 16:45 - 10:00 +1
AA6983 A 21:50 - 15:10 +1
AA6991 A 19:00 - 12:25 +1

op by AA
AA134 A 18:20 - 12:05 +1
AA135 A 20:35 - 14:20 +1
fuyao is offline  
Old Oct 20, 22, 5:21 am
  #1040  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 948
fuyao, Many thanks for your help.😊
scillyisles is offline  
Old Oct 22, 22, 8:44 am
  #1041  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 948
Another issue with powertools booking links - this time with BA. When you click on the BA booking link, it does comes up with the correct itinerary but the transatlantic flights on BA are in ClubWorld rather than First. This substitution of Club World for BA First by the BA booking link seems pretty consistent for this type of itinerary.
Attached Images
scillyisles is offline  
Old Oct 22, 22, 8:53 am
  #1042  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: AUS
Programs: BAEC Gold, AA PPro, Hyatt Globalist, Amex Plat
Posts: 5,998
Originally Posted by scillyisles View Post
Another issue with powertools booking links - this time with BA. When you click on the BA booking link, it does comes up with the correct itinerary but the transatlantic flights on BA are in ClubWorld rather than First. This substitution of Club World for BA First by the BA booking link seems pretty consistent for this type of itinerary.
Hmmm... I just replicated your exact itinerary and used the BA booking link and it came up on BA.com w/TATL segments in F, as expected, and not CW.

Regards
scubadu is offline  
Old Oct 22, 22, 10:34 am
  #1043  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 948
Originally Posted by scubadu View Post
Hmmm... I just replicated your exact itinerary and used the BA booking link and it came up on BA.com w/TATL segments in F, as expected, and not CW.

Regards
Hmm - interesting just tried again and it is now behaving slightly differently in that BA269 is in First but BA268 is in Club. It does not look like an availability issue as seats are available.
I am using Chrome on Mac OS Monterey 12.6 on MacBook Air (M1)
scillyisles is offline  
Old Oct 22, 22, 10:58 am
  #1044  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 948
Have tried charging the end point to OGG rather than KOA and it still gives the same downgrading to Club World on the same transatlantic legs.


Screenshot of OGG BA booking link result
Attached Images
scillyisles is offline  
Old Oct 23, 22, 6:00 am
  #1045  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 948
Have now tried on Windows 11 using Chrome and exactly the same occurs i.e. ITA Matrix shows First available for both BA transatlantic legs, business shown for the flights from LAX to KOA. When you then click on the BA booking link in Powertools it brings up the itinerary but with both transatlantic legs in Cub World.
scillyisles is offline  
Old Nov 7, 22, 3:14 pm
  #1046  
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 128
IAkH I found a bug in the plugin that it doesn't respects the preferences anymore. For e.g.I have turned off wheretocredit and seatguru etc.., but they are auto enabled each time I open the browser again
Borwser: Chrome Version 107.0.5304.88 (Official Build) (64-bit)/Windows 10


IAkH likes this.
andydd is offline  
Old Nov 25, 22, 10:33 am
  #1047  
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 1
Hello, I'm a kinda newbie here

I've read a lot in this thread but have not found any info about my case with Turkish Airlines

When I try to find a ticket, for example, on 19th January, from EZE to HEL, I get this 713.68 EUR price
However, when I try to use Matrix Powertools and clicking all of the links on the side, none of them gives me such price.

Please, could you help me to understand how can I use this tool to get a proper price?

Unfortunately the system does not allow me to attach a screenshot before I get 5 messages.
iamfrom is offline  
Old Nov 26, 22, 2:09 am
  #1048  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 553
Thats because ITA has always problems with TK and always showed wrong availability.
ITA shows L class available for TK, in reality the lowest available class is H.

** AMADEUS SCHEDULES - SN ** HEL HELSINKI.FI 54 TH 19JAN 0000
1 TK 016 C0 D0 Z0 K0 J0 I0 R0 /EZE IST 2350 2210+1E1/359
Y9 B9 M9 A9 H9 S0 O0 E0 Q0 TC LC VC PC WC UC X0 N0 G0
TK1761 C0 D0 Z0 K0 J0 I0 R0 /IST HEL 0830+2 1135+2E0/321 30:45
Y9 B9 M9 A9 H9 S0 O0 E0 Q0 TC LC VC PC WC UC X0 N0 G0

see:
ITA Software Matrix Airfare Search Consolidated Information and Help Thread
iamfrom likes this.
fuyao is offline  
Old Nov 26, 22, 9:02 am
  #1049  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: IAH ↔ PAR
Posts: 766

[0.55.8] - 2022-11-26

Edited by IAkH
  • fixed mobile layout in Matrix 5
View change log

Latest installation links:This change was to help support a new iOS Shortcut to load Powertools on mobile Safari for iPhones and iPads. Added a new installation method:

Method 3: iOS Safari Shortcut

Get the "Add ITA Matrix Powertools" Shortcut

Instructions must be run each time
  • Open ITA Matrix in Safari on your iPhone or iPad
  • Tap on the Share button in the bottom navigation
  • Scroll down through all the actions
  • Select Add ITA Matrix Powertools

EDIT: Apologies, this was only tested for Matrix 3. Looks like there might be some issues with Matrix 5 on mobile Safari. 👀

Last edited by IAkH; Nov 26, 22 at 4:31 pm
IAkH is offline  
Old Dec 29, 22, 5:04 am
  #1050  
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Programs: delta
Posts: 3
Anybody having issues with ita powertools with KL was working a week ago? Getting the page is on a break error

Last edited by InfiniteDynasty; Dec 29, 22 at 5:13 am
InfiniteDynasty is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread